We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Charingworth Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charingworth Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We wanted a hotel that was in a lovely country location with good facilities and that would welcome dogs, and we found this beautiful hotel that not only fitted the bill but gave us so much more. The hotel was 'picture box' on the web site and did not disappoint when we arrived; really gorgeous. The food was of a really good standard and all 11 of us (ages ranging from 14 to 67) found there was something to delicious to tempt us. The bedrooms were roomy and comfortable, and the dog friendly rooms had their own outside area. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The swimming pool, steam room and sauna were a bit hit with everyone, as were the tennis courts, croquet lawn and gigantic chess set. Thank you very much Charingworth for a wonderful celebration weekend

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 21 July 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for your kind comments and I’m glad your party enjoyed their stay with us.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help with any reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    259
    76
    34
    19
See reviews for
164
633
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My family thoroughly enjoyed our recent 4 nights here
- the manor itself has got a wide range of well-kept facilities eg tennis courts, swimming pool, gym
- the manor is rich in history (800 years long), which brings a great old-world feel and picture-postcard surrounds
- staff are extremely friendly and helpful
- the rooms are well appointed
- the location is perfect for the Cotswolds
Well done!

Room Tip: The Eliot room worked for us, with a large king-sized bed that allowed ample sleeping space for 2 ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDDododuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write these on trip advisor.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel and don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help with any future reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Beautiful location and great break. Lovely room, service was a little slow - thought we had ordered a dessert wine with the meal it took so long to arrive. Meal ordered didn't match description but it was beautiful so went with the flow!

Room Tip: Waited a while for wine with dinner but otherwise great - the waiters were very attentive but the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beddy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to write these on trip advisor. I apologise the service was a little slow, we do try to get the balance right and not rush meal times, but there can be no excuse for a long wait for your wine.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel and don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help with any future reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

On arrival we were met by a charming man who immediately upgraded us.We felt pleased to have chosen the right hotel.
However,in no particular order,we waited twenty minutes before anybody came to serve us for lunch; we returned on the second day at 5pm to find our bed had not been made and the room had not been touched. We were last to bed (not late) and hoping for another nightcap but everybody appeared to have gone home; the breakfast fare( not the cooked one) was decidedly average.
There seemed to be a constant changing of staff with nobody really getting a grip.The exception was the tall Hungarian waiter who could have not been more helpful.
Pity. It promised much but did not deliver.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to write these on trip advisor. I’m sorry on this occasion we fell short of your expectations.

The guest service is something we normally receive such good comments over as you will see from our other reviews and speaking with the guests at the hotel. Without knowing further details I can’t comment further about the shortfalls you experience, but please if you wish contact me directly so I can follow your comments through.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel and allow us to regain our laurels

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We recently booked all rooms at Charringworth for our garden club tour of the Cotswolds. The manager of the hotel and all his staff could not have been more helpful in preparing for our visit.
The hotel is full of character and has amazing views across the Cotswolds. We had some very complimentary comments from our tour group regarding their rooms and evening meals. A very relaxing stay.
I'm certain that we will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: The best views are to be had in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteManchesteruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for your comments and taking the time to write these on trip advisor.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel and don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help with any future reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

stopped for one night 20-06 2013 on a special offer which included bed and breakfast afternoon tea and three course dinner. we had a room in the main building which was lovely and the food was first class backed up by excellent staff.5 star.

Room Tip: get a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments and taking the time to write these on trip advisor.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed for one night to celebrate our anniversary, we were quite looking forward to our stay especially as we had read such excellent reviews, so we decided to book special package to include dinner here as well.

The hotel is set in beautiful countryside which offered picturesque views. While the hotel had character, we felt it lacked some atmosphere - it was almost too quiet so other peoples' conversations could be heard and dinner and in the tea lounge, perhaps some light backing music would have helped.

We had a deluxe room which was pleasant enough and very spacious, although the bed was two beds made-up as one.

We are both keen foodies but we were disappointed with dinner - it was nice enough but not of the standard expected. I had the soup to start, followed by the duck which both needed heavy seasoning - I never usually need to add salt to my meal. My husband had the lamb which was nicer than the duck but quite a light portion.

We both enjoyed the cheese board! and there were a good selection of wines on offer.

Unfortunately the lack of ambience in the restaurant let the evening down. Although the staff were friendly and attentive.
Overall, we felt that the price we paid did not reflect what we would have expected based on staying in different hotels at the same sort of price range.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on trip advisor and for your for your kind comments about the staff.

I’m sorry you were a little disappointed with the ambience, it is a difficult one, we do have background music in the restaurant at meal times, but have chosen not to in our lounges and bar area as we do find most of our guests prefer it this way so the can relax and unwind.
I have passed your comments about the food onto the chef and am again sorry you were a little disappointed.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel and give us a chance to regain our laurels, so please don’t hesitate to contact me directly if I can help with any future reservations.

Kind Regards

Michael David Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
2.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,026 reviews
2.9 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,017 reviews
7.6 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,278 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,184 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charingworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charingworth Manor

Property: Charingworth Manor
Address: Charingworth, Chipping Campden GL55 6NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charingworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Charingworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charingworth Manor Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing