We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious English Countryside”
Review of Charingworth Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charingworth Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed one night here. Our room (Brunel) was on the first floor with a four poster bed and a view, which you would be hard pushed to better anywhere in the UK. Lovely big bathroom with the same view of the gardens and further to acre upon acre of glorious English countryside. Excellent afternoon tea. Comfortable bed. Quiet room. Excellent breakfast with my poached eggs coming fast and exactly how requested. Beautiful location in 'typical' Cotswolds. Considering the weather our room was cool at night. Would thoroughly recommend. There is a pool but we didn't loook at it.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments and I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we really do have a stunning location with great views from the terrace and some bedrooms.

I do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help with any reservations

Kind Regards

Michael David Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights staying in an annexe room built to compliment the main house. A good Olde Worlde experience with quirky public rooms. The food was good, the room had everything you would want. This hotel is the flagship of many in the group and we will certainly try the others after this experience. The hotel is set in a wonderful location.

Room Tip: The best room views are from the front of the original house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for taking the time to put these on trip advisor.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back and please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help further

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Just stayed for two nights, but could have stayed longer.
The hotel is absolutley charming and a "must stay" if you are wanting to over-night in the area.
Views from the terrace are stunning and gardens are a picture.
We stayed in the annex, but because this was also "stone built" is was very cool and we had no problems sleeping.
The room was large and well appointed, we even had our own terrace garden with table and chairs.
The swimmimg pool is excellent and larger than it looks on the website, with sauna and steam room also.
The dinning room is well arranged and comfortable. Food is very good. Service is excellent.
The whole place has the feel of a small village on the top of a hill.
Had a look at a room in the main house which was full of character and again well appointed.
We stayed on the Diner B&B basis which was very reasonable compared to other hotels in the area.
If you cannot stay, go and have afternoon tea on the terrace and soak up the atmosphere of this wonderful place.
As hoteliers ourselves we are often critical, but this hotel is well worth a stay for longer than we could manage.
We will be staying again latter in the year.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are full of character, try to get one overlooking the terrace, which has the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you very much for your kind comments and I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

I’m glad we will be able to welcome you back later in the year and please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help with any reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We wanted a hotel that was in a lovely country location with good facilities and that would welcome dogs, and we found this beautiful hotel that not only fitted the bill but gave us so much more. The hotel was 'picture box' on the web site and did not disappoint when we arrived; really gorgeous. The food was of a really good standard and all 11 of us (ages ranging from 14 to 67) found there was something to delicious to tempt us. The bedrooms were roomy and comfortable, and the dog friendly rooms had their own outside area. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The swimming pool, steam room and sauna were a bit hit with everyone, as were the tennis courts, croquet lawn and gigantic chess set. Thank you very much Charingworth for a wonderful celebration weekend

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you very much for your kind comments and I’m glad your party enjoyed their stay with us.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help with any reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My family thoroughly enjoyed our recent 4 nights here
- the manor itself has got a wide range of well-kept facilities eg tennis courts, swimming pool, gym
- the manor is rich in history (800 years long), which brings a great old-world feel and picture-postcard surrounds
- staff are extremely friendly and helpful
- the rooms are well appointed
- the location is perfect for the Cotswolds
Well done!

Room Tip: The Eliot room worked for us, with a large king-sized bed that allowed ample sleeping space for 2 ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDDododuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write these on trip advisor.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel and don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help with any future reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Beautiful location and great break. Lovely room, service was a little slow - thought we had ordered a dessert wine with the meal it took so long to arrive. Meal ordered didn't match description but it was beautiful so went with the flow!

Room Tip: Waited a while for wine with dinner but otherwise great - the waiters were very attentive but the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beddy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to write these on trip advisor. I apologise the service was a little slow, we do try to get the balance right and not rush meal times, but there can be no excuse for a long wait for your wine.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel and don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help with any future reservations

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

On arrival we were met by a charming man who immediately upgraded us.We felt pleased to have chosen the right hotel.
However,in no particular order,we waited twenty minutes before anybody came to serve us for lunch; we returned on the second day at 5pm to find our bed had not been made and the room had not been touched. We were last to bed (not late) and hoping for another nightcap but everybody appeared to have gone home; the breakfast fare( not the cooked one) was decidedly average.
There seemed to be a constant changing of staff with nobody really getting a grip.The exception was the tall Hungarian waiter who could have not been more helpful.
Pity. It promised much but did not deliver.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to write these on trip advisor. I’m sorry on this occasion we fell short of your expectations.

The guest service is something we normally receive such good comments over as you will see from our other reviews and speaking with the guests at the hotel. Without knowing further details I can’t comment further about the shortfalls you experience, but please if you wish contact me directly so I can follow your comments through.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel and allow us to regain our laurels

Kind Regards
Michael David Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
2.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,085 reviews
7.6 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
2.9 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,077 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charingworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charingworth Manor

Address: Charingworth, Chipping Campden GL55 6NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £132 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charingworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Charingworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charingworth Manor Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing