We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellant hotel and service”
Review of The Wheatley Hotel

The Wheatley Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Doncaster
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Wheatley Hotel
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Reviewed 15 January 2014

in my job I am required to lodge for long periods of time away from home.after putting a search online for accomadation in Doncaster area, was contacted by the owner paul who could put me and two colleages in accomadation for long stay deal.service is next to none by owner paul who bent over backwards to make are stay perfect .are rooms way above and in my lodgeing experience best ive been in over the years ive been working away from home.food well priced and very nice in deed. highly recommend this hotel and staff try it and you wont be disappointed.thanks so much for making are long term stay so comfortable.

Room Tip: all rooms huge mine massive single ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 55 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

On my regular travels from Australia to the UK .I always stay at the Wheatley Hotel Thorne Road Doncaster. friendly staff and patrons, clean , quiet rooms, and great food. .. top entertainment.. Close to the Airport, & racecourse. I Always stay there when in Yorkshire.. Top rating from me..AAAA+++.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 300,658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

stayed for one saturday night ready for a christening on the sunday, no food was available in the evening, the shower wasnt working as i discovered in the morning, there was no hairdryer or toiletries as described,
Staff were very nice, reasonably clean, not sure the 3 stars are warranted.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

On a good note the rooms were clean and tidy. Me and partner was told that it would be £24.00 each for a double room. We were charged £25.00 each on arrival. When we woke the next day we decided to go for a walk before breakfast when we returned to our room at 9:25am to freshen up before heading down to breakfast,(breakfast being served from 7am - 11am as told on arrival) we found cleaners in our room and we were no longer allowed back in. Breakfast was appauling...The portions were small..the one rash of bacon and the one sausage we received on our plate were over cooked and reheated, the mushrooms were fresh (from a tin). Also the shower took ages to warm up (not a power shower) basic one that you need to mess about with to get right temperature. The double beds were a large single...no room...uncomfortable...poor sleep. We wouldnt go back here again if you havent already gathered.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed here for a few days during the 2010 Tattoo Jam weekend as the hotel we planned to stay at was full,
The hotel is over a pub and the rooms are large and clean, our room had a TV, tea and coffee and a shower and loo but i think some smaller rooms share bathrooms. The staff were really lovely and very helpful, although it is basic it was perfect for what we needed, the rates were cheap at £25 per person (bed) and we had plenty of room, a good place to stay if you have more than one person per room.
The pub itself was fine,we didnt really spend much time in it, i was a bit put off by the regulars making the odd comment at first but i can understand how a group of tattooed rockers turning up would get the odd strange look.
I would certainly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a cheap and cheerful place to crash for a few days.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SugarKaneKowalczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2007

Stayed here on a one night visit for an action packed trip to Stainforth greyhound track (not bad incidentally). The Wheatley Hotel is essentially a pub with around a dozen rooms upstairs. It's on the outskirts of Doncaster in a rather shabby part of town (which didn't affect us as we travelled directly to the greyhounds). They have recently refurbished the rooms and have made a reasonable job of it. We got a room with four single beds, which they failed to communicate, but was nice enough. It was £25 per person B&B which is probably the maximum you would want to pay. We got up to late for breakfast but discovered it was served in a bit of grubby back room. The pub itself was fine though some of the clientele looked a touch worse for wear.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stattori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Doncaster hotels
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Doncaster Lakeside
5.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Earl of Doncaster
The Earl of Doncaster
#3 of 19 in Doncaster
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mercure Doncaster Centre Danum Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#12 of 19 in Doncaster
395 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#7 of 19 in Doncaster
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatley Hotel

Address: Thorne Road, Doncaster DN2 5DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Doncaster
Price Range: £23 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Doncaster Hotel offering excellent accommodation and highly competitive room rates. Bar & Restaraunt. Wi-Fi Internet access. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing