We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charingworth Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charingworth Manor
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The perfect break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

I had a three night stay at Charingworth Manor with my mother last week and it was, quite literally, just what the doctor ordered.

The hotel itself is beautiful. Cosy and snug and beautifully decorated to meet the style of the building. Mum and I were upgraded into a deluxe room which was a real treat.

Due to health issues, I currently have some dietary restrictions and the hotel catered for this quietly and without issue which was very impressive and reassuring for me.

The staff throughout the hotel were exceptional and the chef deserves a particular mention. The food really was outstanding, varied and beautifully presented.

The pool area and gym are also great and just the right size for a small hotel. We were often the only people in there.

We pre-booked massages for the first night of our stay and weren't disappointed. The therapist gave the treatments in our room and it was the perfect start to a relaxing break.

Outside of the hotel, we visited Chipping Campden, Stow, Shipston on Stour, Moreton in Marsh and Chipping Norton. All gorgeous places and well worth a visit. We also went to the Cotswold Farm Park which I would recommend to all animal lovers, young and old! They cater particularly well for young children. Lastly, we paid a visit to Chastleton House - a National Trust Jacobean House which shouldn't be missed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jigglypuffLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for your kind comments, I will share these with the team here at the hotel.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back and if I can help in anyway please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards

Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    253
    73
    34
    19
See reviews for
161
611
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed at the beginning of October and can honestly say what a gem of a hotel that could really shine with a couple of additons and changes. Firstly the positives - The staff were excellent and the best was with out doubt Daniel who I know is leaving the venue for pastures new but I can only hope his remaining colleagues carry on his good work and mirror his amazing work ethic and customer service skills, the room was delightful and food was simply stunning with an great choice and also a small but well formed wine list.

The negatives - on our second night it sounded like we had Team GB trampoline team above us with shouting till 1am and then up at 5am jumping off beds which after speaking to reception it was a young family but it would seem after reading other reviews our room (potter) has this as a known problem and if I was the manager I would take this into account when allocating rooms and also review the sound deadening etc, this noise was still going on after 10am when we left for the day. The pool area needs a little TLC as it is looking its age, also the bar needs reviewing as only had real ales by the bottle and is a little small and the only area that had no personality. The WIFI is awful as it is poorily located and incorrectly set up (I do this within my job) it requires a review and a small budget to fix and they would then have an excellent system,

All in all though we had a great time (order the cream tea - WOW) and are already planning our next journey back, but I would be upset if the negatives had not been dealt as I believe this is a Hotel that is trying to better its self.

Room Tip: Do not pick Potter (or maybe any ground floor room) until sound deadening added or ceiling structure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bredbury-Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

You simply can't do better that a stay at Charringworth Manor.
The location is brillian for the Cotswolds.
The staff are friendly and efficient.
The hotel is full of old world charm, but has been recently updated.
It cant be faulted.

Room Tip: The Stafford can be noisy as it is over the kitchen fridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your comments we do appreciate guests taking the time to do so. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to the team here at the hotel.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back and please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help with any future reservations.

Kind Regards

Michael David Eastick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

My friends and I had a lovely weekend at this beautiful country house hotel; the staff were pleasant and efficient and the food and surroundings excellent. One minor quibble - it's an old rambling building and the room names, rather than numbers, and rather under-stated signage made navigation a little tricky for the first day! We used the pool and steam room and enjoyed both.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear guests

Thank you for your comments we do appreciate guests taking the time to do so. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to the team here at the hotel.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back and please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help with any future reservations.

Kind Regards

Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed at Charingworth Manor in October 2012 to escape a busy, task driven, noisy life and to find our peaceful haven for 48 hours. The Manor was ideal for this.

The Manor is set at the top of a hill, remote and silent. Animals grazing around, no traffic, not a single phone beeped or rang while we were there and the staff were present but quietly aside. We arrived early and our cases were looked after as we ate lunch and then were moved for us into our room. We stayed in a suite which was a bathroom, lounge and bedroom of average size and in good clean condition. A bed with six pillows was a first (but two single beds together rather than a luxurious double).

The food at all meals was excellent but with little variation in terms of offering. We were disappointed that there was no draft beer or lager (bottles only) and the bar area was functional rather than large enough to be comfortable. We were not able to have a drink in the bar pre-meal as six people were already there and it was full. Seriously. It is no major issue but it gives you an idea of the scale of the venue. There is a drawing room and a second comfortable seating area which can also be used. The restaurant is a long thin corridor style room.

Overall, the Manor is lovely and highly recommended for a quiet remote retreat. Expect quaint and small and consider a suite so that you have your own space.

The final word. Charingworth Manor is a beautiful 1,000 piece jigsaw with a few edge pieces missing. The lack of draught beer, the flickering phone in the bedroom at night, the extremely bright LED on the radio in the room, the lack of wi-fi in the bedrooms, one TV in our room not working. These are all minor things but they create an unfinished jigsaw which would otherwise be a masterpiece.

Room Tip: Book a suite for your own space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiJo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear guests

Thank you for your comments we do appreciate guests taking the time to do so. I’m glad on the whole you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to the team here at the hotel.

We have on several occasions tried to stock and sell draught ales and larger, but due to the low demand it has not been viable, I’m at a loss to know which room you were in as all our televisions are in working order, but I apologise this was not the case during your stay.

We have a number of WIFI signals and boosters in the hotel, of course with walls of up to 4 feet in some areas there are black spots, but again I apologise as this signal normally is and should be available in all bedrooms.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back and please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help with any future reservations.

Kind Regards

Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

My husband and I got married at Charingworth Manor at the end of September, and it was the most wonderful day. The staff are all extremely helpful, both in making the arrangements and on the day. They cater for every need and set the reception room up perfectly.
The food is excellent and all our guests commented on how good it was, and service was very relaxed and unobtrusive.
We stayed in the Ebrington Suite for the night and it is a gorgeous room, and allowed us to relax in comfort after out exciting day.
We cannot thank all the staff enough for their help and for being so friendly, they made it a wedding day to remember.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear newlyweds

Thank you for your kind comments, we are glad you enjoyed your wedding day with us, we do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed here Saturday and Sunday night, for my partner's 40th birthday. Couldn't have asked for a nicer weekend, nothing was too much trouble and the staff were excellent. Dinner both evenings was superb, and we enjoyed the use of tennis courts and the pool. Would definitely come back again,

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilMacUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear guests

Thank you for your comments we do appreciate guests taking the time to do so. I’m glad you enjoyed your birthday stay with us and will pass on your comments to the staff here at the hotel.

Im glad you could enjoy the tennis courts even in October, as they have been sadly underused this year due to the weather

We do hope to be able to welcome you back and please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help with any future reservations.

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
3.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
7.6 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
16.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
2.9 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charingworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charingworth Manor

Property: Charingworth Manor
Address: Charingworth, Chipping Campden GL55 6NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charingworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Charingworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charingworth Manor Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing