We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Country Inn”
Review of Noel Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Noel Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had weekend at the Noel Arms. It is a very Characterful place with a lot of history in the middle of a picture postcard village. The rooms are quirky but comfortable and reasonably well kitted out. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, and the food is excellent - large portions, good choices and great value for money. The building shows it's age in places and is a little frayed around the edges, but it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Every room is different
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulAberdeen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had a very unfortunate experience whilst staying at the Noël Arms Hotel in March. I had £2000 cash and credit cards stolen from my room whilst dining in the hotels restuarant. The hotel does not have any room safes and no CCTV. My room was ransacked without any forced break in. I was not the only person to suffer that night, several other rooms were ransacked and total looses were in excess of £8000 plus credit cards. I have not written a report earlier as I have been waiting the Police Report that is inconclusive even though it is not the first time such an incident has occurred. Needless to say I will not be returning there and would strongly advise any visitors to be vigilant.

Room Tip: If you have to stay there ask for a room well away from the fire exit. This should be closed but is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location in the Cotswolds and a good base to tour from. Friendly service with good food and access to sister hotel facilities across the street. Homely bar with 3 real ales. Good breakfast with wide choice. Nice little coffee shop in lobby. Room was OK but paper thin walls meant that I could hear the noisy woman's cough from next door! Only real downside, so take your ear plugs!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrebleOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just spent May Bank Holiday at Noel House Hotel. Loved the atmosphere in the hotel. Very friendly, interesting, busy hotel in heart of the village. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, food good, with different areas to sit and relax. Nothing too much trouble. Chipping Camden is such a pretty area, with lots of interest and peaceful walks. Only downside is the Hotel could do with a little updating. Our room at the front was very spacious but very dated. With a bit of tender, loving care an already great hotel could become absolutely fabulous.

Room Tip: Request back room as noise in front room 3 from upstairs and road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186299Getaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Beautiful old building in center of one of the most beautiful Cotswold villages. There was a large car park at the rear with a lovely conservatory and outdoor deck for drinks or meals. The staff was very helpful and welcoming, and indeed we met a variety of friendly people staying there, which made the atmosphere relaxed and hospitable. We felt as if we were part of the village, not in a resort. The facilities are a bit uneven, with some areas more recently decorated. Our double room in the back was a bit cramped, which was fine for one night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beck542014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The staff were excellent ,particularly on reception and at breakfast but the hotel is shabby with threadbare carpet up the main staircase which led to our "superior" room which was dingy with worn dirty easy chairs and old junk furniture . The main bedroom door and bathroom door were badly fitting . The lighting is awful which the staff acknowledged. A great shame as the hotel is in a prime location and has potential. The charge was £175 per night but was reduced without argument to £150 as a result of our complaint which was to the credit of the well run reception staff. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Arrived with 3 friends, and after reading reviews, requested a back room, however all rooms were booked and we had been allocated room 1. Bit dated upholstery and stair carpet worn on every step, however room was spacious, light and a kingsize bed with large clean bathroom, although the shower glass did nothing to prevent water cascading onto the floor. Room was right on the main high street and the first night was fine. However, the second night, the stories of creaking floorboards really came true. Now I know its an old hotel, but with someone upstairs walking about around 2 a.m. then again at 6 a.m. it woke me up. Why they were walking around and around at that time... also the local drunks, seem to congregate on the bench opposite and were putting the world to right from midnight until creaking floorboard man/woman started at 2 a.m. Staff did nothing to help either situation. On top of that the maid was hoovering, yes hoovering at 7.12 a.m. on a Sunday morning!! Really overpriced drinks in bar, ok if not standard pub food, served as though it was going to taste better. For £195 per night, this hotel is charging way too much, despite location. Staff, well, can i just say, dont ask any of the girls to bag up the chocolate or cakes. On the 3 occassions we purchased them (between four of us to take home) they added up the chocolates wrongly, then overcharged. Seriously, how hard is 4 chocolates for a £1, then 50 p each. So frustrating each time. I didnt find anyone in or around the Cotswolds particularly helpful or friendly to be honest, and would think twice about returning, but suffice to say, I would NOT return to the Noel Arms, you can get far superior accommodation with better food, better room and friendlier staff for half the price . Room 26 at the back was small and poky and very dark and faced rightonto the carpark oh and rooms were way to hot and the window would not stay open.

Room Tip: Avoid front back room, low floor rooms and rooms facing the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,065 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,046 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,270 reviews
5.3 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,967 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noel Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noel Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £96 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Noel Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14th-Century Inn situated in the center of Chipping Campden. Coffee Shop with selection of cakes. Inn with wines, gin and real ales. Restaurant and pub classics served 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Noel Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noel Arms Chipping Campden
Hotel Noel Arms
Noel Arms Hotel Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing