We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Charingworth Manor
Nearby Hotels
Noel Arms Hotel(Chipping Campden)
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa(Chipping Campden)
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$451
DormyHouse
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fish Hotel(Broadway)
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Redesdale Arms Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart Royal Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor House Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,100)
Filter reviews
1,100 results
Traveller rating
673
287
82
38
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
673
287
82
38
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teasauna and steam roomleisure facilitiesleisure clubswimming pooldrawing roomsandwichescotswold countrysidehotel is beautifulchanging roomsebrington armsspecial offerrelaxing breaklovely settingthe general managerfour poster bedold house
Filter
Updating list...
589 - 594 of 1,100 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I fancied a winter break in the Cotswolds and this hotel ticked all the boxes for location, facilities and good reviews.
Upon arrival we were told that we had been given a free upgrade to a suite in the main house. As it was under the eaves, headroom was a bit limited in places but overall a lovely spacious room to spend 3 nights in.
The lounge and bar areas are small but just right for relaxing with a pre or post dinner drink. The food in the restaurant was also good (if a little pricey). Nearby Chipping Camden has a good choice of pubs/restaurants, but you will need to drive/taxi.
We used the pool and sauna twice during our stay and found it spotlessly clean. The grounds looked well maintained and I imagine a sunny evening on the terrace would be very nice.
If you want a country house hotel with plenty of character then you can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: Stick to the main house if you want a room with character.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear guests

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for your kind comments

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Michael Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for a birthday treat that would include our dog Dillan and we all had a wonderful stay. This hotel is truly dog friendly and we had a terrace that led onto the grounds for walks. We stayed on a spring offer which included a Pimms jelly afternoon tea, 3 course dinner & breakfast. Food was delicious I had the guinea fowl for dinner which was divine. We made use of the pool and sauna and generally had a relaxing stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitchickkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear guests

Thank you for your comments

I’m glad you enjoyed your stay birthday stay and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future

Michael Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a lovely one night stay in Brunel 4 poster room with views of the lovely countryside. The food was marvellous and staff very attentive on reception and at dinner and breakfast. I would recommend the 2 hour walk from the hotel, on a sheet provided by reception, that goes round the local area, as the scenery is wonderful and the roads not busy. The walk can be extended to cover Foxcote Manor estate, owned by an American billionaire, and very well kept. This was a lovely finish to our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lignum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear guests

Thank you for your kind words, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Michael Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Having read the reviews, we headed off from London on our first trip to the Cotswold with our 18 month old along for the ride. Charingworth Manor is a strikingly beautiful building, much of its interior retains a classical feel. Some of the interior rooms are great places to spend an afternoon alongside a fire with a cup of tea or a glass of wine.

The reception staff were helpful without being particularly friendly or inviting. So while the warmth of the building exudes from every pour the welcome at reception is a little flat (our 18 month old had just been sick as we exited the car about a 2 hour ride which may have influenced the experience).

The rooms are substantial, clean and plenty warm. Bathroom and shower were very good size and very clean. You can hear the adjacent room noise, but it wasn't a problem for us.

The restaurant boosts a lot and charges a lot, for what is essentially an average meal. We eat both nights in the hotel and neither would justify the prices charged. The staff in the restaurant were particularly nice and great at distracting our 18 month old every time they had an opportunity.

The childrens activities are really for older kids, under 2's are a tough group, but aside from the spa pool there was precious little else to occupy his attention. There is plenty of open space, tennis courts and a lovely large chess set on the lawn.

The location is great, the building very special, but for us the experience inside was lacking and as a result it was an overpriced one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muppet50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guests

Firstly thank you for taking the time to share your views as it is one of the ways we can improve upon the standard we offer here at Charingworth.

I’m sorry you thought some of the staff a little unwelcoming as this is an area we pride ourselves on and I will speak with the team as first impressions do count. We do throughout the year offer competitive rates and breaks and for a two night stay with dinner and breakfast during April and May we were offering these from £149 per night.

Thank you for your kind comments about the restaurant team. I’m sorry your little one wasn’t kept amused with our lawns and grounds to play in and during spring there are normally lambs and calf’s in the adjacent fields.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me if I can help further or you wish to discuss any of the details in person.
Regards
Michael Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We recently stayed here for our anniversary for a couple of nights. The first room we were put into backed onto what was described as a quiet country lane by the reception staff. 10 minutes in it sounded like we were on the A1 which is not what I signed up for! The staff were more than understanding and moved us into the Creswell Suite which was in the main house and was just lovely. It was quiet which was the important thing with lovely views over the grounds. Breakfast was nice there was plenty of variety. We had dinner there one night which was good but we didn't have anything overly spectacular. I think because of the restaurant reviews maybe we expected a bit too much..

The staff were amazing we could not fault a single person there. They were all friendly and helpful. We didn't rate the restaurant they recommended in the town though I think they need to brush up a bit on what people are after. We asked for a good restaurant recommendation and she booked us into the noisiest pub in the world! Not very romantic...

The pool was lovely, the steam room was out of order which was a shame but it was still nice to relax in the pool.

The main letdown of the hotel was the bar. It was very small and you couldn't really sit in there you had to go to the lounge down the hall which was a bit of a pain. Also there was no draft beers there you had to have a bottle if you wanted beer and there was only a couple options. I'm not a beer drinker but hubby found that a bit of a pain.

Overall it was nice and we came back refreshed and replenished ready to face the kids again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charingworth, General Manager at Charingworth Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guests

Thank you for your comments and I’m glad we were able to move you to a quieter room, I have never heard the single track lane called the A1 before, but of course it is in use and I’m sorry the noise disturbed you.
Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, I will share these with the team here at the hotel. I’m sorry you felt let down by the size of the bar, as you say we do have two larger lounges very nearby where people can sit if the bar is full.
We have on a number of occasions stocked both draught ale and lagers, but have stopped as they are not popular with our guest and just don’t sell, so we settled on bottled lagers and 4 or 5 local bottled ales.
Please don’t hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to discuss any of your points in more details as we are always disappointed when guests don’t fully enjoy their stay with us.

Michael Eastick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews