We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Georgian House in the Cotwolds - excellent food and good accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Seagrave Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Seagrave Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Georgian House in the Cotwolds - excellent food and good accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We had Booked this Restaurant with Rooms at short notice. I thought it was in Chipping Norton (my mistake) but it didn't matter because the restaurant served superb food so there was no need to be close to alternatives. The room was really tastefully decorated with white company bed linen and soft fluffy towels, enough bathroom products for our stay and a range of tea pig refreshments. The lighting is a little low, particularly in the shower room, it's not a criticism but just for awareness. The hair drier was low voltage so if you do need something stronger it might be worth taking your own.


We had a lovely stay, the staff were really friendly and efficient and I would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a getaway with lovely accomodation and excellent food in a very nice part of the countryside.

Room Tip: The four poster is lovely, there is some noise from the road but very little from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loulounme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    55
    28
    10
    6
See reviews for
34
161
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a stay at the Seagrave Arms. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room which had been beautifully and thoughtfully decorated. The food was excellent with locally sourced ingredients. We completely enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

It was an unexpected surprise to stay in this lovely Cotswold Georgian house. So beautifully renovated with delightful little touches in the decorations and furnishings. A warm welcome, total comfort and a beautiful breakfast were all delightful. Unfortunately, as it was a Monday when the restaurant is closed, I didn't have the opportunity to have dinner in the restaurant although the sample menus look terrific. Kevin and Sue running the hotel were very helpful with their local recommendations and interested in our plans to see the local area.

Room Tip: I only saw the one room but I am sure they are all to the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purple_J_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

What a treat - I wish I had booked for another night ( we only booked the one night as we were breaking our trip on the way back from Mid-Wales to The New Forest). We would then have had a chance to explore the richness of the area around the hotel. We were warmly greated by the propietor, Kevin, and shown to a delightful room overlooking the enclosed courtyard. Much care has gone into the furnishing of the room to give a luxurious feel to it as well as being very comfortable. The breakfast of locally sourced produce was delicious. We will definitely be returning here as soon as we can.

Room Tip: You can choose between first floor rooms in the original historic part of the building or ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonsil2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We've just returned from a great relaxing weekend at the Seagrave Arms. Our room was fine, ok not the largest we've stayed in, but it didn't stop us doing anything! The food was excellent: there's a good choice for starters, main and desserts. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We'd quite happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenandGoldEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Our room was over the front entrance and looked out at the carpark. The room was small but adequate with a comfortable bed and we liked the 'teapigs' assorted teas. We didn't like that there was no shaver point, only one shower gel and no shampoo or conditioner and very poor lighting in the bathroom. Our television was not tuned in and our Internet connection didn't work which was frustrating.
We enjoyed our meal in the busy restaurant but not that we were put on the smallest table in the room!
Breakfast was cooked freshly and was very tasty but we didn't like the carton orange juice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
director69, Owner at The Seagrave Arms, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for your review.We are a Country Inn & Restaurant with Rooms and not a Hotel.We are delighted you enjoyed your evening meal & breakfast and your comfortable bed.I believe we did re-tune your television as soon as you asked.We have free wireless internet throughout the building and the coverage is good for a country location.Our bathrooms have a full range of REN toiletries and we are always happy to provide extras if requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

First, the food. It really is of the very highest quality and well worth a visit. We certainly enjoyed it.

But we less impressed with the accommodation. The room was very hot and airless, even on a cool day. It was also very small, and the bathroom even smaller. There is no way the beds are king size; they are much smaller than that and very uncomfortable: we both work with bad backs.

Room Tip: The choice is between road side rooms (which other reviewers say are noisy) and south facing rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p1nkyandperky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
director69, Owner at The Seagrave Arms, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed our food -we are once again in the Good Food Guide this year.We are suprised by your comments on the room.Our building is a Georgian farm house and the rooms all have opening windows.Pictures of our rooms can be seen on our website or Facebook page.We have had many compliments (see other reviews) about how comfortable our beds are.I gather from your comments that you suffer with back problems which I suggest may have affected your comfort as you are probably used to firmer beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
2.1 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
4.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
#1 of 28 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seagrave Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seagrave Arms

Property: The Seagrave Arms
Address: Friday Street | Weston Subedge, Chipping Campden GL55 6QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seagrave Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seagrave Arms is a charming country inn and award-wining restaurant with eight en-suite guestrooms. Set in the heart of the Cotswolds, mid-way between the villages of Chipping Campden (1 mile) and Broadway (3 miles) and just 20 minutes dive from both Cheltenham and Stratford upon Avon. The eight bedrooms feature king-size beds, luxurious linen, flat screen TVs, Branche d'Olive toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi. With 2 Rosettes, the restaurant serves seasonal British cuisine. The menu is made with sustainable local produce including fruits and vegetables from nearby farms, Cotswold beef, Gloucester Old Spot pork and plenty of game from local shoots. Whether you want to enjoy a pint of real ale in the bar near the roaring-log fire or dine on classic dishes in the candlelit and intimate restaurant, Hannah, Newstead and Mally (The cat) look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Seagrave Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seagrave Arms Hotel Chipping Campden
The Seagrave Arms Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing