We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,166)
Filter reviews
1,166 results
Traveller rating
465
484
146
51
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
465
484
146
51
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee shopcurrysister hotellovely hotelaward winningfour posterhigh streetfamily roomplenty of hot watercakesold buildingevening mealshort breakfull englishstayed here for one nightboth nightscooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,166 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hotel is set in what must be one of the most beautiful villages in the country and surrounded by glorious Cotswolds countryside. And just a short drive from Moreton in the Marsh, Stow on the Wold, Bourton-on-the-Water etc.
Very warm welcome on arrival and as this was a romantic getaway the room was filled with a excellent flowers, Prosecco and chocolates.
Being as the hotel is very old with a lot of history the rooms are full of character, comfortable and compact. Room had a double bed, cabinets and wardrobe plus a flat screen TV. The bed was very comfortable. Refurbished bathroom with toilet, sink, combined bath and shower. The breakfasts were fantastic with a good choice, I had the full English both days and struggled to finish. We ate in the restaurant both nights, and excellent steak and chips the first night. We were lucky enough that our second night tied up with the monthly Curry night and experience not to miss. The word had obviously got an around as the place was packed and the meal didn't dissapiont, probably the best curry I've ever experienced.
The village itself is full of Cotswolds charm and very photogenic. Loads of places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bigbruv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just came back from a lovely 1 night stay in the gorgeous Cotswolds and we had a lovely stay here. It's an extremely cosy little place, with lots of nostalgic little touches. The room was spacious, clean and tidy, and the bathroom also very nice. Breakfast was gorgeous with so much choice, absolutely delicious. My only complaint was being a bank holiday weekend it was noisy,with pubs emptying all around, and people shouting from downstairs and outside on the street until the early hours so just be aware if you're going on a weekend. The floors are also very creaky as it's an old hotel, this is part of its charm but when some walks passed your room it is very loud and feels almost like they are going to come in, I woke up a few times in the night. Overall though it was an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel an pub in a lovely little village! Rooms clean and spacious! Chipping Camden is lovely for a taste of the Cotswolds! Was staying there for work but would definitely return! Ideal for a couple break

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really lovely hotel with charm. Lovely food and catered well for dietary needs. Service a little slow on Saturday night but it was very busy. Looked after our four legged friend very well and great gin!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank NewcastleMissysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is in a great location. Check in was very quick and we were shown directly to our room. The room was clean but quite small. The bathroom had a bath with a shower over and not a separate cubicle. Complimentary Toiletries were provided. A shower cap was available from reception. Our room was next to the staff room and during the early hours of the morning we did hear the creaking door open and close several times.

The reception staff were very efficient and provided all the information we asked for.

We eat lunch and dinner at the hotel. The food was good. There were plenty of options at Breakfast. On Sunday evening there was a folk band playing in the bar and the atmosphere was quite lively. There is a small lounge area which was a very pleasant area to sit in and have a drink and chat.

There was adequate parking in the hotel’s rear car park.

The Wi-Fi was very poor.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank tracyh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews