We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Manor property”
Review of Charingworth Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charingworth Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Romantic Manor property”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This a great location, just outside Chipping Camden, a great location for either visiting the Cotswolds, or just staying at the property and pampering yourself for a few days. The room was spacious, well appointed and equipped. Although it was on a corner, near a small access road, it really was no bother. The spa was a needed respite in the middle of our UK visit. The pool and sauna were wonderful. Both dinner and breakfast were served in the dining room, and staff was very attentive to our off menu requests. Public room furnishings were old, but not tired or shabby, and fitted with the ambiance of a stately manor house, fires going in the parlors just added to the whole feeling that you were more than a guest.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinoDaGusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on trip advisor, I will share these with team here at the hotel.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help in any way

Michael Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    259
    76
    34
    19
See reviews for
164
633
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I saw the good reviews for Charingworth on TripAdvisor and decided to book two rooms for me and my mother. First of all, the location is fantastic for exploring the Cotswolds, particularly for a first time visitor. A lot of the picturesque spots and popular tourist towns (Stow-on-the-Wold, Bourton-on-the-Water, etc) are within a 15-25 minute drive of the property. If you stay near Burford or one of towns further to the south you have a longer drive to reach these places.

The staff are kind and attentive, and the complimentary breakfast is quite generous with a full English available as well as a table with pastries, cereal, fruit and other goodies.

In terms of the property, it is pretty from the outside and the rooms are remodeled attractively. The rooms we had, on the top floor of the manor, were very spacious and everything was in good working order.

It was the tired public spaces inside of the manor as well as the lack of attention to detail that prevent Charingworth from reaching a stronger rating for me, particularly because we were paying up to £300+ per night per room. The sitting rooms, reception area, pool/spa area and dining room are in strong need of a remodel. Loud music was played in the dining room at breakfast (probably heard 'Mambo Italiano' 5 times on rotation plus Christmas music in September (?) - finally asked them to turn it down because we could not hear ourselves talk), the changing rooms required a £1 coin to be inserted to use key for the locker (if a hotel is that expensive why do this?), rubbish bins were stored in the private dining room, and pool area has a clammy, soggy feel with plastic plants and moldy cushions in the adjoining conservatory. A bus full of tourists stopped in the drive right in front of the manor and let about 30 people off for dinner on Friday night, then kept the loud engine running for at least a half hour - could clearly hear and see this from my room, spoiling the fact that we are supposed to be in the peace and quiet of the country. The dining room is quite dark with very small windows, therefore you cannot take in the gorgeous scenery around the property at all - especially disappointing considering the manor is located at the top of a hill with sweeping views. These are just some examples of the shortfalls of this property.

All in all, I would stay at this hotel again for a rate of £175 or less because of the quality of the bedrooms, but would not pay more.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank CalDreamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for reviewing us on trip advisor and for you kind comments about our attentive staff.

I do feel some of your comments are a little unfair. In relation to the dining room, which is over 700 years old and the small leaded windows are an original feature, the hotel is sat on the brow of a hill, with stunning views from the terrace and grounds as well as some of our bedrooms. We are unable and would not wish to make the windows larger in the dining room as this would detract from the traditional Cotswold Style and history of the property.

We of course do take your points on board and have deleted the Christmas song from our playlist in the restaurant and please be assured that the bins you refer to in the private dining room, were in fact secure documents storage bins waiting to be collected for shredding and not “Rubbish Bins”. We also have a very large amount of fresh plants within the leisure area and only two artificial ones in one area where the chlorine make it a little difficult for fresh planting to survive.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the future and am sorry with so many points to raise you didn’t feel able to discuss any of these in person at the time of your stay, when we may have been able to resolve many of your issues and concerns. Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly if I can help in anyway.

Kind Regards
Michael Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

From the moment you walk through the front door of this hotel, all of your worries seem to evaporate. A really romantic place - the higher-priced bedroom with sitting room annexe was one of the most spacious we have been in, and certainly the most comfortable. Good dinner and breakfast, and nice grounds to walk it off. Well done to the manager and staff for making us so welcome. (We weren't paid to write this).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simplesouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you so much for you “unpaid” kind comments, I will share these with the team here.

We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michael Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have visited the Cotswolds many times and this is the best Hotel we have stayed in. The location is excellent, hotel buildings well kept, staff welcoming and food superb. Small gym but with new equipment which all worked. Excellent pool. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and we hope to see you again on your next Cotswold trip.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help with any reservations.

Kind Regards

Michael Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Just spent two nights at Charingworth Manor and enjoyed every minute. Its such a lovely place, the staff are always friendly and very helpful and the food is fantastic. We stayed here just over three years ago and nothing has changed its still an amazing hotel set in beautiful surroundings, you feel like you are part of the Charingworth family and not just part of the furniture stuck in a big commercial hotel. Looking forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guests
Thank you for your continued support and for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
We do hope to see you again in the near future and please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help with any reservations.
Kind Regards
Michael Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

A delightful period manor in the ideal location for discovering Stratford. Dogs welcome, friendly chap on reception and nice grounds but....
The dining room is living in the 90s. Poor service from over enthusiastic waiters willing us to leave after just an hour. After starters from the out dated menu and before the main we had, but did not order, indigestion, followed after the main by more indigestion.
I'm sure the manor was once the place to stay, not anymore.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToffeeBoy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on trip advisor, we do appreciate when guests take the time to do so, as it is one of the ways in which we can improve upon those areas where we may fall short.

I was aware that you had not enjoyed your evening meal and did want to speak with you on departure, however when I came to reception you had already departed. The restaurant manager did inform me that you thought the service was a little quick yesterday evening and you thought you were being hurried. Of course this is not our intention and we certainly didn’t need your table again for later booking and you could have remained in the restaurant with your partner and bay for as long as you wished.

It can be a little difficult to judge the speed of service, we served around 40 other guests yesterday evening and apart from yourselves all of our other guests were very happy both on the evening and on departure from the hotel. You had two courses with us and were seated at about 7.15pm and we cleared your main course at around 8.10pm, so I agree that this was about an hour, but think this is a fair time for a two course meal, of course if we are asked by guests for a pause of more than five to ten minutes between each course we are able to offer this and slow down the service.

I’m saddened by your comments about poor service, as I believe we have an excellent team here who provide exceptional customer service. I do wish I was able to speak with you during your stay and hear your comments in full and if you would like to speak with me directly please don’t hesitate to do so.

Michael Davis Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A set of happy misfortunes lead to this unexpectedly beautiful country manor. We had missed timed some of our lodgings for a trip to the Cotswolds in June. It was 2 days before our trip and we had no where to stay. Amazingly we were able to get a last minute room at Charingworth Manor. Being a last minute booking we were not expecting much however on arriving at the manor house we found a beautiful historic building surrounded by sheep pastures and flowers.

This manor can be traced back to the Doomsday book after the Norman Invasion and in the main house you can feel the weight of its history. There have been many updates since its transition from a residential building. There is WIFI, a gym, and other modern conveniences. The building has been expanded a number of times and is now a sprawling complex. Since we were last minute booking we did not have the nicest rooms so make sure you ask about the location of your room on booking.

Within a few miles from a number of great little towns, Charingworth Manor provides a great location to explore this region of England but you would need to have rented a car to get to the surrounding towns. Luckily the manor has great parking and even with a full house parking on site was not an issue.

This is not a super luxurious inn but is well situated and in good condition. Sitting in the older part of the house you are transported back in time and can enjoy the quite beauty of the English countryside.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalicenixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on trip advisor.

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope we can welcome you back in the future.
If I can be of any help with any reservations please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards

Michael Eastick
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
2.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,025 reviews
2.9 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,018 reviews
7.6 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,276 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,184 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charingworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charingworth Manor

Property: Charingworth Manor
Address: Charingworth, Chipping Campden GL55 6NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charingworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Charingworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charingworth Manor Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing