We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great one-night break”
Review of Charingworth Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charingworth Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We had a midweek one-night break here and were absolutely delighted with the whole experience. The reception staff were very helpful and our room thoroughly comfortable and well-equipped. Any minor queries or problems were very swiftly and satisfactorily dealt with. The pool was a dream - lovely and warm. We also had a short session in the gym. Dinner was superb and beautifully presented and served, and the house wine seemed good value.

We appreciated the small size of the Manor, and being able to sit in a peaceful lounge for our after-dinner coffee. Breakfast was very good as well, with all the usual trimmings, and for both meals careful attention was paid to one of us having to eat gluten-free.

We look forward to a return visit to this delightful small hotel in due course.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greytrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments I will share these with the team here at Charingworth.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help in anyway

Kind Regards

Michael David Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
There are newer reviews for Charingworth Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

‘There are people starving and dieing in Africa and we’re complaining about hot water’. Not the response you'd expect from a hotel manager.
We stayed for one night as our first family break with our 3 month old daughter. We were ignored in reception for ten minutes, only then to be approached by the restaurant manager who wasn’t able to help. He was not trained to use the computer. In the evening there was no hot water in our room (bear in mind this is a AA 4 star hotel) and advised by the Michael the hotel manager that it was due to too many guests using too much hot water. We asked to be moved but were told the other free room would be the same, without hot water. Michael suggested as a ‘compromise’ we can use the showers by the pool. I also raised the small issue of litter in the wardrobe and cobwebs in the bathroom. The double bed was two singles. We had no other option than to stay in the room. In the morning there was no hot water (again) and my wife and I had to use the showers by the pool, which was slightly embarrassing. We couldn’t bath our 3 month old daughter. Upon check out we were offered a £50 discount for ‘hot water issues’ bearing in mind that our stay was £240 DBB. We we’re not willing to pay for the room as there was no hot water, which is a basic fundamental hotel service. Michael wasn’t interested in resolving our complaint and falsely started to accuse my wife of swearing at a member of staff. Not only was he lying, he then went on to insult me by saying ‘I thought you were nice people’ and ‘there are people starving and dieing in Africa and we’re complaining about hot water’. We Ieft the hotel without paying our bill only to receive a call from the police later that day. We complained to Classic Hotels head office about our traumatic and upsetting experience, which ruined our first family holiday. They wavered the full bill, offered a discounted stay, which we declined and posted an afternoon tea voucher.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Public Relations Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Guests
I am sorry you found my comments flippant and inappropriate when we were discussing your stay at Charingworth Manor.
It was unfortunate due to a faulty valve issue which we were unable to resolve on the night that you room was unable able to get hot water, for that reason I offered to compensate you.

We provided you with all the other services we offer at the hotel you appear to have dined well whilst with us. You only mentioned the delay in check in 24hrs after your stay. The departure without settling any bill is an offence and for that reason the police were advised.

Regards
Richard Grime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed here on business to work with a US client who was visiting. We needed a room to work in but they had a birthday dinner on Saturday, so they upgraded us to a suite free of charge so that we could work in the extra room. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone did their best to help us.

The food was good but the selection wore a little thin on the third night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to post these on trip advisor.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if can help with any future reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

On a brief overnight stay we were most impressed by this beautiful country manor. The facilities and general surroundings were wonderful! The true stars, however, were the Restaurant Manager and his catering staff. Being wheat and dairy free is usually difficult but this was dealt with in a most sympathetic and efficient way. Every care was taken, at each meal, to ensure that I could enjoy a similar menu to others in our party. The food was amazing!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaEagle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments, I will share these with the team here at the hotel.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if can help with any future reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Just wanted to say a huge thank you to all the staff at the Charingworth Manor for the most fantastic wedding day. Everything was exactly how we wanted it. The hotel has the most amazing feel about it and we managed to get some wonderful pictures outside. The food was lovely and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was The Ebrington Suite which we were thought was the most romantic room we had ever seen!!!
Big thank you to everyone at The Charingworth for making our day so very special.

Room Tip: Ebrington Suite if you want to celebrate a very special occasion.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad we could help your wedding day go well

We do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if can help with any future reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have stayed at the hotel a few times and we remain delighted with all that the hotel offers.
Comfort ,ambience ,service and of course the location.
We must mention the exceptionally helpful Robert who greeted us in reception upon our arrival.
The staff at this hotel are second to none !
Although we had a delicious meal in the restaurant on our first evening ,we chose to eat at the Ebrington Arms ,a local pub on the second night because the restaurant menu choices were rather rich for our taste on this occasion

This hotel could quite possibly be held up as an example of good practice in the hospitality
business!,

This hotel was the venue for our daughters wedding reception four years ago when again we received terrific service and excellent organisation .

There is much to see in this delightful area of the country and Charingworth Manor is an excellent base .

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mer123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to put these on Trip Advisor, I’m glad you enjoyed your recent stay.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if can help with any future reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hotel's greatest asset is the restaurant, the food was divine and the service excellent. I would advise taking up one of the offers where the evening meal is included with the room cost.
Our room was a good size and the bathroom had a separate bath and shower. The bed was firmer than I would like, but that is just personal preference.
The swimming pool is a nice addition, the décor is a little tired and not all the lockers were working, but the water was nicely heated.
Overall an enjoyable night away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to put these on Trip Advisor, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and I will share your comments with the restaurant and kitchen team.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if can help with any future reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
2.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,057 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,222 reviews
16.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
435 reviews
2.9 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charingworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charingworth Manor

Address: Charingworth, Chipping Campden GL55 6NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £133 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charingworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Charingworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charingworth Manor Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing