We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected lovely stay...”
Review of Noel Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Noel Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I have to admit that on first seeing the hotel I was not expecting much, but from the very first welcome to the last this is a wonderful place to stay. The staff were excellent, headed up by a general manager who could be seen, but went about his work quietly and efficiently...I like that and I think the work that he does is reflected by his staff who were not only courteous, but knowledgeable.
The room was nice and big and had a massive bed....I waved to my wife every morning!
The food was the icing on the cake, beautifully cooked and prepared, both in the evening and the mornings. A really good selection of meat, fish and vegitarian if you wished.
We never tried the sister hotel opposite as we were very happy where we were.
A wonderful place to explore this great area of England...we shall be back to this hotel for sure and are looking forward to our next stay...thanks to you all at the Noel Arms.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the upgrade! Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

My partner and myself had a break at the Noel arms.Lovely location ,tired hotel,food ok,but breakfast was the best bit of the stay,due to the attention and help we received from Claire,our lovely waitress.Big thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reneemadeleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Chipping Campden is spectacular and this hotel (with its sister hotel opposite) is in the perfect location. We stayed in arguably the best room (with the 400 year old bed) overlooking the high street for two nights and it made for a perfect weekend base to explore the local area. Service very friendly and welcoming. Pre-prepared curry dishes by award-winning chef were great and the in-house coffee shop convenient for snacks during the day.

Room Tip: Book the (most expensive) room with the old bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We went to the Noel Arms for a weekend break and soon realised we had found an absolute gem!
From being greeted on arrival, afternoon tea, a most excellent choice of real ales, great food ( experiencing the curries is a must), superb value, great location .... we enjoyed our stay so much that we will definitely be returning.
All wasn't completely exceptional however as our bed room was somewhat tired and the shower dribbled water out!
With such great staff I'm sure that some room improvements will be made it over the next few months... See you again soon Noel Arms!

Room Tip: Check whether been refurbished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveatsaughall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at Noel House Hotel with friends for a 2 night stay in December 2013. We had a wonderful time. All the staff were welcoming, friendly and professional. We felt they went the extra mile for their guests enjoyment. Our room was clean, cosy and comfortable and we slept very well on the spacious bed. A highlight of our stay was definitely the food! The menu gave plenty of choice without being too over-facing and everything we ordered was tasty, freshly prepared and well-cooked - a testament to the chef and kitchen staff. We had delightful service in the restaurant, coffee shop and at breakfast. Delicious.

It was great to see such a hands-on approach from the Manager who was interested in our views, attentive and accessible.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this unpretentious, guest-centred hotel where the emphasis was on good service and friendliness. Thank you to the manager and all his staff. We will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stopped for lunch because had read an award winning chef?
We did not choose the cheaper lunch menu as my partner wanted to try "Triple Fried Chips" and Haddock cooked with Ale Batter.

The meal was a dreadful The Chips were not crisp but soggy the Haddock was crisp in parts but again soggy in other parts. The polite server asked if everything OK. I explained the problems which could be seen by what was left on the plate. He said sorry I will left the chef know!
We waited for a response but zero I paid the bill and on leaving the young waiter said have a good afternoon!
I can honestly say they were possibly the poorest Haddock & Chips ever, My meal the Curry was also very average. Certainly not a place to recommend as there are much better in the Village

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank golfer1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Quaint Hotel with friendly service in wonderful location sums this lovely hotel up.
We stayed here for a 2 night midweek break on a great value online deal with a 3 month as our first break away.
Chipping Campden is proper Christmas Chocolate Box Cotswolds and beautiful for it and the Noel Arms is right amongst it all.
With the interior decked out for Christmas and the real fires blazing it was a very welcoming arrival. Our room was lovely and spotless with a great bathroom and a big comfy bed. The shower above the bath would be reason alone for some to book this hotel as it was so powerful and warm. The staff provided us a travel cot within minutes of asking.
We ate in the hotel restaurant and was given prompt, attentive service and the food was delicious. The next morning we had a great breakfast and the staff were very kind to and empathetic of 3 month old and this really helped us relax.
Chipping Campden is excellently located to get out in the Cotswolds and see villages like Stow, Broughton and Broadway whilst having a lovely one to get back to yourselves. That night we ate at the very popular monthly curry night in the hotel. The curries were delicious and easy to see why they're award-winning.
After one more delicious breakfast it was time to checkout after a marvellous stay that feel compelled to recommend.

Room Tip: Our courtyard room was perfect for our needs but we did hear about the great 4 poster bedroom on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juvejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,121 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#4 of 6 in Broadway
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,103 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,356 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noel Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noel Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £73 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Noel Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14th-Century Inn situated in the center of Chipping Campden. Coffee Shop with selection of cakes. Inn with wines, gin and real ales. Restaurant and pub classics served 7 days a week. We have open fires in the winter, outside seating in the summer, and something for everyone on the menu all day every day. Our 28 en suite bedrooms are well furnished, and there is free wifi throughout the building. The Noel can cater for private dinners as well as being able to offer accommodation and conference facilities in partnership with our sister hotel opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Noel Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noel Arms Chipping Campden
Hotel Noel Arms
Noel Arms Hotel Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing