We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very comfortable stay for a business weekend with partners”
Review of Charingworth Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Charingworth Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We had a very good weekend: I was the partner of the business attendee. The staff were friendly and the food was excellent. The reception, in particular, were very helpful. It was appreciated to have a wine waiter keep an eye on wine at our group dinner. The wine with the dinner was a high standard and the bar was kept open late for our group to socialise. The view from the top of the drive is heavenly. We had to ask for extra bath gel twice but the bathroom did have a wonderful huge bath! The hotel provided a barrel of local real ale for our group, which was much enjoyed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ansubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you very much for your response, we are always glad to hear comments from out guests.
We do have a very good team of staff and its always nice to hear positve comments.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Im sure we can get some ale in for you again next time.
Michael David Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
There are newer reviews for Charingworth Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed here for the weekend to celebrate my husband's birthday. The building and its location are lovely and our room was comfortable, with a pleasant terraced area available. The lounges were also comfortable and the smell of woodsmoke was great! We enjoyed the food in the restaurant, although paid a hefty supplement to widen our choice on the second night as the menu had not changed. The only major moan was the fact that the shower in our room only put out luke warm water. When this was raised with reception, we were told that this was the law and that the temperature had to be controlled. Hmm...!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyR145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you very much for your response, we are always glad to hear comments from out guests.
In regard to the shower, the temparature is set between 38-42 degrees to ensure guest safety, we dont normally find this to be a problem with guests, but on a cold winters day maybe they should be a little hotter.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Michael David Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

nice place, nice views. hardly the english experience though: no local ales, in fact no genuine english beer at all on tap, and virtually no english staff. Apart from the landscape, could be anywhere on the planet. If you want international lager and french food, not bad, but is that why you're staying in the cotswolds???

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
4  Thank stealingthunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you for your comments, we are always glad to receive guests comments
I’m sorry you were unable to get a draught English ale, we have stocked these in the past but there just is not the demand and they go to waste, but we do stock three English ale by the bottle, whilst I know is not the same but is the next best.
I don’t know what to say about your comments re English staff ?? but would say we receive excellent comments about our friendly efficient staff and service in general, with all our staff having a good to excellent knowledge of the English language.
If you do wish to speak to me about any of the issues you raise please don’t hesitate to contact me directly
Michael David Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We first stayed at the hotel for my wife's birthday in October. So good was that stay, we booked again in November, in the intervening month though a little has slipped. The first time as part of the Autumn meal deal you could choose anything off the menu, which was excellent. This time however as part of the deal the menu has been slimmed down. The menu has now been split in two. Half covered in the meal deal and half incurring a supplement of £12:50 per head per night. Less than a month ago the exact same menu incurred no supplement. I know inflation is increasing, but this seems a little extreme. Had this been the first visit it wouldn't have mattered, but it left us a little disappointed. Would I visit again, definitely, but this has taken the shine off the hotel and will encourage us to also look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattLHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We had a tea for two voucher as a Christmas present last year and decided as we were visiting the Cotswolds for the November race meeting at Cheltenham, we would stop off for afternoon tea at the Charingworth Manor hotel.
The staff were friendly on arrival and we were shown to a nice cosy lounge with a welcoming log fire on a foggy damp day.
We were served a plate of finger sandwiches, two large scones with clotted cream and jam, and 3 huge slices of cake each and coffee......no way could we eat all of that, especially as we had made dinner plans for a few hours later!!! :-)
It was a lovely experience though and would recommend

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sexysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Arrived at hotel a little earlier than check in time and was told we would be able to use facilities but got refused entry to restaurant. As a result of this we had to drive at least 5 miles to nearest place to eat. When booking was made we told hotel we had a 15 month old child with us which they were happy with. When we got back from our inconvenient drive and meal we checked into room, phoned reception to book table for evening dinner and were told no children allowed in restaurant after 7pm! We argued that we was never told this when booking so reluctantly they let us eat. However, this dining experience was short lived as half way through our main corse we was told to 'shut baby up, or leave' so red with embarrassment we scurried out of the restaurant with all eyes on us and our pre-paid food lay on table half eaten. Charming. Never again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jimdoug87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

“ I am particularly disappointed and embarrassed that you feel so frustrated following your stay at our hotel. As you mentioned when you arrived at the hotel at noon you were unable to check you into your room as the hotel was full from the night before and a large birthday party were assembling prior to their lunch celebration. It was for this reason Jeff was only able to offer you lunch in the lounges rather than the restaurant. I will look at how we communicate to guests the arrangements made for children dining in the restaurant. We have available a children’s menu up to 7pm after that we are only able to offer the full restaurant menu. After this time we are due to the configuration of our restaurant we revert to a more formal dining experience that we are very proud of. It was Elena who spoke to you and is very disheartened to discover you took so negatively her conversation with you. Elena is 3 months into her training and development program as part of this clearly I need to work on her confidence and communication skills. What i can say is that invariably the comments about her service are very positive as previous trip advisor reports have shown. I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations however be assured we will review all your points carefully.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Charingworth Manor is an interesting place but I was not overly impressed. The grounds are pleasant and the buildings from the outside reminds me of old England but that carries through to the interior, which looks a bit tired.

Our room, the T.S. Elliot Suite, may not appeal to all tastes as it is a narrow dormer type accommodation with large wood beams running along the ceiling. The carpet looked to me to be cheap and thin. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable but I was expecting a more traditional type of suite, although my wife seemed to like the room and it's distinct appearance. The best part of the suite was the bathroom, which was generous in size and had an attractive bathtub.

We enjoyed dinner at the hotel and had multiple courses. Food was prepared well and there was nothing to fault except the female host who was a bit pushy and matter of fact. My wife and I watched the host act condescending toward another patron who questioned items on her plate. It was slightly embarrassing to watch. The wait staff was efficient albeit robotic. After dinner, we relaxed in the parlor and used the free Wi-Fi before exploring the grounds at night. Breakfast was very nice although the server never brought my tea. I managed without making a fuss.

We only stayed one night so we did not use any of the pool facilities, which are located adjacent to the main hotel. The grounds are simple and have a nice view. It would be nice to take breakfast there on a warm morning. In conclusion, Charingworth Manor is a mixed bag. It has some old world charm and is pleasing but lacks the refinement of a superior hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see room to ensure you will like decor and location!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoked-On-Spokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
2.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,059 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
8 reviews
16.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
435 reviews
2.9 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,043 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charingworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charingworth Manor

Address: Charingworth, Chipping Campden GL55 6NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £136 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charingworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Charingworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charingworth Manor Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing