We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent stay at Taplins”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taplins B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipping Campden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taplins B&B
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent stay at Taplins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Taplins is a wonderful Cotswold retreat. The studio room was lovely and comfortable (the bathroom was very nice and modern, and there were touches of luxury, such as the nice bathrobe and the tea making equipment), the hosts were so pleasant, the garden was lovely, and breakfast was great. The B & B is very convenient to town. I can't recommend it enough and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldreamer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    17
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Had a weekend here with family occupying two rooms and was very good for us .Arrived from London 830pm and went to our dinner booking and returned to a very warm and cosy b&b.met Rachel and Tim in morning at breakfast which was terrific catering for all (full ,continental or your choice).Handy recommendations for touring Cotswold area which we enjoyed.We recommend and would certainly stay again if in the area.Rooms clean warm and all appointments needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flagsandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

It was quite difficult to find a B&B in winter as most of them are closed. I was referred to Taplins when many of my enquiries were turned down and it turned out to be such a blessing. My husband and I stayed in the studio rooms which is a separate little house in the backyard. The toilet is on the first floor and the bedroom on the second. Our room overlooks a field with grazing sheep and a blanket of stars in the sky at night. The town centre is about 5 minutes walk away. Breakfast was wonderful too. Rachel and Tim are very welcoming and friendly.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leithpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We checked in to Taplins on a spur of the moment decision and really found it to be all round, a great experience. Tim & Rachel couldn't do enough for us and made us to very very welcome. The room was cute. Nicely furnished, very quite and comfortable. It's just a short walk to the centre of Chipping Camden but because of the rain, we decided to drive down and had a great meal at a local pub they recommended. The breakfast was excellent. All in all, we would happily recommend Taplins B & B to anyone

Room Tip: The " studio " above the garage has fantastic views of the fields behind the main house an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradCS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We enjoyed every aspect of our stay-a clean, quiet room, pretty bathroom, lovely views from our window, delicious breakfast (they also cater for gluten and dairy allergies). Rachel was very friendly and welcoming. We found this B and B to be reasonably priced and very convenient for walking into the village. We would definitely come again as for us this was a great location from which to explore the Cotswolds. Also helpful was a good range of leaflets and information on local attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Despite the good reviews, we found this B&B to be disappointing. The breakfast was lovely and the location very convenient, but having stayed in b&b's around the country we felt that our room was over-priced for what we got - I am not sure whether this is just a reflection of the fact that this b&b is in the Cotswolds and more might have to be paid. Nevertheless, unfortunately the room hadn't been vacuumed, furniture was very tacky, and the shower had someone's long dark hairs in it, so clearly hadn't been cleaned properly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterfall21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seer Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

My friend and I stayed in the Taplins B&B for one night and felt most unwelcome. Rachel answered the door on our arrival and made little effort to ensure we felt comfortable. She quickly rushed us upstairs to our room and then we saw nothing of her for the rest of the evening. We didn't need/want to be entertained, but a little conversation would have been appreciated.

When we wanted to discuss breakfast details before going to bed, she chose to talk to us through the door until I asked to open it. The following morning she was more friendly and open to conversation, however by this stage we were ready to leave. First impressions count.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Szczygielska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cotswoldstay, Owner at Taplins B&B, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We are soo sorry that you felt this way ! Sadly we had just received devastating news of my neighbour and friends sudden and totally unexpected death ! Under normal circumstances
We pride are self with are warm welcoming hospitality , which is reflected in many of are reviews !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.5 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Three Ways House Hotel
Three Ways House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mickleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
#1 of 28 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taplins B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taplins B&B

Property: Taplins B&B
Address: 5 Aston Road, Chipping Campden GL55 6HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Hotel Class:4 star — Taplins B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Taplins B&B Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing