We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay”
Review of Noel Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Noel Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed at the Noels Arms on Monday the 23rd of June in room 15. Hotel is centrally located and ideal for courses to CCFRA locally.

If I need to be really fussy my only issue was no wifi in rear rooms as only availble within front of the building and in bar area. Breakfast was very good and evening meal (fish and chips) also of a very high standard. Will certainlly stay again when in the area thanks to the staff

Room Tip: pay extra for room at front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gow768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Although Noel Arms is in the center of Chipping Camden, be prepared for less than expected and definitely quaint! The furnishings in our room were worn to their last thread. Our room was stuffy and hot. It faced the general parking lot and central thoroughfare for the village so if we opened our window for any relief we had to deal with noise-so ask for one of the rooms in the back. Lots of tour buses unloaded right in the parking lot. The updated bathroom was ideal and in total contrast to the room, but they were stingy with the toiletries. Thank goodness the staff was great and went out of they way in the dining room and pub to make us comfortable. Nisa one of the waiters was wonderful. The outside terrace perfect for lunch,reading and relaxing. It is on the backside of the hotel. The do provide free parking. The hotel was near the walking trails. Loved the locals and the village!.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had booked the Noel Arms for dinner this evening and decided in the afternoon to have a snack and a drink. On entering the building, we stood at the counter to order and waited for some acknowledgement and recognition. Eventually we were asked for our order. We ordered coffee, iced tea, tiffin & millionaires shortbread. The coffee was fine but the iced tea was like coloured water. The shortbread was dreadful - the caramel was bitty & runny and the tiffin was dry. It was low quality patisserie generally. My fiancé explained that the tea was awful and eventually another was brought over which was worse.....vile!! We also asked to see a dinner menu, which never arrived. We decided to cancel our dinner booking and weren't even asked why. Not a good experience and certainly would not be recommended by me!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenMillthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We booked a 2 nights; 3 day short break at Noel Arms Hotel and our room was very nice indeed. It was comfortable; clean and quiet. The bathroom had the best shower system I've ever used but I cannot, for the life of me, imagine why they have decided not to have 1 single hook or chair anywhere in the bathroom that you can put your bathrobe or clothes whilst you're having a shower. Unfortunately, everything has to be dropped on the floor or strewn across the loo. There is nowhere to store shower gels; shampoo or conditioner and that too has to be left on the floor at the side of the bath. It's such a simple thing but really makes a big difference.

Although we had booked a table some weeks before our arrival, there was a lot of confusion as which room we were to dine in and the waitress that we spoke to was a bit abrupt and unhelpful about it. We were shown to a table in one of the dining rooms but it was so sticky and dirty that our glasses and cutlery stuck to it when we put them down. We eventually asked to be moved to a cleaner table. We only dined in on one night but, quite frankly, it was such an expensive disappointment that we didn't bother again.

The breakfast we chose on day one was mushrooms on toast but it was soooo heavily salted and heavy with garlic that it was left pretty much untouched. The second breakfast of "full English" was almost as bad. The bacon was so overcooked that it couldn't be cut with a knife at all and the hash brown potatoes were cold and tasted uncooked. We ended up with a pretty poor English breakfast which is surprising for a quintessentially English hotel that seems to cater for visitors from all over the world who would probably enjoy a properly cooked English breakfast if it was offered. They have a good selection of cereals; fruits and cooked meats and cheeses if you want a Continental breakfast instead but the "full English" just wasn't good at all.

Room Tip: Try to choose one in the annexe at the back. They're very quiet and have their own entrance away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WixEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I had a two night stay this week at the Noel Arms Hotel, its in a great location right in the centre of Chipping Campden and parking was not a problem. The bar and resteraunt area was good with a welcoming atmosphere and good menu which allows you to relax after a hard day.
The rooms were quaint and retained their traditional feel of the hotel whilst everything you need from a modern perspective was there if you needed it.

The breakfast was outstanding, cooked to perfection and the sevice was excellent - well done to the breakfast team!.
My only Minor negative was the Internet which is very important as mobile phone signals are very difficult to get in the area. Whilst it was free (Which I personally expect it should be in all hotels) you could only access it in the lobby area which meant if you wanted to work or SKYPE etc, it was noisy and too public, the internet speed was very poor on occaisions which made it difficult to do anything at pace - only a minor gripe but maybe something for the Hotel to consider to improve to make peoples stay even better.
I would reccomend this hotel as the service levels in particular are friendly and efficient - if you have an opportunity to take coffee and a slice of the delicious cakes they sell in the lobby please do so as they are delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a 2 night stay at the Noel Arms, which is a traditional inn in an historic village. Our room was comfortable with character and the odd creaking floorboard. The food was good, and the staff were very helpful and accommodating - because we had a deadline, breakfast was arranged 30 minutes early for us on our last morning

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were very impressed with the location of the Noel Arms, for both strolling around Chipping Campden and for reaching the wider Cotswolds. The staff were really nice and helpful. The building itself is very very old, so dont be surprised if floorboards creek and some of the decor is a little old, again remember this is an ancient building. The food was very good, the evening meal especially so. Pricey, yes but so is the area as a whole.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4,932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,057 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,302 reviews
5.3 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,998 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noel Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noel Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £90 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Noel Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14th-Century Inn situated in the center of Chipping Campden. Coffee Shop with selection of cakes. Inn with wines, gin and real ales. Restaurant and pub classics served 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Noel Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noel Arms Chipping Campden
Hotel Noel Arms
Noel Arms Hotel Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing