We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service but disappointing food”
Review of El Torero

El Torero
Ranked #22 of 713 Restaurants in Doncaster
Price range: £8 - £28
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 11 July 2021 via mobile

Four of us have just had our first experience of El Torero! We were greeted, seated and served by a pleasant young Polish woman who was attentive, friendly and helpful. We started with a couple of pints and a jug of Sangria while we perused the Menu. We each ordered three dishes which were delivered to our table in a reasonable time.

We all enjoyed our selections which were well cooked, tasty and of good quality. We all ordered a number of other dishes and no-one had any grounds for complaint. However, although we all enjoyed our dining experience at El Torero we were unanimous that we doubted we'd return.

While the service was first class, the food was average rather than exciting. El Torero is well worth a visit but may not entice you to make a return.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2021 via mobile

Sangria was great!

A lot of the options were very plain and boring. The “salad” option was so small it was comical (see picture) and vegetable paella was like a packet of Bachelor’s savoury rice.
The waiter also got our order wrong twice but he seemed a bit overwhelmed so I think it was his first day.

The patatas bravas and the mushrooms were lovely and they were very accommodating moving the time of our booking hence the 3 stars!

Will still with Movida of El Futuro from now on

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank samanthagK4845YO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 June 2021 via mobile

The food was nice but we've been a few times before and felt the quality wasn't quite as good this time.
We found the front of house service much slower than usual as well despite it being really quiet. Staff regularly stood around doing nothing.
The prices seem to have increased, we were a party of 2 adults, an 8 year old and 5 year old. The kids had a glass of cordial and water, I had a beer and my other half a lemonade. No deserts or other additions and the bill was £77.
I don't think we will be back at these prices. Our previous visit was in the fifty pound bracket.

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank KatKin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2021 via mobile

Brilliant as always. Food was delicious, especially the lamb chops. Staff were lovely and efficient without being overbearing. The waitress with the long red hair was really good, always asking if we wanted extra dishes or drinks. Definitely order a cocktail or two.

Date of visit: May 2021
2  Thank 239robynf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2020

On a Tuesday evening I visited the restaurant for the very first time. The menu wasn’t explained upon arrival this had to be asked as the staff didn’t appear to know what they were doing.

As you have to order 3 dishes each me and my partner ordered 3 each first as explained. We went for the safe ‘nice’ looking dishes on the menu.. chicken paella, calamari and halloumi came out within 3 minutes of making the order. It tasted worse than uncle Ben’s microwave rice, the calamari was not cooked properly. The chicken was submerged in a liquid and was completely tasteless. We didn’t proceed to order anything else, instead, we got the attention the manager and politely explained the food wasn’t good. Instead of an apology, the manager kept speaking over my partner repeating that he will re-cook the calamari. This wasn’t the solution we were looking for. We already felt terrible about not eating anything as it was awful! To make matters worse the manager got defensive and didn’t apologise once, instead he raised his voice telling us that there’s a policy that there’s nothing they can do. This is disgusting customer services!!!! Never will I step foot into a place that will not listen to genuine customer feedback.

Imagine paying £40 for food we didn’t eat. Disgusting!

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank AKlinc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed El Torero also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Bawtry, Doncaster
 

Been to El Torero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.