We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
arran

For a big chain it was poor.

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Jul 2021via mobile
Holiday inn, you expect certain standards with it being a huge chain.
We checked in at 14:20 to wait ten minutes for a key to then find the rooms were clearly not ready, we were given a room with two single beds after booking a double we asked reception to be told that’s all they have got?
As we were getting ready to go out the cleaner just walked in without knocking OMG. We had no shower curtain?
As for breakfast there was no toast, the Breadcake as they call it was stale and the bacon was still mooing. Apart from that the car park was lovely.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanne Cutt, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 6 Jul 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel I am sorry you thought our hotel was poor. It us unacceptable for housekeeping to enter a room without knocking and I will ensure I raise this with our Head Housekeeper. I understand from my Duty Manager that your shower curtain had been washed that day and that he was able to re hang it shortly after you arrived.

Breakfast unfortunately can be challenging at the moment with the Government guidelines of social distancing and the limited amount of space we have in our breakfast rooms means we are not able to have guests queuing for toast. Staffing levels are also limited and therefore toast cannot be served to guests. We do try to give the best experience at breakfast and I am sorry we did live up to your exceptions this time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £92
  • Hotels.com
1.5 miles from Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £75
  • Hotels.com
4.1 miles from Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • HolidayInn.com
    £67
  • Hotels.com
2.3 miles from Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £124
  • Hotels.com
4.0 miles from Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £27
  • Travelodge
7.3 miles from Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
Hotel Exterior & Terrace
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £93
  • Hotels.com
6.3 miles from Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
£60
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.8 miles from Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £42
  • Hotels.com
4.4 miles from Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £47
  • Hotels.com
10.2 miles from Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Entrance
£46
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Campanile
1.5 miles from Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Doncaster
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
263
196
93
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
263
196
93
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here hi express clean hotel buffet style plenty of parking yogurt excellent value for money an overnight stay wildlife park motorway pub supermarket carvery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2021 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel. Room was very clean and comfortable. Friendly, cheerful, efficient staff. Nice breakfast. Comfy bed and good facilities. Only 5 minutes from the A1M and easy to find. Couldn't ask for better, definitely recommend 👍 a better choice than a Travelodge or Premier Inn.

Room tip: Book in advance for best value.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank davidsE7938XH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanne Cutt, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

WOW thank you for such a lovely review! I am happy our hotel is your brand of choice. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2021

Cannot fault the hotel itself.very pleasant staff,efficent,and handled the queue at breakfast time very well(as staff serve hot food due to regulations).
Room clean,mattress this time was somewhat soft(room104) otherwise no issues.
It is only the parking that is an issue.
Having been out,and got back at 9.30pm,trying to park is not easy at all. Car park does need to be extended. When we were there,last weekend in May,several white transit vans were parked together,some taking up more than 1 space.
I will always stay at this hotel when we are in Doncaster,because of all the pro's.
This is the only criticism

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Hi mark m,

Thanks for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We are so thrilled to hear your kind words about our staff and the cleanliness of your room. Your comments about the parking will not go unnoticed as I have shared them with the hotel management. I am certain measures will be in place to address this matter.

Again, thanks for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2021

First impressions are important! When I walked into the hotel Shannon in reception was helpful and efficient. Daryl even offered to get some bread in for breakfast the next morning of the type I liked. Room was spotlessly clean although the bed was a little softer than I normally like, but that did not stop getting a good night's sleep throughout my stay. Food menu was somewhat limited owing to the pandemic and has to be consumed in the room, but my order arrived swiftly, chips were nice and crispy and food was hot. I could not have expected any more, well done to all the pleasant staff at this hotel!

Date of stay: April 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaulY20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanne Cutt, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Thank you for such a lovely review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2021 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights at the start of April.

Staff were helpful and rooms were relatively clean apart from the bathrooms.

Only downside to this place is the lack of parking or enforcement of any parking rules by the staff, people seem to park anywhere they want, block others in and force people to park on the kerbs in the main road.

Room tip: If you value your car and want to park don’t choose this place if you intend to arrive via a car
Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Srp134
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2021

Hello Srp134,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our hotel.

While most parts of your stay went well, I'm sorry to hear about your disappointment due to the lack of reinforcement of the hotel's parking guidelines. I brought this up to our local management's attention. Trust that this will be looked into to ensure better service.

We appreciate you choosing us for your accommodation needs. I hope you'll come to visit us again and we'll make your next stay as seamless as possible it can be!

Stay safe,

Jomar M.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2021

Stayed here a couple of times in March 2021. Up to the usual HIE standards. Pleasant staff with rapid check in. Room was spotless and bed was very comfortable. Situated on the outskirts of town nit far from the football ground.

Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ajb1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joanne Cutt, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Doncaster, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2021

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am happy to see you had a good stay! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews