We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Throapham House B&B
Ranked #2 of 24 Doncaster B&B and Inns
Highcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Outstanding Accommodation”
Reviewed 20 December 2010

This is an outstanding B & B, morelike a luxury hotel. Our hosts, Ann and Robert were warm and friendly and provided a welcoming and homely atmosphere. Our bedroom was furnished to anextremely high standard and overlooked open fields in an area that I grew up in. I would certainly recommend staying here and we hope to return when we visit our family again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidkeeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
90
11
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

My brother, sister-in-law and I stayed for one night as Throapham House proved very convenient for an event at Sheffield Arena. We couldn't have been more pleased with this excellent B & B acommodation and wished we could've stayed longer (will definitely return!). There's every convenience for the guests including fresh fruit and flowers, bathrobes, quality bedlinen and an extensive refreshment tray in the bedrooms as well as a lovely guest lounge where we were served tea and cake on arrival. The rooms (we had Bradwell and Dewhurst) were spotless and Bradewell was particularly spacious with a wonderful bathroom. We found the beds comfortable and the breakfast very well cooked (with an wide choice of items on the menu!). As other reviewers have said, this B & B puts many highly rated hotels to shame and it's great location near to the Peak District, Robin Hood country, the A1 and Sheffield etc. make it a good choice for both leisure and business visitors. I've stayed in many hotels and B & B's and am quite critical but can honestly say that this is one of the very best - thank you Ann and Robert for a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VJHPRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

What a marvelous B&B this is! The owners, Anne and Robert, are wonderfully friendly and accommodating, the Bradwell Room outpaces a luxury hotel suite, and the location is perfectly centered for many day trips. We had a lovely 5 night stay here and can’t comment enough about how wonderful our accommodations were. The room was perfect, the bed so delightful, you feel like you’re sleeping in a cloud, and breakfast – well, Robert is a marvelous cook who prepares a perfect breakfast. We spent 8 more nights in England – four of them at a five star hotel – and never found as perfect a room as the one we had at Throapham House. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimNMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Everything was perfect.
From the moment we stepped out of the car to receive such a warm welcome was very refreshing. The tea and cake served in the beautiful guest lounge after a long journey was very welcome.
The Rooms were well furnished; spotlessly clean and comfortable (the photos do not them justice)
Lovely breakfast with good quality food.
This is probably one of the best B&B's I have come across.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazeecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Stopped for one night on our way back from Nortumbria to Somerset. Don't be put off by your outdoor impression on arrival. Once inside it deserves its five stars. We stayed in the Bradwell Room which was luxurious with a fantastic en-suite bathroom. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. Ann and Robert have thought of every detail including fresh flowers in the bedroom and easter eggs in the fruit bowl!. A superb breakfast saw us on our way.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandlSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Throapham House in Yorkshire is a stone manor house with quiet, relaxing, spacious and very comfortable rooms - it had the biggest, most comfortable bed that I have ever slept in. Our hosts Ann & Rob were very warm & friendly and looked after us really well. Lots of nearby things to see & do such as - a must do day visit to the fabulous, stately Chatsworth House [pride & predjudice fame], The old world style village of Bakewell with its quaint shops, the upmarket/trendy city of Sheffield which has good shopping, cafe's/restaurants and theatres [as well as two football teams if your looking to catch a game [advanced booking is essential]. Lots of beautiful countryside with walks & hiking if your inclined. I would highly recommend Throapham House in Yorkshire.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sensiblity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Throapham House, Oldcoates Road, Dinnington, Near Sheffield is a real hidden gem. The manor house room was comfortable, spacious, quiet & clean with ensuite and the biggest & most comfortable bed that I have ever slept in. Our host Ann & Rob were friendly and informative about the surrounding area. Breakfasts were really good. A whole day visit to Chatsworth house is a must see - leave enough time to visit the nearby old world village of Bakewell [lots of fantastic shops & pubs]. The nearby city of Sheffield is now very cultured - good night time theatre, concerts & shopping etc [it used to be a rough steelwork type city]. Or if you like breathtaking views & hiking or climbing Ann & Rob can organise this for you. Take in a football match with Sheffield Wenesday or United [advanced tickets are advised] The manor house is in the countryside and close to lots of good touristy areas .I want to live at Throapham House!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sensiblity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doncaster
9.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
12.4 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
10.5 mi away
Grand St Leger Hotel
Grand St Leger Hotel
#17 of 19 in Doncaster
225 reviews
11.1 mi away
Angel Inn & Lodge
Angel Inn & Lodge
#1 of 24 in Doncaster
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Throapham House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Throapham House B&B

Property: Throapham House B&B
Address: Oldcotes Road, Throapham | Nr Dinnington, Doncaster S25 2QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Doncaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Doncaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Throapham House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ann and Robert Holland look forward to welcoming you to Throapham House, a Grade II listed property offering luxury guest accommodation in South Yorkshire. We provide B&B accommodation in three spacious double rooms. All rooms are en-suite and are equipped with high quality furniture and fittings for your comfort. Ideally situated for business and leisure visitors to the city of Sheffield, South Yorkshire and North Nottinghamshire with nearby links to M1, M18 and A1. Free Wi-Fi is available in all our bedrooms and guest lounge. Our quality is assured by Visit England 5* Gold Award and Breakfast Award. AA Associate Member. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Throapham House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing