We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless in Chipping Campden”
Review of Noel Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Noel Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I am a poor sleeper and would advise anyone of the same ilk to avoid Room 1...... Apart from being the first room up the stairs we were also next to set of fire doors and above reception and the coffee shop and on the main road which meant non stop noise. Various wedding revellers coming back to the hotel from 11pm - 2am meant I was kept awake until the last one had passed out (not the hotel's fault I know but the fact they had to all pass our room and go through the fire doors did not help) and then we heard every man and his dog get up and pass through the fire doors to come back down for breakfast. I know its a quaint old hotel with creaking floorboards etc but the room & bathroom was also rather dated/in need of a spruce up. If you want a good sleep (which it actually advertised you would have) I wouldn't stay in room 1.

Room Tip: Don't pick Room 1
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peace&Harmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Deputy General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

What a shame, please accept our apologies that you had a sleepless evening, given the opportunity I am sure we would have moved you to a different room, the one you had room one is in our top 3 most requested rooms by return guests, but everyone has individual requirements and I am confident next time we could accommodate you in a room you would prefer.
Please do call us soon to arrange your next booking the best price is ALWAYS to be had by calling us direct at the Noel Arms.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
(the Noel Arms and Cotswold House hotels)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
There are newer reviews for Noel Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

825 - 831 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this wonderfull hotel in Chipping Campden as part of a small group bus tour of the Cotswolds. This charming hotel has everthing going for it:
- Location - situated in the middle of the Cotswolds region, it is accessable to Stratford-upon-avon, Oxford and all the other places in the Cotswold region
- Staff - all the staff we encountered during our stay were polite and courteous, for whom nothing was too much trouble.
- Meals and bar - the breakfast was by menu options rather than a buffet style and this was a very welcome change. The bar area for an evening meal was just as inviting.

I would come to this hotel in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Deputy General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thank you for a wonderful review, your right our location is perfect for visiting many top places of interest, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
(the Noel Arms and Cotswold House hotels)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Just had a wonderful relaxing 2 night weekend break with dog.
Lovely welcome by reception on arrival and showed to our room which was a good size. We had tea & cakes in Sara's coffee shop and had the most delicious cakes. We ate in the hotel both nights, the food was as good as we remembered from our last vist, the lamb curry is still my favourite and well worth the 3 hour journey. Looking forward to returning
I wound definitely recommend this hotel fantastic location, wonderful staff , amazing food what more could you ask for !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cumbria2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Deputy General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

WOOF!!! The Noel Arms has two dog friendly rooms and welcome dogs in the pub bar, we are delighted you enjoyed the food, from cakes to curry we do our best to ensure you have a perfect stay
Please do call us soon to arrange your next booking the best price is ALWAYS to be had by calling us direct at the Noel Arms.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
(the Noel Arms and Cotswold House hotels)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Though we boarded elsewhere, we were practically at Noel Arms every day. Stopped at Sara's coffee shop every morning for coffee (because it was best in town; not watery like other's tried... i.e. Badgers down the street) and really enjoyed meals at Dover's Bar; cozy, comfortable, and bright. Food and service were both excellent, free wi-fi, and staff always friendly. Next time, we'll have to actually sleep there too!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salubria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Deputy General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

What a shame you stayed elsewhere, the Noel arms has beautiful rooms and am sure that as you loved the coffee shop and bar that you would have loved staying with us…………….maybe next time?
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
(the Noel Arms and Cotswold House hotels)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago with our two kids. We stayed in the family room, compact, but it had a little room on the side which had bunk beds that the kids absolutely loved. Situated on the high street of a lovely little town. We loved the coffee shop, great cakes and my daughter particularly loved the Lavender Macaroons!! I bake for a living..and apparently they are better than mummies! A fantastic experience, we were lucky enough to get some sun and enjoyed the outdoor seating. Ever so accommodating for our children, booster seats, kids menu, little hot chocolates. Our girls are 8 & 4 years old. We like to travel, but its hard. There is always some sort of stumbling block..no family room...no kids menu or some just don't want children. So it was great to finally find somewhere that not only accommodates but goes that little bit further. Outstanding service, great food, lovely location and well worth every penny. We would of been genuinly happy at double the price we payed. I am not into social networking and dont usually write reviews, but I do check this site when we go away. I think you will find it beneficial to know that this hotel is well equipped for children. However, next time we are leaving the kids with the in-laws in london and we will definitely be visiting the spa and maybe staying in one of the hot tub cottages they told us about at their hotel across the road.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleladyvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Deputy General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thank you to you and the family! Our family room is very popular, it is as you mention compact (when sleeping 4) but 3 fit perfectly, the Coffee Shop is very popular and we are delighted you loved the macaroons!
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
(the Noel Arms and Cotswold House hotels)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Fine front desk. Basic, clean, rooms, made even better due to an August promotion. We were surprised by the quality of the restaurant's food; the service was average. Breakfasts were a excellent in quality. WiFi service was free, although its reach throughout the entirety of the hotel was quite limited. Parking is free, although spaces are limited. If you are particularly sensitive noise awakening you, ask for a room away from the front (off the street).

Room Tip: If you are particularly sensitive noise awakening you, ask for a room away from the front (off the s...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProximitySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Deputy General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review we are delighted you liked the dinner and breakfast, parking we find is usually enough for all guests but if not our sister hotel 30 seconds walk away also has a car park.
Andrew the Noel Arms manager works hard to ensure everyone has a wonderful stay and he and the team look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
(the Noel Arms and Cotswold House hotels)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Come here for the curries as well as warm Cotswold hospitality from the friendly, efficient team. The welcome from an intelligent and attractive receptionist raised our sprits after our long walk here. We were offered a room without bath, and we needed a soak, so this was soon changed to a four-poster room with bath, smaller but charming, and with all the usual four-star facilities. The restaurant is rather special. Although a typical hotel menu is on offer, the Sri Lankan chef’s cuisine is renowned, and rightly so. We opted for a lamb curry and the seafood one. Both were subtly spiced and the best we have eaten outside India. A starter of devilled whitebait was crisp and delicious. There is even an egg curry option at breakfast, which I couldn’t resist – perfect! Don’t even think of staying anywhere else in Chipping Campden – especially if you’re a curry lover!

Room Tip: If you want a bath as well as shower, you may not get the best rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrishandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Deputy General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Thank you for commenting we have 4 star facilities, as a 3 star hotel this is especially pleasing we are delighted you enjoyed the curry, but don’t forget on your next visit we also offer curry for breakfast!
Andrew the Noel Arms manager works hard to ensure everyone has a wonderful stay and he and the team look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
(the Noel Arms and Cotswold House hotels)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,058 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,248 reviews
5.3 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noel Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noel Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £95 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Noel Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14th-Century Inn situated in the center of Chipping Campden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Noel Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noel Arms Chipping Campden
Hotel Noel Arms
Noel Arms Hotel Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing