We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't believe how good this was for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2010

My wife & I stayed at this hotel with our son and his family, after he had made an prepaid advance booking for 2 rooms @ £40 per room including breakfast.

We've stayed at quite a few Travelodges/ Premier Inns, but this was a superior experience. The place was modern and had been carefully planned and thought out, so we couldn't find anything to pick fault with. We were especially impressed with the shower room where the front door opened to become the toilet door and the shower was a modern thermostatically controlled unit. What's more it was supplied with a flannel- how often do you get one of those these days?

The room was a fairly standard layout for budget hotels, but was tastefully fitted out with everything we needed (including an ingenious kettle and tea making stand). The room was air-conditioned (with a very quiet fan) and the bed was one of the most comfortable we've slept in at a budget hotel (Lenny Henry, eat your heart out)!

On top of that, the room charge included a complimentary breakfast, which was a nice continental one supplemented by a buffet style egg, sausage and beans cooked food. It may not have been up to the standard of expensive hotels, but for what we paid, it was great.

All told, we'd happily go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCutt, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2010

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great response about our Hotel.
All our rooms come with complimentary breakfast and all the mod cons you describe. We are really pleased you and your family enjoyed the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are visiting the area.

kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2010

Stayed here on the way home from visiting family and found the room exceeded expectations. Fixtures and fittings were nicer than they needed to be in an "express" hotel. Loads of free parking in what appears to be an industrial/retail estate with a restaurant across the road and a petrol station with 24 hour shop nearby. Good breakfast but limited seating area.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChambyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCutt, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2010

I am pleased to read that your stay with us exceeded expectations, we do pride ourselves on being modern and convenient.
We are also close to the Lakeside Retail Park and have easy access from the M18.
Thank you for taking your time to leave feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are making a long journey.

kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Get what you pay for with a Holiday Inn. Clean rooms but nothing special, convenient for road network. Probably poor timing but very noisy with late arriving coach parties.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCutt, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2010

We are sorry to read that you had an inconvenience during your stay with us, we apologise for this.
We appreciate that you would still recommend us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Stayed here August 14th, to go to Doncaster Races, Hotel is very easy to find, near Junction 3 M18 and just in a industrial area past B & Q.
Receptionists very accommodating, allowing early check in.
Stag do in the lobby as we arrived, did not really worry me as a day drinking at the races usually has me sleeping through anything, though the women asked for us to be "far" away from them ! lol
Pros:
Rooms were clean and tidy, nice modern little bathrooms, plenty of tea/coffee, decent bar, good cooked breakfast in with the price (as much as you wanted as far as I could see), good continental options also, friendly staff, all for only £53.95 a night PER ROOM !
Plenty of parking spaces.
Cons:
No bacon with cooked breakfast, pillows were a bit flat, our bed sank in the middle (never been forced to sleep so close to the wife before), not enough tables in breakfast area when busy
All in all, good value for money for a nice clean hotel with friendly staff and I recommend it !
One tip: If you are going to the races, phone the hotel the day before, get the numbers of some local taxi firms and book your taxi's to the races, we did, my friend was late and missed ours, they were waiting 1hr 30mins for a taxi and missed the first race.
It costs about a fiver from the hotel to the racecourse in a taxi.

Also the pub opposite Woodview Farm I think, serves good food and decent priced lager, we went there after the races, think its a Brewers Fayre chain restaurant or something like that but the food tasted fresher and better cooked than our local ones.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannyjcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCutt, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2010

Thank you for taking your time to leave such positive feedback about our Hotel. We appreciate all comments and take on board any suggestions.
You are correct in thinking you can return to the breakfast area, and the portion sizes are of your own choice as its self service.
Good tip about the taxis too, thank you again.

kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I needed somewhere clean, comfortable and reasonably priced to stay for one night, and this hotel fulfilled all my requirements. It has a large carpark, and the location meant that getting into Doncaster and getting away (onto the A1) was pretty easy.
In many ways, Holiday Inn Express hotels are pretty much similar wherever you go, and tend to be differentiated by their age and quality of staff. On both counts this scored well, being a new hotel but also having having what appeared to be very efficient and friendly staff.
Check-in was efficient, service was good, everything in the bedroom / bathroom worked and the whole place was very clean. Just what I needed at a good price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkCountryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCutt, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2010

Thank you for your kind words about our Hotel and staff.

I have also passed your comments onto our housekeeping and maintenance teams, who appreciate the feedback, and without them it would not be as easy for us to be so reliable and clean.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Doncaster.

kind regards

Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting relatives in the area. The hotel is near the industrial estate and not far off the motorway and outlet shops. The check in was very quick and the staff were polite and friendly. The hotel looks fairly new and has a big car park. The rooms were big with good sized bathrooms and amenities and very comfortable. There was free internet access in the reception area. The rooms were very quiet with virtually no noise overnight. Breakfast was very good with a selection of both hot and cold food. Quick check out - no complaints at all and would recommend for anyone visiting the area. The restaurant/pub across the car park from the hotel had excellent meals and would recommend this as well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCutt, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2010

I am pleased to read your stay with us at, we certainly are convenient for the motorway and Lakeside Shopping Centre. Thank you for your kind comments about the hotel and staff and i look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next visiting relatives in Doncaster.

Kind regards
Denise Jennings
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stayed for 1 night with young family travelling on holiday to Scotland. Booked online and a grat price of £39.95 for a family room including breakfast. Hotel has a good location for motorway access, check in was speedy with no problems. Room as expected, clean, tidy and well equipped. Breakfast area well supplied with both hot and cold food. Check out was also swift and efficient. This is a very good hotel which is fairly new and kept to a high standard. Will use again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Doncaster A1(M), Jct. 36
4 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Doncaster
2 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
Travelodge Doncaster Hotel
#10 of 19 in Doncaster
116 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#3 of 19 in Doncaster
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Doncaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Doncaster

Address: Firstpoint Balby Carr Bank | Bullrush Grove, Balby, Doncaster DN4 8SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Romantic Hotel in Doncaster
#7 Business Hotel in Doncaster
Price Range: £45 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Doncaster 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Express by Holiday Inn Doncaster has been created for value and comfort. The hotel is Fully Air Conditioned ,every room is equipped with all the facilities you need for a relaxing and comfortable stay, an invigorating power shower, satellite TV, in-room movies, broadband access, High Speed Internet Access and tea/coffee making facilities. Guests can enjoy our complimentary continental buffet breakfast and relax in the Great Room lounge and bar area. FREE WIFI in lounge and bar. Located in First Point Business Park, just a two minute drive from the M18, this hotel is the perfect choice for leisure and business. In house are 2 fully equipped meeting rooms. The Dome Leisure Centre. and the Keepmoat Stadium home of Doncaster Rovers Football Team are both less than 5 minutes drive away. The Doncaster Racecourse and Exhibition Centre home of the famous St. Leger Race is local. Doncaster is also home to Doncaster Knights Rugby Club at Castle Park.The hotel is situated close to Robin Hood Airport and the location of the hotel offers excellent transport links to the M18 and A1(M) for nearby cities such as Sheffield, Leeds and Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Doncaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Doncaster Hotel Doncaster
Holiday Inn Doncaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing