We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Seagrave Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Seagrave Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was a first rate experience our dinner choice were done perfectly and the the taste dynamic. Service was good and the ambiance perfect. If your in chipping campden this is a must choice . Great food great service in a perfect setting

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for The Seagrave Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

Fantastic experience.Beautiful old cotswold inn.Warm welcome from friendly helpful owner.Room was spacious and immaculate as was bathroom.Food was great and beautifully presented.Service excellent.Particularly delicious breakfast compared to the one we had elsewhere the day before.Would not hesitate either to go back or recommend to others

Room Tip: We were fortunate to be given the superior room in the inn itself which was absolutely lovely.As the...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here for one night on a Travel Zoo deal. The hotel was lovely and warm on a chilly day, welcomed by Paul who has just taken over the hotel. our room was very clean and had everything we needed, with nice touches like still and sparkling water,a hot water bottle and chocolate truffles.Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. We chose to eat in the bar rather than the dining room as we were chatting to the locals who were in there.
The food and service were excellent and we both enjoyed a superb meal.
we would recommend this hotel to everyone and will be back when in Cotswolds again.and
wish Paul all the best for the future of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Having booked this for our first night in the Cotswolds, we were delighted from the moment we stepped inside this charming converted house. A warm welcome with fires lit and very pleasant staff. Having recently changed hands there was no sense that they were unsure of anything. The menu was great and in spite of the tempting fish aromas I chose a game meal of pigeon breast and venison casserole. Both were delicious and well presented. Accompanying vegetable side was not the usual - roasted roots and long stemmed broccoli- yum! My husband enjoyed a Brie and Apple parcel followed by sea bass with crab ravioli which was one of the evening's specials. We had a glass of wine which was lovely and enjoyed the art - closer inspection once other diners left. Using old style furniture my only down was a slightly uncomfortable chair which 'moved' a bit. Prices were high as expected for the area and standard. I'm often surprised when specials are more expensive than other menu items. Sadly, we were too full for dessert - probably as we sampled the smoked turmeric hummus before our starters! Delicious! Recommend going out of your way to enjoy this treasure and maybe even stay overnight, which is an option!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SortedbyGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We've just stayed one night at the Seagrave Arms on a Travelzoo deal. The booking by email and telephone was handled very efficiently and we were greeted warmly on arrival by the owner, just returning herself from a trip out. We had booked the suite, a worthwhile extra with an enormous bathroom. The room was simply but very tastefully decorated, and we both thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. Service and food both good. A pub to return to, with good walking from the door. Although situated next to a road we had no problems with noise.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chromeorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

How to waste £220 on a night at a gastro pub....So we arrived at 6pm...to be told all rooms are allocated on a first come first served basis (unheard of!) so get taken across the patio/car park (in heavy rain carrying our own bags) to a "courtyard room" which was just wider than the double bed. Then we discover..the road noise and draft from the door (probably from the 5mm gap all around it) the TV doesn't work (have to call someone) the sink tap is broken and doesn't work, the shower head won't stay in postion so impossible shower properly. Then dinner...the table we had reserved had been given away (presumably on the the same first come basis?) My partners main course served cold (despite a 10min wait whilst it was cooked specially)..no apology just a curt "we will remove it from the bill"..oh and of course a fellow diner shouting (literally) about the poor service...but is was so bad no one took any notice of him !!! ...the following morning complaint to the owner was also an experience...he simply didn't care or want to listen....the only redeming feature was breakfast...trutly great....so if you want a great breakfast visit the Seagrave Arms, if you want a great gastro pub then go elsewhere are so many others to choose from.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KDR1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
director69, Owner at The Seagrave Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

I am so sorry to hear of the poor standard of your stay. I am the new owner of The Seagrave Arms having taken possession on 3rd February this year. I personally do not remember the incidents that you write about in your review and so can only assume that you stayed under the stewardship of the previous owner.

I am completely aghast that you experienced such poor treatment from an establishment that I am completely in love with. You can rest assured that I will not tolerate the level of service that you endured and will strive to keep The Seagrave at the level which it should be.

As you will see from the reviews for our other venue, The Malt House in Chipping Campden, we take our customers' experiences very seriously and put quality, attention to detail and good old fashioned hospitality at the top of our agenda.

If you would like to make a return visit to see the changes we are making, then do please get in touch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Six of us met up here for lunch, coming variously from nearby Cheltenham, Taunton, and Buckinghamshire. Turned out to be an inspired choice. Everything cooked on the premises, including the superb bread. We roamed around the menu between us and were all pleased with our choices - my venison casserole was delicious, the best I have ever had. Nice selection of wines - including English - at reasonable prices. Puddings to die for, good coffee, what more could you want? Service first-class. Just could have done with a bit more wood on the fire...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoffbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
2.1 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,043 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,058 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
7.4 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seagrave Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seagrave Arms

Address: Friday Street | Weston Subedge, Chipping Campden GL55 6QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £75 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seagrave Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seagrave Arms is a charming country inn and award-winning restaurant with eight en-suite bedrooms and a self-catering cottage with two bedrooms. Set in the heart of the Cotswolds, mid-way between the villages of Chipping Campden (1 mile) and Broadway (3 miles) and just 20 minutes dive from both Cheltenham and Stratford upon Avon. The eight bedrooms feature king-size beds, luxurious linen, flat screen TVs, natural British toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary WiFi. With 2 Rosettes, the restaurant serves seasonal British cuisine. The menu is made with sustainable local produce including fruits and vegetables from nearby farms, Cotswold beef, Gloucester Old Spot pork and plenty of game from local shoots. Whether you want to enjoy a pint of real ale in the bar near the roaring-log fire or dine on classic dishes in the candlelit and intimate restaurant, the team look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Seagrave Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seagrave Arms Hotel Chipping Campden
The Seagrave Arms Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing