We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and good food at reasonable prices in very nicely laid out restaurant.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charingworth Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charingworth Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good food at reasonable prices in very nicely laid out restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had a family birthday celebration here on a Saturday lunchtime. Service staff very good, friendly and knowledgable. Food excellent for the price - good choice & catered for child as well as diverse range of adults!
Drinks were a little expensive but at a level to be expected from a hotel. A large glass of wine (250ml) was served up in small carafe - nice touch and the two "house" red wines ordered in this way both rated as good. Also have half bottles of some wines - Sancerre was rated very good.
Wonderful location. Very popular for afternoon teas - the lounge had filled up by 3pm!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DStravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to post your review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your family birthday lunch with us and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michael Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    253
    73
    34
    19
See reviews for
161
611
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed over last weekend at the hotel for 2 nights.We had a suite which was very spacious and accommodated our child in the same room with ease.The hotel is in a lovely location and we made use of the tennis court and pool.We had dinner in therestaurant one night and a snack in the lounge the other.The facilities,food and surroundings were lovely and ideal for a short break in the Cotswolds.The staff were very friendly,welcoming and attentive and we will definitely return.Thanks to everyone for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Suites very spacious and worthwhile if you need an extra bed in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 120CarolineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to post your review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards

Michael Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks,UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

On arrival you wind round a long road leading up to the manor. You are greeted by warm friendly staff. Our room T S Eliot suite was large and full of character . Big bathroom too. We booked half board and we're not disappointed, plenty of choice, and all food was of the highest quality. The leisure facilities were good too a good size pool not quite big enough for swimming lengths but certainly enough for a couple of strokes. The sauna was nice but the steam room was shut. There are plenty of things to do close by, we chose to go for a walk through the countryside which we thoroughly enjoyed. We even found an award winning pub. I would definitely recommend this to couples for a totally relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to post your review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michael Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 days at Charingworth Manor and it was very enjoyable. We were upgraded to a 4 poster room for free which was great. The view was beautiful and the room was spacious and comfortable. We had dinner on the first night in the restaurant and were made to feel very welcome by the bar staff who also recommended places to visit in Stratford. The food was lovely and we really enjoyed the bar area which had a nice selection of local ales. The hotel was quiet as it was midweek so we had the pool to ourselves when we checked out the leisure facilities, the gym had enough for a mini workout which is all you need when you're away. All in all a great find, we would just like a tad more atmosphere in the restaurant area during dinner and breakfast for the price. We'll definitely be recommending Charingworth Manor.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CharLottieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay and for your kind words.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back and if we can help with any future reservations please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards
Michael Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Recently attended a large family event here and everything was beyond my expectations! The staff were very helpful, friendly and accommodating and each room was uniquely stunning. Loved my double room with views of the tennis court, there is a lovely window seat so I could watch the games or sit quietly and read. The food was delicious and portion sizes were just right.
The location in the Cotswolds is picture-perfect. If you have time, a visit to Chipping Camden is well worth it, Broadway is amazing and Hidocte’s gardens are worth a visit.
This weekend away at Charingworth is just what we all needed.

Room Tip: I would try to stay in the original part
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for your kind words, we are glad you all enjoyed your family birthday celebrations and do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Michael Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

A good friend and I (and my dog) recently stayed for 3 nights to celebrate my 30th birthday. First, the positives: our room was very nice and spacious; beds were comfortable and the direct outside access for the dog was a great feature; hotel property is gorgeous and the views are breathtaking. On the negative side: the staff's attitudes (excluding the cleaning staff who were lovely) towards us ranged from indifferent to downright rude throughout our stay. For a hotel that advertises as truly "pet friendly" our dog was turned away numerous times, including for a specially booked afternoon tea where I was told upon booking that we could bring the dog with us. We promptly left and went to a lovely tea in neighboring Chipping Campden where we found loads of pet-friendly tea rooms, inns and restaurants. Overall, certainly a nice property but not worth the price compared to others in the area and service does not come close to the supposed 4+ star standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCTraveller323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor, I’m a little saddened by your comments especially in relation to the staff, as that is one of those areas we pride ourselves on and normally receive such excellent comments.

We do have dog friendly rooms, but I’m afraid we don’t allow dogs in the dining room. We do try to be flexible with allowing dogs in the other hotel public areas and lounges and as I’m writing this response there are guests taking dinner in the lounge with their dog. We did have a note on your reservation that you would be having tea with us during your stay at some point, but I believe when you came for tea on the Saturday afternoon the lounges were full with other guests.

I will speak with the member of staff who supervised tea that day, as although the lounge area was full, we could and should have offered to serve your tea either in your room or the conservatory area near the pool which was a little quiet, or of course asked you to wait a while until suitable space in the lounges became free.

Thank you for your kind comments in relation to other aspects of your stay and sorry we let ourselves down, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss the matter further.

Kind Regards
Michael Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
213 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

went for sunday lunch yesterday and it did not disappoint! Excellent food, friendly staff, excellent service, lovely place and good value for money. What more can one ask? Sat outside having coffee afterwards reading the papers - so tranquil and pretty. Cannot wait to return and stay for the first time!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor.
I’m happy you enjoyed your meal with us and know we have already welcomed you back again and do hope to see you again soon. We can guarantee the weather but if it’s poor you can always admire the view from inside.
Kind Regards

Michael Eastick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
3.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
7.6 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
16.6 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
2.9 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charingworth Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charingworth Manor

Property: Charingworth Manor
Address: Charingworth, Chipping Campden GL55 6NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charingworth Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Charingworth Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charingworth Manor Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing