We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly tea rooms, great breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chipping Campden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bantam Tea Rooms & Guest House
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Friendly tea rooms, great breakfast!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

When I have friends staying over I often take them to Bantam Tea Rooms, they serve an all day breakfast until 4pm.

The breakfast is always freshly cooked, good quality ingredients and served hot. Service is always friendly.

For those not looking for breakfast, the Bantam Tea Rooms also offer a great selection of cakes, as you would expect in a quality tea room!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jack5764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    67
    19
    17
    10
See reviews for
44
101
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Bantam Tea Room are situated in Chipping Campden's High Street, which is the village's main thoroughfare, it's one or two steps down to the tea room and is not very wheel chair friendly, this is no fault of the management, the whole of Chipping Campden is most probably listed and cannot be modified. I ordered a pot of tea and fruit scone with cream and jam, the scone was warm and soft, the tea was hot and came with plenty of hot water.

The staff were very friendly and wasted no time in fulfilling my order. All in all a very nice interlude in pleasant surroundings.

The only minus: the toilets are outside at the rear of the building, when I visited in March 2014 I was unable to shut and lock the door, however, this was probably due to the excessive rain the UK had experienced during the winter.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariner500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Just enjoyed another great stay at Bantam Tea Rooms - superb as always.
We have stayed here a few times now as love Chipping Campden as its a great excape from the city life in Birmingham.
Rebecca is a great host and looks after her guests extremely well.....noting is too much trouble and the service received is second to none. The accommodation is always clean, well presented with a fantastic breakfast to start the next day off right! I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay here and will be back soon to enjoy this jewel in the cotswolds.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCD188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Great lunch with a lovely log fire... Sandwich menu is quite basic and a few more choices I am sure would make a big difference. Portions and prices were very good indeed.
Service was above and beyond....they didn't have any cranberry sauce but offered to pop to a local shop to get some....there are very few people that would offer this and just made the service excellent.
Would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at the B&B in February 2014 and loved it. As soon as you pull up to the window outside, you're lured by the generously portioned scones and cakes. We were greeted by a very friendly, attentive lady who immediately offered to take our bags and show us our room. To get to the tea rooms you have to go outside and in through the back way. I have noticed from a few reviews that this has been a problem for some, but it really is a stones throw away - and more of an adventure. We were shown up the stairs to a well presented lounge area before being show to our room - which was spotless. Really clean. The bed is super comfy, lovely bedsheets, very cosy with a nice view of the high street and market out front. The room was very, very quiet despite being on the main road. We went off season so I think we were the only couple staying, so it was quiet in general. You do have to go round the back to leave and along a path to get back to the main road as the B&B is unoccupied after 6pm. This really didn't bother us at all. In fact, we quite liked the peace and privacy. The lady that greeted us gave us some recommendations for dinner, which we appreciated. Breakfast is served between 8.30pm - 9.30pm and is was really delicious. Generous portions, well cooked, and right next to the log fire to top it off. You have to vacate by 11am, but she allowed us a little extra as they had no one going in directly after us. The only thing I would say, is that it is marginally over-priced, not by a great deal but for the size of the room and the facilities, it's a little pricey. The magazines in the lounge were months out of date - which is fine as we didn't want to read anyway, but it's those little touches that make the difference. I would have expected a few more little touches in order to match the amount being charged. However, I wouldn't hesitate to go back again, Really great.

Room Tip: Room 1 faces out onto the high street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadisonJaneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This has to be my favourite tea rooms, every time were in the area I always make a point of going, scones are delicious , I have tried the lunch and breakfast which are good too, staff always friendly.
Would highly recommend the cream teas.
Look forward to returning very soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jonno_sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This was our favorite tea room for this trip. Cozy as can been, complete with an old stone fireplace and old maps on the wall. The baked goods were homemade and the service good. Right across the street from the old Market Hall. We would gladly return

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinSings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
#1 of 28 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bantam Tea Rooms & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bantam Tea Rooms & Guest House

Property: The Bantam Tea Rooms & Guest House
Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bantam Tea Rooms and Guest House is a traditional English Tea Room that offers excellent bed and breakfast accommodation. We are nestled in the heart of the historic market town of Chipping Campden. The premises was built in 1693 and directly overlooks the 17th-century Market Hall. The Bantam is situated on the High Street amongst beautifully preserved listed buildings of golden Cotswold stone, many of which date between the 14th and 17th century. Passersby cannot fail to be tempted inside by our display of mouth watering, home-made cakes which are freshly baked daily in our in-house bakery. Also all our delicious lunches are hand made on the premises. We pride ourselves on our impeccable reputation, locally, nationally and internationally. The Tea Rooms have a lovely tea garden which guests can enjoy from May to September. Guests staying overnight at the Bantam have evening access to the garden. We have our own private car park for residents at the rear of the property. Our stylish en-suite rooms are tastefully decorated with a comfortable and cosy feel. There is a peaceful, private guest lounge and throughout the winter months you can enjoy your delicious breakfast by our roaring log fire. Our rooms enjoy wonderful views of Chipping Campden. Our accommodation is open all year round including Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bantam Tea Rooms & Guest House Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing