We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lads on Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lads on Tour”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here with a group of rugby lads who were down Doncaster on rugby tour. The rooms were nice, modern and beds were comfy. The hotel is not located in the centre of Doncaster so you would need to get a taxi into the centre, but the cost of that is only £5 anyway so not too bad.

The breakfast was nice, a buffet style breakfast with a choice of cooked or cereal.

The staff were pleasant and helpful, and it was exactly what I expected when we were staying in a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Craig,

Thank you for your kind comments on the hotels breakfast and the staff! We enjoyed having you at the hotel and hope to see you again next time your rugby tour comes to Doncaster!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    145
    71
    11
    10
See reviews for
73
143
30
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Room lovely, bed is worst ever, thought it might be more comfortable to sleep on the floor or in the shower. Curtains didn't close properly & they don't recognise Priority scheme even if you register at checkin. We received a call an hour before agreed checkout to ask when we were leaving. Excuse for bad bed was they were expecting a renovation in May. Advice is to stay at another hotel in area. Pub next door does excellent meals & it's close to Morrisons supermarket.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Neil A,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Staying here as attending training course in Doncaster. Arrived at Doncaster train station which is only 10 mins away from hotel and cost about £5-£6 in a taxi.

Unfortunately I had arrived a day too early for my course, and was rather distressed at this point. Nicky the guest services manager on duty managed to calm me down and was able to find me the best rate to book me in a day early. The level of service I had recieved up to this point I found to be incredible and unexpected, and Nicky helped me more relaxed state.

The bedroom was immaculately clean and the bed very comfortable with a choice of hard or soft pillows. The downstairs public areas were clean modern and comfortable

I later encountered Dave downstairs who was aware of my sittuation and went out of his way to make me feel welcome. He even helped me plan an itenary for my newly freed up time. He was very knowledgeable of the local area and amenities.

Breakfast was great, and found the choice of food and beverage vast considering it being a HIEX. Evening meals were also of high standard. Apart from their usual menus, they also ran specials each night, including a curry night! I had a steak special on my final night which was to die for.

Overall my stay, albeit extended, was a comfortable one and I really have found a home from home in Doncaster. This is down to the staff who work incredibly hard to look after their guests and make it a really friendly place to say. Thanks again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sn000zer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for your great review on the hotel, food and staff at our hotel.

I am pleased to hear that our staff went out of their way to help with you and they will definitely be acknowledged for their great customer service!

We do pride ourselves on the specials we offer each night, they really do offer the added value that our guests look for.

Thanks again for your positive comments and we hope that you can visit us again some time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed a couple of nights visiting family in the area. Very easy access from M18. The room was clean and fresh and the bed comfortable. Breakfast buffet style with a good choice of items available. The lounge bar area was comfortable with a large screen tv and good choice of beers. We enjoyed our stay will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Bill,

Many thanks for your great review!

We hope to welcome you back again to the hotel soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Right from the very start we were made to feel very welcome the reception staff very friendly
The room was very clean and comfortable
The buffet style breakfast was nothing fancy but adequate enough all in all good value for money free parking and wifi an added bonus

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cazbar1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your great feedback on our hotel and staff, it is very much appreciated and we do hope that you come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Easy to book on-line, easy(ish) to find as we were not local, just visiting the area.
Check in was pain-less and the hotel was of good standard in all areas.
Good night sleep and filling breakfast.
Certainly use Holiday Express again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racol1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback to our simple, smart and spot on service!

Hopefully the next time you stay we can ensure that we achieve a 5 star rating from you! And if you ever need help in locating the hotel again please feel free to contact our reception desk to help guide you to the right place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Have stayed in this hotel on several occasions & standards haven't changed as far as hotel facilities. Bedrooms, bar area & breakfast very good standard, clean & tidy
The only issue I had was upon arrival, taking a pre authorisation from my credit card because I am an IHG member which is a standard procedure for many hotels in the chain!!? I pre-paid the rate & didn't want any credit as we were going to pay for drinks at the bar, I don't think this should happen as it's not automatically credited (dependant on your bank) unless they complete the authorisation. (I know this as I work in a major chain hotel!)
The answer I got was to delete the attached card to my IHG rewards profile, guess what: There is no credit card on file. Add Credit Card this I've copied of my profile!!
Shame about this situation as actually the hotel is favourable

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebsInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you fro your kind comments and continued custom to our hotel. It is very much appreciated.

In regards to the pre authorisation on your card, this is a standard procedure which we and many other IHG branded hotels execute as to ensure a swift and easy check in for our IHG rewards members, however if this is something which is not to your preference then please do simply contact the hotel direct when booking, or contact IHG rewards to place a file note on your member number to assist in ensuring that this does not happen again. Unfortunately this is not something that I would be able to do on your behalf but if you require any further assistance in this matter the please feel free to contact the hotel direct and we will help you with your request.

I do hope that you choose us again for your stays in Doncaster!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Doncaster Airport
4.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#11 of 19 in Doncaster
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Doncaster

Property: Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Address: Firstpoint Balby Carr Bank | Bullrush Grove, Balby, Doncaster DN4 8SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Business Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Doncaster 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Express by Holiday Inn Doncaster has been created for value and comfort. The hotel is Fully Air Conditioned ,every room is equipped with all the facilities you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, satellite TV, in-room movies, broadband access, High Speed Internet Access and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can enjoy our complimentary continental buffet breakfast and relax in the Great Room lounge and bar area. FREE WIFI in lounge and bar. Located in First Point Business Park, just a two minute drive from the M18, this hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business. In house are 2 fully equipped meeting rooms. The Dome Leisure Centre. and the Keepmoat Stadium home of Doncaster Rovers Football Team are both less than 5 minutes drive away. The Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre home of the famous St. Leger Race is local. Doncaster is also home to Doncaster Knights Rugby Club at Castle Park.The hotel is situated close to Robin Hood Airport and the location of the hotel offers excellent transport links to the M18 and A1(M) for nearby cities such as Sheffield, Leeds and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster Hotel Doncaster
Holiday Inn Doncaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing