We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt rather conned.........”
Review of Charingworth Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Charingworth Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2008

We booked Charingworth Manor on Laterooms. The room we reserved was quoted as £195 on the room rate but we booked it for £75. Quite understandably, we considered that, by virtue of their normal rate, the room would be of a good standard.

The room we were actually given was such a disappointment. Not only was it in an annexe (and the porter trailed us around several corridors as he didn't know where the room was) it was the dingiest, dated room imaginable. I would say that it wasn't worth £50 per night, let alone the almost £200 full rate that the hotel quoted the room is sold for usually. If that is the case, then I am embarrassed to be English if that is the sort of room Americans visiting the area will have to stay in.

The receptionist kindly changed the room for us, but remarked that no-one else had ever complained (perhaps they just suffered in silence). The new room was still far from perfect with stained bed cover, dirty carpet (also dirty carpets in the hallways) and whilst I couldn't say it was all dirty, I couldn't with all honesty say it was spotless.

We weren't shown the dining room upon arrival, so we chose to eat in the local town instead.... shame really as it would have been nice to stay in.

The swimming pool and spa are wonderful, beautifully kept and it was the highlight of our stay.

My overall advice would be that perhaps booking direct is the best thing as I think perhaps they don't really value guests who book on Laterooms - we certainly felt very cheated.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscarbradfordonavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2008

I booked a suite via the Classic Lodges website, but after reading reviews on this site I called the hotel direct and asked about noise and was told we would have a suite in the main house which is quiet. At the same time I also made a reservation for dinner. I had booked the break for one night as a trip away for my husbands birthday and as it was the first time we had been away together without the kids (5 years!). I had booked somewhere I had hoped would be very special (£295 b and b in a suite) and in a great location. Location great but....................Upon arrival we looked around for reception. It isn't clear where you are supposed to go. We were ignored initially by staff in a room which has a half-open stable door which I later learned is reception!
Our dinner reservation had been lost. Luckily there was room for us.
Our suite turned out not to be in the main house but in the annexe, which is a modern (though old fashioned and desperately in need of refurbishment) addition. The common areas are in really poor condition, and although our suite had been modernised in a contemporary style, the windows all need attention (broken handle on the bathroom window, paint peeling off). Our suite was the one I had seen on the website. It has an en-suite joined to the bedroom by big glass sliding doors. An obscuring film (which is not even straight) covers two thirds of them, and if you were tall you would be able to see over. Thus privacy nil. The toilet is in there too, and the doors aren't soundproof! There is no shower cubicle, only a hand held shower in a big freestanding plastic bath. Taps wobbly and loose, hot water was non-existent at 6.30pm. Bath takes AGES to fill.
The most surprising 'feature' in the room was by the bed. A tall framed picture of 4 photographs of ladies breasts. This was to me unacceptable and inappropriate.... It seemed unnecessary and likely to cause offence, and not suited to an establishment of this type.
No internet in room and poor selection of tv channels with terrible reception which made me wonder why there was a huge plasma screen and a smaller tv if the service was so bad.
Dinner was fine. Food good and vegetarian options available. Restaurant decor dull, but service good and young staff very nice.
In the guide to the hotel provided in our room it states 'no children under 10 years old in restaurant in the evening'. We sat next to a family with 2 children under 5 until 8.00pm. We like children but couldn't understand the point of the rule if it was not adhered to.
Bed comfy, room quiet.
Cooked breakfast very poor if you happen to be vegetarian. As it is included in the price and meat eaters had many options including the usual full fry up with sausages, black pudding, bacon, or haddock or eggs with smoked salmon we were amazed to be given one egg, one tomato and half a mushroom! That was it! I would have thought that at least they could increase the portion size. The final straw was being charged for the morning paper, which had been offered to us when we checked in. At £295 a night I thought that would have been included.
Anyway, luckily we had an amazing time but we would never return. Hope this gives an insight to what appears to be a very confused establishment. It doesn’t seem to know what it is trying to be. Pity, as it could be absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vp24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2008

Charingworth Manor is a little gem! A family run hotel in the heart of the Cotswolds built of local stone in a rural location. It has a modern annex which blends in perfectly with the site and an agreeable pool and gymnasium. There is a small formal garden to the front and acres of mowed grass to walk on beyond. The lounges were very comfortable with the great hearths dating from the original building housing log fires.
We were housed in the annex with a window opening onto a road but, despite what another correspondent said, the volume of traffic was almost nil and it was deserted at night. The room and adjoining en suite were of a good size, spotlessly clean but will need a refurbishment before long. Sparkling water and sherry are provided but not tea and coffee, which we found a shame. I think the rooms above were suites and the patter of tiny and not so tiny feet was distracting to sleep, but no sound came through the side walls at all.
We found the staff to be extremely courteous and articulate. Whilst many were young, there was a core of experience and always a desire to please and give good service.
We expected the food to be of a very high quality, it being a Two Rosette restaurant. Our first meal was well cooked and presented, if a little plain in flavours. I guess that perhaps the chef was away that night for on the second day the meal was superb – really delicious! As has been stated before, the wine list is good but a little pricey.
We certainly hope to return to this lovely hotel – especially making use of the good deals available. A little gem!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank East-House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2008

We had a two night stay in this magnificent hotel on the northern side of the Cotswolds.

This is a genuine manor house that has been very tastefully added to. The extention has given the hotel the benefits of a delightfully warm swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym as well as additional rooms.

We requested a room in the original part of the manor and were surprised to be upgraded to a four poster beded suite.

The friendly and helpful staff arranged for the two of us to have full massages and my partner to have a luxury facial and manicure. These were all carried out in our suite by two wonderfully professional beauticians.

The food (both breakfasts and dinners) were exquisit and well presented. If we had any comment to make on the food it is that the menu may have benefitted from a little more variety.

We would have no problem recommending this hotel to any seeking a nice quiet break.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doojab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2008

This hotel has a charming facade, it has endless potential and the leisure facilities are excellent. Unfortunetly the staff are hopeless. I booked via the phone and requested brochure etc three times. It never came. As a third adult I was given a saggy z bed. when we complained they tried to find us a room with a sofa bed. The manager let us in several rooms , all unmaid!!! very bad housekeeping one had a newspaper on the side from three days before so had hardly just been vacated. The room was made up for us . Furnishings are jaded and the shower was cold. Food was reasonable but portions small. When we left they tried to overcharge us by 75.00. A disappointing experience, visit when staff are altered!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank alscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2008

We stayed at Charingworth Manor for a Friday and Saturday night in February 2008. The weather was fabulous which added to our enjoyment of a fabulous couple of days in the Cotswolds.

Charingworth is idealy placed, secluded but close enough to walk to Chipping Camden (which we did!). The views are spectacular. Our room was classed as a superior double, views out onto a courtyard rather than the countryside but perfectly acceptable. Our bed was massive being two 3ft singles made up as a double. So comfortable! Very quiet, had to double check it was daylight in the mornings because we couldnt hear a thing! The only television I saw was in our bedroom - nothing in the lounge areas (thankfully). Wonderful smell of woodsmoke from the log burning fires and just a feeling of total relaxation the whole time we were there. We walked into a nearby villiage to have our evening meals - there is a dress code of no jeans at Charingworth which we didn't know about.

Breakfast was fabulous - we were brought a basket of toasted breads and crumpets and there was a buffet of cerials, fruits, various juices and a menu of cooked items such as full english, smoked haddock and poached egg, scrambled egg with smoked salmon - spoilt for choice!!

The leisure facilities were a real bonus. Very clean, well stocked with fluffy towels etc and we were the only ones in there when we stayed. Lovely pool with patio doors leading out onto a sun terrace that must be quite something in the summer with the views over the Cotswolds. Sauna and Steam room - would have felt crowded with more than 4 in but you can check to see how many people are using the facilities before you go into the Leisure area. There is a gym area as well but we were there to relax so gave that a miss.

The staff were all wonderful - invisible until you wanted something and then very helpful and attentive. Quite informative about the area, alternative eating places and walking distances!

We had a lovely time - we will go back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2007

My wife and I chose Charingworth Manor because it was supposed to be really peaceful. We booked a superior room and paid £180 for Dinner B & B. The drive up to the hotel is most impressive and our welcome warm enough. Our room was good and had all the facilities that you would expect apart from tea/coffe making. At dinner, the food was very good but the wine list was unimaginative and very expensive. I paid £30 for a bottle of Australan wine that I have since found on the web at £8 a bottle !! Overnight, we realised that there was a road almost immediately outside our room and , although it wasn't the M4, there was enough traffic to persuade me that this was not quite the rural idyll that we were looking for. Breakfast was very good and the check out procedure efficient. Would we return - No.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardBJ_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
2.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,067 reviews
7.6 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
444 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,347 reviews
2.9 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,057 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charingworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charingworth Manor

Address: Charingworth, Chipping Campden GL55 6NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £137 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charingworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Charingworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charingworth Manor Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing