We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Charingworth Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charingworth Manor
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Arrived at hotel a little earlier than check in time and was told we would be able to use facilities but got refused entry to restaurant. As a result of this we had to drive at least 5 miles to nearest place to eat. When booking was made we told hotel we had a 15 month old child with us which they were happy with. When we got back from our inconvenient drive and meal we checked into room, phoned reception to book table for evening dinner and were told no children allowed in restaurant after 7pm! We argued that we was never told this when booking so reluctantly they let us eat. However, this dining experience was short lived as half way through our main corse we was told to 'shut baby up, or leave' so red with embarrassment we scurried out of the restaurant with all eyes on us and our pre-paid food lay on table half eaten. Charming. Never again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jimdoug87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
“ I am particularly disappointed and embarrassed that you feel so frustrated following your stay at our hotel. As you mentioned when you arrived at the hotel at noon you were unable to check you into your room as the hotel was full from the night before and a large birthday party were assembling prior to their lunch celebration. It was for this reason Jeff was only able to offer you lunch in the lounges rather than the restaurant. I will look at how we communicate to guests the arrangements made for children dining in the restaurant. We have available a children’s menu up to 7pm after that we are only able to offer the full restaurant menu. After this time we are due to the configuration of our restaurant we revert to a more formal dining experience that we are very proud of. It was Elena who spoke to you and is very disheartened to discover you took so negatively her conversation with you. Elena is 3 months into her training and development program as part of this clearly I need to work on her confidence and communication skills. What i can say is that invariably the comments about her service are very positive as previous trip advisor reports have shown. I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations however be assured we will review all your points carefully.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    256
    73
    34
    19
See reviews for
161
617
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Charingworth Manor is an interesting place but I was not overly impressed. The grounds are pleasant and the buildings from the outside reminds me of old England but that carries through to the interior, which looks a bit tired.

Our room, the T.S. Elliot Suite, may not appeal to all tastes as it is a narrow dormer type accommodation with large wood beams running along the ceiling. The carpet looked to me to be cheap and thin. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable but I was expecting a more traditional type of suite, although my wife seemed to like the room and it's distinct appearance. The best part of the suite was the bathroom, which was generous in size and had an attractive bathtub.

We enjoyed dinner at the hotel and had multiple courses. Food was prepared well and there was nothing to fault except the female host who was a bit pushy and matter of fact. My wife and I watched the host act condescending toward another patron who questioned items on her plate. It was slightly embarrassing to watch. The wait staff was efficient albeit robotic. After dinner, we relaxed in the parlor and used the free Wi-Fi before exploring the grounds at night. Breakfast was very nice although the server never brought my tea. I managed without making a fuss.

We only stayed one night so we did not use any of the pool facilities, which are located adjacent to the main hotel. The grounds are simple and have a nice view. It would be nice to take breakfast there on a warm morning. In conclusion, Charingworth Manor is a mixed bag. It has some old world charm and is pleasing but lacks the refinement of a superior hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see room to ensure you will like decor and location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stoked-On-Spokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, the children had one room (two aged 10, one aged 14) great breakfast, the staff at the restaurant were very kind to the children, we thought the food was excellent. My husband and the children used the swimming pool, no problems, they enjoyed themselves, Reception and Restaurant staff well done, we will go backto this hotel.

Room Tip: No lifts at this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for you kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Michael D Eastick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester U.K
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed as a couple 31st october food was outstanding pool and gym a bit dated but serviceable rooms were v good but ours up tight flight of stairs anybody who is disabled will have to book a lower room no lifts they did not think of that in 1600s great grounds good central base to explore the Cotswolds alchol drinks v expensive though but as you won't be going there to get drunk is a small price to pay for great surroundings

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevo711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for you kind comments. I have noted your comments about the leisure area, we have just installed some new gym equiptment and are in the process of redecorating the changing area. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Michael D Eastick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

A brilliant place to stop over. Sat Nav GPS can take you to the blocked rear entrance, but go down hill and turn right and right again to get in.

Room Tip: Four poster beds in the old part of the hotel are worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for you kind comments. Sorry you had a little difficulty finding us, some times a map can be far better than modern technology and do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

next time you visit we can supply you with latitude and longitude that will bring you right to the front drive, or just access us from the B4035

Kind Regards

Michael D Eastick, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

The hotel was fantastic with a very good-looking pool, though sadly we didn't get the opportunity to use it. The hotel is set in very nice grounds with a lovely garden. The breakfast was delicious. It takes 20-30 minutes to get to Chipping Campden by car from there.


Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diocletian12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We came for a family wedding reception in September. Having arrived at just before midday we were told we could not use the room for 10 minutes to change for the wedding, nor were we ofered another room to use. After pleading with the manager he told me the cleaners were not ready and when he did eventually call the room service staff he told me they were at lunch and could not be disturbed!!! Extraordinary. I was finally given a key and found the room already serviced anyway so a terrible start for no reason.

The garden is pretty but not extraordinary, the food was truly awful. I understand the dinner the night before was not much better and overpriced. The service was equally bad, there was one waiter in particular who had clearly not showered in days and was as bad the following morning at breakfast. To outline how bad this was it was my boyfriend who wanted to make a formal complaint about it and not myself!

I wish I could say something positive about this venue but I really struggle too. The flagstone floors are pretty and the lounges are nice but it was such terrible value for money, there are at least 2 other beautiful hotels in the Cotswolds that are head and shoulders above this hotel. Managers, you really need to up your game and get your service staff to wash! So disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for your comments, we do appreciate all comments whether positive or constructive.
I’m sorry your room was not ready for an early arrival, we do always endeavour to have rooms ready as soon as possible but we don’t guarantee our rooms until 3pm. I am however glad we were able to get you into your room some three hours before this, we do have a system in place were housekeeper let us know each time the rooms are checked and ready. Of course like all employees our staff work very hard and are entitled to their meal break. It is always difficult when guests are attending a private function or wedding as all guests do wish to get in to bedrooms early, but we do ensure that the wedding party are told about the 3pm arrival and ask them to let us know if they do want us to prioritise if possible any rooms for early arrival.
With regard to your comments about the food, of all the weddings we have had this year we have not received any negative comments or feedback from either the Bride and Groom or any other wedding party guests, for either the wedding breakfast or the night prior meals. When we do receive complaints of this nature we do investigate fully and try to resolve any issues there and then. It’s always hard to resolve any issues after the fact and once guests have departed.
Please accept our apology for your comments about one of the service staff this is unacceptable and again I’m sorry, we do pride ourselves on our staff and service standards and from other comments and reviews we receive I’m sure you will agree these do back this up.
If you would like to discuss any of the issues raised please don’t hesitate to contact me directly
Michael D Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
2.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
7.6 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
16.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
2.9 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charingworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charingworth Manor

Property: Charingworth Manor
Address: Charingworth, Chipping Campden GL55 6NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charingworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Charingworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charingworth Manor Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing