We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of what you need!”
Review of Noel Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Noel Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights last week. When we arrived, we were shown around & taken to our room by a very helpful receptionist. Throughout our stay, we found the staff to be very helpful, particularly the lady who's on breakfast duty. She was fabulous & really looks after the guests.

The room (Number 24)was functional & had everything you'd expect-tea, coffee, water, toiletries etc. However, the room was VERY VERY dark & gloomy. It only had 1 small window but did have 3 lamps & another light. Having said that, I did not want to spend much time in it the first evening but by the 3rd day we kind of got used to it. As I was with my Mum who has a stick, we got a room on the lower floor at the back of the hotel, so it was really easy to walk out of the conservatory or from the car so it was great from that point of view! There was also a massive cobweb above the bed! Our hair dryer didn't work & we were really impressed that a new one was brought straight round.

We ate in the hotel 1 night but we didn't think that the food or the service was that good. We ordered & received our meal then no one came to us until long after we finished our meal. We didn't manage to get our drinks that we had ordered either.

The things that made the hotel for us were the public areas, the great location & of course the breakfasts! We enjoyed sitting in front of the fire reading with a cappuccino!

Having read other reviews on here about the number of stairs & that the hotel is a bit up & down, I emailed the hotel 2 days before our visit to say my mum couldn't do lots of stairs, the hotel's reply was very prompt!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor if you have mobility issues!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millington93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOELARMS, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear millington93

Thank you for your review. We are please that you found our staff and especially the breakfast team to be very helpful. And it is a great spot for a paper and Cappuccino in front of our fires.

We are disappointed that you did not have a great experience at dinner. As you can read from previous reviews this is not normal for us to give anything under good service and the food usually gets rave reviews from our guests. So we are very sorry for this.

Our housekeeping team are also great and unfortunately things like hairdryers can go at anytime but happy to see your request was responded to quite promptly. There is no excuse for cobwebs and where we do dust all the time it seems this one was missed.

Our team are always happy to help with any requests for accommodation and we are glad we were able to make things a little easier for your Mum.

We do hope to see you again.

Regards

Andrew & Team Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
There are newer reviews for Noel Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

Once again the staff at the Noel surpassed themselves with their cheery and helpful nature.We were visiting Campden (my childhood home) on the sad occasion of my mothers memorial service.but being surrounded by smiling and happy staff made the weekend a lot easier...
Both evenings we ate from the restaurant menu and could not fault the quality..The lamb was superb.The room was beautifully appointed and the bed comfortable.We took our dog Jack and were blessed with good weather for our walks on Dovers hill..We shall be returning again soon...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOELARMS, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Antony S

It was great to have you with us again. We are glad our team were able to make things easier for you on such an emotional day.

The kitchen team are pleased that you enjoyed your meal on both occasions and although the whether was not arranged by us we are happy Jack got to visit Dovers hill again.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Andrew & Team Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights courtesy of an 'Amazon Local' deal. We approached with a little trepidation having had a poor experience with another 'deal' (but not from Amazon, it must be said) of a similar nature. On arrival, we were welcomed and booked in by a most cheerful, chatty and helpful receptionist who took us through to our room, explaining all the other parts of the hotel as she went. Her attitude was typical of ALL the staff who we met throughout the stay - courteous, helpful, chatty, informative. Breakfast was amazing with an extensive range of options and pretty much 'as much as you want'. Dinner was extremely good on the one night that we dined in with a good choice on all courses, all well-cooked and beautifully presented - and served in the aforementioned helpful manner! Our room was comfortable, clean and tidy and well maintained - and fully serviced on both days. This represented a very good value for money stay (given the 'deal' we had) but I would certainly consider the Noel Arms for a future stay should we wish to re-visit this part of the world and would unreservedly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOELARMS, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear snapperdavid

Thank you for your wonderful review. It sounds like you enjoy all aspects of your stay which is great news. We look after all our guests in the same way here, no matter how they booked. All our guests are important to us and we consider ourselves to always be good value. We appreciate you noting this and also your unreserved recommendation.

We would love you to return.

Best wishes

Andrew & Team Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We enjoyed a very pleasant 2 day break at the Noel Arms thanks to the very accommodating staff and a quality room and public areas. Excellent breakfast! We will definitely stay there the next time we visit the Cotswolds. Thank you Noel Arms Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOELARMS, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Dasmo

Thank you and your welcome. Our breakfasts are great, made with the fantastic local produce we have on offer here. We are glad you liked your room and our public areas.

We do hope to see you again when your next in the Cotswolds and please give us a call direct when you do.

Thank you again

Andrew & Team Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

comfy spacious rooms in a lovely albeit out of the way location.bubbly,passionate & enthusiastic staff helps turn a meal into the complete dinning experience with a good selection at the bar incluring a wide selection of local & international beers, wines & some dazzling cocktail options all in all i would rate this 9/10 overall and my partner & I will defo be going back!!:-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMan19752014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOELARMS, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear GMan19752014

Thank you for your great review. Being a traditional coaching inn and the nature of trade here we don't have extensive cocktail lists, but we are happy to make anything for you providing we have the ingredients. I remember your stay and you did indeed test my cocktail knowledge. I am glad you both enjoyed them.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Andrew & Team Noel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have just enjoyed a very brief stay at this lovely hotel.
The room was clean, cosy and quiet and the food superb.
We had first class service from all the staff who could not
have been more helpful. Great location can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOELARMS, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Terry P

Thank you for your 5 star review. Its does mean a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay, our food and wonderful service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Andrew & Team Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We agree with previous reviewers about the friendly and helpful staff at this old coaching Inn in one of the Cotswolds best villages. The breakfast and the dinner were delicious and freshly cooked and a good menu, with tasty curries. Any little query was sorted out in a positive way.
We had a lovely room overlooking the square, and felt this was very good value for money.
My only comment would be that the decor downstairs was less atmospheric than the bedroom, and it was more functional. We avoided the coffee shop ( watching our waistlines) but it was nice to see this being used by locals. This achieved a good mix between age groups with the wifi hotspot.
The manager and all staff went the 'extra mile' for us as hotel guests. Thank you and well done!

Room Tip: We had a superior double. Good sized room and large bathroom with two hand basins. We liked the fro...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOELARMS, General Manager at Noel Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Judith M

Thank you for your lovely review. All our team here are friendly and like to go the extra mile to make a guest fell as relaxed as possible with us.

The coffee shop does get quite busy and is a little social hub during the day that is used by visitors to the town, our local guests and those who stay with us. Chef does prepare one or two things in the cake counter that help to not watch the waistline but most are fabulously naughty!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.

Regards

Andrew & Team Noel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,058 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,033 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,248 reviews
5.3 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noel Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noel Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £95 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Noel Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14th-Century Inn situated in the center of Chipping Campden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Noel Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noel Arms Chipping Campden
Hotel Noel Arms
Noel Arms Hotel Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing