We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class hotel”
Review of Charingworth Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charingworth Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“First class hotel”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

From the moment you walk through the front door of this hotel, all of your worries seem to evaporate. A really romantic place - the higher-priced bedroom with sitting room annexe was one of the most spacious we have been in, and certainly the most comfortable. Good dinner and breakfast, and nice grounds to walk it off. Well done to the manager and staff for making us so welcome. (We weren't paid to write this).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simplesouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you so much for you “unpaid” kind comments, I will share these with the team here.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michael Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    259
    76
    34
    19
See reviews for
164
633
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have visited the Cotswolds many times and this is the best Hotel we have stayed in. The location is excellent, hotel buildings well kept, staff welcoming and food superb. Small gym but with new equipment which all worked. Excellent pool. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again on your next Cotswold trip.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help with any reservations.

Kind Regards

Michael Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Just spent two nights at Charingworth Manor and enjoyed every minute. Its such a lovely place, the staff are always friendly and very helpful and the food is fantastic. We stayed here just over three years ago and nothing has changed its still an amazing hotel set in beautiful surroundings, you feel like you are part of the Charingworth family and not just part of the furniture stuck in a big commercial hotel. Looking forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for your continued support and for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
We do hope to see you again in the near future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help with any reservations.
Kind Regards
Michael Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

A delightful period manor in the ideal location for discovering Stratford. Dogs welcome, friendly chap on reception and nice grounds but....
The dining room is living in the 90s. Poor service from over enthusiastic waiters willing us to leave after just an hour. After starters from the out dated menu and before the main we had, but did not order, indigestion, followed after the main by more indigestion.
I'm sure the manor was once the place to stay, not anymore.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToffeeBoy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor, we do appreciate when guests take the time to do so, as it is one of the ways in which we can improve upon those areas where we may fall short.

I was aware that you had not enjoyed your evening meal and did want to speak with you on departure, however when I came to reception you had already departed. The restaurant manager did inform me that you thought the service was a little quick yesterday evening and you thought you were being hurried. Of course this is not our intention and we certainly didn’t need your table again for later booking and you could have remained in the restaurant with your partner and bay for as long as you wished.

It can be a little difficult to judge the speed of service, we served around 40 other guests yesterday evening and apart from yourselves all of our other guests were very happy both on the evening and on departure from the hotel. You had two courses with us and were seated at about 7.15pm and we cleared your main course at around 8.10pm, so I agree that this was about an hour, but think this is a fair time for a two course meal, of course if we are asked by guests for a pause of more than five to ten minutes between each course we are able to offer this and slow down the service.

I’m saddened by your comments about poor service, as I believe we have an excellent team here who provide exceptional customer service. I do wish I was able to speak with you during your stay and hear your comments in full and if you would like to speak with me directly please don’t hesitate to do so.

Michael Davis Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A set of happy misfortunes lead to this unexpectedly beautiful country manor. We had missed timed some of our lodgings for a trip to the Cotswolds in June. It was 2 days before our trip and we had no where to stay. Amazingly we were able to get a last minute room at Charingworth Manor. Being a last minute booking we were not expecting much however on arriving at the manor house we found a beautiful historic building surrounded by sheep pastures and flowers.

This manor can be traced back to the Doomsday book after the Norman Invasion and in the main house you can feel the weight of its history. There have been many updates since its transition from a residential building. There is WIFI, a gym, and other modern conveniences. The building has been expanded a number of times and is now a sprawling complex. Since we were last minute booking we did not have the nicest rooms so make sure you ask about the location of your room on booking.

Within a few miles from a number of great little towns, Charingworth Manor provides a great location to explore this region of England but you would need to have rented a car to get to the surrounding towns. Luckily the manor has great parking and even with a full house parking on site was not an issue.

This is not a super luxurious inn but is well situated and in good condition. Sitting in the older part of the house you are transported back in time and can enjoy the quite beauty of the English countryside.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalicenixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on trip advisor.

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope we can welcome you back in the future.
If I can be of any help with any reservations please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards

Michael Eastick
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were given an champagne afternoon tea voucher and chose this hotel as the one nearest to us. We were not disappointed. We were greeted at the door and shown to one of the small comfortable lounges which had a log fire burning - very much appreciated as it was a really cold day. Our champagne arrived shortly followed by our tea which consisted of four different sandwiches, scones, clotted cream and jam, and then 3 slices of homemade cake, all absolutely delicious. Plenty for the two of us. There was a good choice of teas and the staff were only too happy to refill the pots. It was a lovely ambiance, no stress and we were able to take our time. We had a walk around the hotel which is very old. The feel of the hotel was so lovely that we have actually decided to book in overnight in the near future, especially as they have a gourmet night and apparently there is a small swimming pool. Hopefully the bedrooms are as beautifully appointed as the lounge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValerieandBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for your comets and I’m glad you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. You really can’t beat a nice warm fire lit lounge and a beautiful afternoon tea.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your overnight stay

Kind Regards
Michael Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We first visited here 20 years ago when it was one of the boutique hotels of the Cotswolds. It still is wonderful building with lots of character but as a hotel it is not in the same league as Lords of the Manor, to choose one local rival. It is a serviceable, comfortable hotel. The service is fine but there are moments when it feels like you are in a seaside lodging house. The pool is nice but a like the rest of the hotel it is feeling a little past its best. I have to say that we paid a fraction of what it would have cost to go to the Lords of the Manor so the comparison is not strictly fair. In the end you get what you pay for. We eat in the restaurant which had some real high spots (beautifully tasty local lamb) but again compromised by some other aspects of the meal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on trip advisor, we appreciate when guests take the time to do so.

I’m of course a little saddened by your comments and these in no way reflect the views and comments we receive from the vast majority of our guests on departure as well as our other reviews on trip advisor.

A little unfair to compare our restaurant with the Michelin Starred Lords of the Manor Restaurant, but I’m glad you enjoyed your lamb and the meal also provided some other high spots for you. Your comments about the service and comparison to a seaside lodging house, I really don’t understand as we have an excellent team working for us, whom I believe strike the perfect balance of friendly unobtrusive and professional service.

I would more than welcome discussing your points further and do wish I was able to speak with you in person whilst you were staying with us and should you wish to contact me directly please do not hesitate to do so.

Kind Regards

Michael Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
2.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,022 reviews
2.9 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,016 reviews
7.6 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,277 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,183 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charingworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charingworth Manor

Property: Charingworth Manor
Address: Charingworth, Chipping Campden GL55 6NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charingworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Charingworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charingworth Manor Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing