We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a getaway”
Review of Charingworth Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charingworth Manor
Certificate of Excellence
West Mids
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place for a getaway”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We had a nice overnight stay here. The grounds and setting are lovely and the buildings are very charming.
Friendly staff, especially on reception and very nice communal areas. The room was lovely, spacious and well decorated and the bathroom was very stylish- especially the free-standing bath.
Few things they could improve on: The gym is very run-down and neglected and the machines are old. I used a treadmill which Daley Thompson would have thought was high-tech when he was training for the Olympics. I suppose you don't go to the Cotswolds to keep fit, so it's not a high priority but it does make a difference to have a nice gym.
Room service wasn't easy to navigate- there didn't seem to be a dedicated number for it and no-one answered the reception line. I ended up having to go down to reception and order from the chap sitting there. It was probably 11.30ish, so maybe they stop room service earlier in the evening?
Breakfast was ok but I wouldn't call it over generous. One round of toast per person and a small basket of tired looking pastries on the buffet. No bread rolls or anything.
The other negative is the parking- they have loads of land, including what is clearly a designated car park on the drive up to the hotel, but despite this, the 'main' carpark spaces are in front of the hotel reception and the rooms. The hotel looks so pretty but you can hardly see it with all the cars in the way. Also it's inconvenient- you're forever squeezing past parked cars to get to your room or reception or wherever. When you've got luggae it's almost impossible to get past. Fine if people want to unload luggage, let them park in front of the hotel to unload and then get them to move their cars to the other carpark.
Anyway, despite that, it is a really nice hotel and I'd recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fickleWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for your comments, I’m sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of the hotel.
I’m sorry you were unable to contact room service, we do offer 24 hour room service through our night porter, when you call his pager should activate and then he just needs to answer from the nearest telephone, this can take a little longer than normal, but I’m happy you were able to find him.
Parking is always a tricky one, and we do try to direct guests away from parking right outside the front door as we do have over 100 spaces here at the hotel, but guests do go for easy option and leave themselves less than a couple of metres to walk.
I’m glad you did enjoy your stay and do hope we can welcome you back in the further to let us regain our laurels.
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    266
    79
    34
    19
See reviews for
169
647
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Stayed for two nights on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. Initially disappointed not to be in the old part of the hotel but our room turned out to be lovely with its own little terrace and very comfortable and clean.

The food was excellent, with plenty of options available for both dinner and breakfast.

Staff were friendly and very professional, we never had to wait long for someone to come and offer coffee/drinks etc.

Used the pool, which was nice and warm. The other half was pleased with the steam room and sauna. A hot tub would go well here. Didn't use the gym but it looked well equipped with all the machines that I use at my local gym.

The grounds are lovely and we will definitely go back in the summer so that we can sit outside and admire the view.

Room Tip: Can recommend the Arras room as it has its own little terrace area and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 264sueo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you very much for your response, we are always glad to hear comments from out guests.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
We do have a mix of rooms with some in the original 600 manor and some in the area that used to be cottages and stables, these do tend to be popular especially those with the views and terraces.
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My partner and I have just returned from Charingworth Manor where we celebrated my 50th birthday over two nights. We had originally booked a superior grade room but due to a problem with the hot water we were instantly upgraded. All the staff were extremely helpful and responsive, the food was good and service excellent in a homely, comfortable and warm atmopshere. The lounges, which both had lovely log fires burning, provided a comfortable and warm space to relax and enjoy coffee or lunch.

I am aware that another reviewer has mentioned an issue with the hot water and our advice would be to check the hot water when you get to your room.

Room Tip: If you can take the dinner, bed and breakfast rate this proves to be good value. Check the hot wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazzaW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you very much for your response, we are always glad to hear comments from out guests.
We did have an ongoing issue with one of our boilers, this has now been rectified, so we have piping hot water and radiators in all areas and of course there is always a welcoming log fire.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

A delayed flight meant arriving into Heathrow 4 hours later than scheduled, and due to it being December the sun had almost set by the time we drove out of the airport. The drive itself was fine until after passing Oxford. The lack of street lights along the A-roads made driving in the Cotswolds much more challenging, particularly at night as we passed by many villages with Christmas lights and decorations. Upon arrival, the drive was up a long driveway to a manor house with an impressive view of the neighboring rolling hills. The hotel offered a dinner inclusive package and the price was reasonable.

The check in process was simple enough, however the two rooms booked are in different buildings (one in the main building/manor house, the other across a parking lot in the "newer" wing of the complex). Being a relatively old house, the room located in the main building came with slanted floors and creeky boards. The staircase in this building was also rather narrow and larger suitcases are definitely not recommended. The phone also was not working in this room. The smaller room in the newer wing overlooks a country road. Both rooms come with all the basic amenities and WiFi, although being on the smaller side.

The restaurant is located in the main building. The waitstaff was very pleasant, but service could have been more attentive and refined. If the hotel advertises a restaurant on the premise of AA rosette quality, then the food that evening was a hit and miss experience. For example, the crab and avocado salad was not too fresh-tasting, but the meat course was acceptable. Wine was poured without first being tasted, and the only lady at the table was the last one being served (wine or food).

From the outside, the hotel looked quintessential English-village. However, the experience was not exactly. On the other hand, the rooms are comfortable enough (you pay for what you get), and the restaurant was decent without having to drive for miles to find another restaurant for food. This is a good stop over for touring the Northern part of the Cotswolds, and is close to Broadway, Warwick, and Stratford-upon-Avon.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Enjoys_Relaxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you very much for your response, we are always glad to hear comments from out guests.
We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
we do have a good mix of rooms here at the hotel within the original manor there are of course a squeaky floorboard or two, to access the rooms in the old barns and stables you dont need to go outside at all as they are linked to the manor, these rooms in the main are over 200 years old, but are newer than the main house.
If you do wish to speak with me about any of your comments please dont hesiate to contact me directly and i will be happy to speak with you.
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intergoal
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Last visited about four years ago, this place has improved and now offers a very good standard and is value for money. The staff are efficient and friendly and give the impression they enjoy what they do. The restaurant is very much improved with a well balanced choice of options. Wine list quite good as well. Our room was in the old part of the house and was very nice, could do much more with the bathroom though. All in all, a very good value for money hotel, especially in this location.

Room Tip: If you like a bit of character stay in the older part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intergoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you very much for your response, we are always glad to hear comments from out guests.
We have invested a great deal of time and money into the property over the last few years and we are glad that it has been noticed and that you saw an improvement since your last visit.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We had a very good weekend: I was the partner of the business attendee. The staff were friendly and the food was excellent. The reception, in particular, were very helpful. It was appreciated to have a wine waiter keep an eye on wine at our group dinner. The wine with the dinner was a high standard and the bar was kept open late for our group to socialise. The view from the top of the drive is heavenly. We had to ask for extra bath gel twice but the bathroom did have a wonderful huge bath! The hotel provided a barrel of local real ale for our group, which was much enjoyed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ansubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you very much for your response, we are always glad to hear comments from out guests.
We do have a very good team of staff and its always nice to hear positve comments.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Im sure we can get some ale in for you again next time.
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed here for the weekend to celebrate my husband's birthday. The building and its location are lovely and our room was comfortable, with a pleasant terraced area available. The lounges were also comfortable and the smell of woodsmoke was great! We enjoyed the food in the restaurant, although paid a hefty supplement to widen our choice on the second night as the menu had not changed. The only major moan was the fact that the shower in our room only put out luke warm water. When this was raised with reception, we were told that this was the law and that the temperature had to be controlled. Hmm...!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyR145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you very much for your response, we are always glad to hear comments from out guests.
In regard to the shower, the temparature is set between 38-42 degrees to ensure guest safety, we dont normally find this to be a problem with guests, but on a cold winters day maybe they should be a little hotter.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
2.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
2.9 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
7.6 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,202 reviews
16.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,307 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charingworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charingworth Manor

Property: Charingworth Manor
Address: Charingworth, Chipping Campden GL55 6NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charingworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Charingworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charingworth Manor Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing