We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible nights sleep!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed on Saturday 7th June in room 26. We were next to reception and I was kept awake from 10pm until 5am with noisey guests returning to the hotel. No effort was made from the night staff to control noise next to the rooms. At 7.30 am I was awoken by the guest next door knocking on the wrong door. This meant I had 2 1/2 hours sleep all night. On complaining I was informed it is not the hotels problem if we are kept awake all night. I requested a refund as in my opinion we had been mis sold a nights accommodation but was told this was not going to happen. Take my advice and stay in premier inn, at least if they get it so wrong they will refund you. Holiday inn express - 1 to avoid!!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to comment regarding your recent stay, I was sorry to read that you had a bad night’s sleep.

We have a Holiday Inn Express Hospitality Promise that states ‘We will genuinely do all we can to make sure your stay is as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. If you think for any reason we have not lived up to this promise, tell a member of staff and we will do everything in our power to put it right’

At our hotel we do everything we can to ensure we are able to deliver on this promise. If you had contacted reception during your stay I am sure my team would have done everything they could to help you at the time. It is a shame you felt the need to use a review site to express your experience and did not give us a chance to rectify this on the night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed 13th June 2014. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast very nice. Staff very pleasant. Near Lakeside shopping outlet and other Doncaster attractions will go back to visit the wild life park.Good food at pub opposite

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plsh70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank for your great review on our hotel! We pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and our staff were pleasant to your party. We do have a great location for shopping and to see the sights in Doncaster, so I do hope that you consider us the next time you are in Doncaster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My friend and I stayed over at this hotel on the evening of June 9th 2014. We had come from Leeds as I had an exam early the next day, and I didnt want the stress of rush hour traffic. The location is easy to find off the motorway and there is food outlets and supermarket and petrol station nearby. There was plenty of parking and the reception was welcoming and nice and clean. Check in was quick and the staff were nice and chatty. The lift was speedy and the only issue that we had was with the key but this was resolved nice and quickly! The room was clean and was a good size, the bathroom was bigger then I imagined and was clean and there were signs saying that if you had forgotten anything then just to ask at reception which I thought was good. In the morning although I had not slept well (due to exam nerves) the curtains kept out the light which was good, and we had a nice speedy checkout, in fact the guy at the reception even offered us a shortcut to my exam! If I ever have to stay in Doncaster again would definitely be here :)

Room Tip: Would imagine that weekday staff quieter, curtains were good as made room dark and beds were comfy.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nush73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for you great review on Trip Advisor, its always great to hear that our hotel is nice and clean and the staff are friendly. I do hope your exam went well and hope to see you again at the hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I like staying in HI Express hotels as they offer value for money and you get a pretty good breakfast too included in price. The hotel is conveniently located just off M18 so we stop here once or twice a year when we are traveling past to break up our journey.

Rooms are all pretty much the same from one HI Express hotel to the other. If you prebook then you are likely to get a discounted price. Its not worth paying the full price of around £65 as you can find better hotels at that rate.

Plenty of parking outside the hotel. There is a Morrisons store and a fuel station close to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on our hotel and the kind comments you have made. Our rates do vary depending on how far in advance you book and what is happening in the area and we find that we are very competitive within Doncaster for offering our guests value for money!

We hope to see you again for your Bi-annual visit to us! Many thanks again for you great feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great value for money for a stopover. Nice room and bathroom. Good choice for breakfast. Bed a little uncomfortable but personally prefer a harder bed. Staff very pleasant on booking and booking out. Close to M18.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessa98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Tessa,

Thank you for your positive comments on the hotel and your stay! I'm sorry that you found the bed too soft, we are looking into the possibility of bed boards to ensure that guests who prefer a hard bed can also be happy during their stay!

Thanks again for the great feedback and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here with a group of rugby lads who were down Doncaster on rugby tour. The rooms were nice, modern and beds were comfy. The hotel is not located in the centre of Doncaster so you would need to get a taxi into the centre, but the cost of that is only £5 anyway so not too bad.

The breakfast was nice, a buffet style breakfast with a choice of cooked or cereal.

The staff were pleasant and helpful, and it was exactly what I expected when we were staying in a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma T, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Craig,

Thank you for your kind comments on the hotels breakfast and the staff! We enjoyed having you at the hotel and hope to see you again next time your rugby tour comes to Doncaster!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Room lovely, bed is worst ever, thought it might be more comfortable to sleep on the floor or in the shower. Curtains didn't close properly & they don't recognise Priority scheme even if you register at checkin. We received a call an hour before agreed checkout to ask when we were leaving. Excuse for bad bed was they were expecting a renovation in May. Advice is to stay at another hotel in area. Pub next door does excellent meals & it's close to Morrisons supermarket.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Neil A,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
4.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
4.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Doncaster Airport
1.5 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#5 of 19 in Doncaster
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Doncaster

Address: Firstpoint Balby Carr Bank | Bullrush Grove, Balby, Doncaster DN4 8SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Business Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range: £44 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Doncaster 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Express by Holiday Inn Doncaster has been created for value and comfort. The hotel is Fully Air Conditioned ,every room is equipped with all the facilities you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, satellite TV, in-room movies, broadband access, High Speed Internet Access and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can enjoy our complimentary continental buffet breakfast and relax in the Great Room lounge and bar area. FREE WIFI in lounge and bar. Located in First Point Business Park, just a two minute drive from the M18, this hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business. In house are 2 fully equipped meeting rooms. The Dome Leisure Centre. and the Keepmoat Stadium home of Doncaster Rovers Football Team are both less than 5 minutes drive away. The Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre home of the famous St. Leger Race is local. Doncaster is also home to Doncaster Knights Rugby Club at Castle Park.The hotel is situated close to Robin Hood Airport and the location of the hotel offers excellent transport links to the M18 and A1(M) for nearby cities such as Sheffield, Leeds and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster Hotel Doncaster
Holiday Inn Doncaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing