We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Restaurant”
Review of Noel Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Noel Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 January 2011

With not a great deal to do in Chipping Campden in January this hotels restaurant was surprisingly pleasant (hotel restaurants can be disappointing ) We were seated and served before the restaurant was meant to be open, excellent service from the staff who were I believe a little understaffed and a very nice meal for a reasonable price . I would consider staying at this hotel overnight if in this area again .

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosie162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    428
    132
    47
    18
See reviews for
121
623
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

The service was wonderful and the rooms quite good at this hotel. The location and quality of the food makes this a great place to stay however. Would only recommend if you got discounted rates for the stay, the full prices are pretty steep for the quality of the rooms. Recommend eating at the hotel one night and at one of the many great restaurants on the street the other nights.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Our room (26) was on the ground floor of an annexe with cars parked outside the windows, not a problem in November when it was dark and curtains drawn most of the time we were in the room but felt overlooked in daylight hours, it was furnished with dark wood and heavy curtains, very cosy for the winter but a tad claustrophobic in summer. There seemed to be no way to the restaurant without going through the car park – fortunately the torrential rain had abated by the time we went to dinner. We were using Tesco vouchers and did wonder if this is a ‘Tesco’ room especially as it is adjacent to the outside door to the annexe which slammed every time another guest entered or exited. However it was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was nice except for tricky shower thermostat - lovely scented toiletries.
The staff were helpful and pleasant when asked though not forthcoming of their own accord.
Our first dinner was poor - overdone roast pork and roast potatoes which had both been reheated from the day before. This was redeemed on the second night by excellent rib-eye steaks. The full English on the first morning - we too had a chuckle about the half a mushroom , I didn’t want the sausage or black pudding and wasn’t offered anything by way of substitute so the plate looked a little empty! By contrast the scrambled egg and smoked salmon on the second day was very generous!!
Lovely town and comfortable hotel for a weekend break but wouldn’t stay on their normal rates.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekender79584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Just come back from a weekend break at the hotel. Very pleased with our choice. Got a good rate from Last Minute - think it would have been a bit overpriced if we had paid the full rate. Excellent service from Reception, especially this morning when the hairdryer stopped working. Went and asked for another and receptionist delivered it herself in 2 mins. Room was lovely, bed nice and firm and we had a great night's sleep. For a terrific meal at a fab price, try the Kings Arms, directly across the road. It was like something off Master Chef and cheaper than we paid for one course each and 2 glasses of wine at the Italian. Beware sitting near log fire though - we were nearly down to our vests! Lounge area of Noel Arms great for a lazy morning reading the free papers. would have been even nicer if the fire had been lit as it was a very cold day. Try the choccies from the coffee shop - yum yum. Will go back in spring/early summer when we can get out more.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martocklass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Booked a regular room with the upgrade and when we got there Kelly at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. She walked us to our room and explained that it had been the master bedroom of the home. The bed in that room was made for the room and it was dated 1567. The folklore around this hotel says that King Charles II once stayed here...so we probably slept where royalty slept!.

Great public areas in the hotel and we booked a table in the conservatory for dinner. We got to watch Guy Fawkes burn w/ the townsfolk and then enjoyed an excellent dinner of curry and guiness stew. Everything was of top quality and the rest. was lovely as well.

Great location right in the middle of town and very hospitable staff make this a gem. Its rated 3 stars, but they treated us better than some of the 4 stars we stayed in during our trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badgerhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich in England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed in Room 12 which was very comfy and clean. Missed out on a curry because it was so busy and very popular. Had meal in the evening and sat in the conservatory which was very comfortable. Great meal!
The breakfast was hilarious, a friend had stayed before and had a giggle at the breakfasts. We too asked for mushrooms and tomatoes and got 1 mushroom and half a tomato, she said we were lucky as she only got half a mushroom. On the saturday, we only got half a mushroom each BUT it was tasty and well cooked. we filled up on toast and cereal.
The lovely gentleman who checked us in and out was wonderful, very kind and efficient and an asset to the hotel , Thankyou to him!!
We would definately come again. thanks again

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madame-Dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

This is a lovely spot to stay in Chipping Campden. We were touring the Cotswalds and the tour included one night in the Noel Arms. We loved it. The room was well-appointed, beds were comfortable, and bathroom more than adequate. The food at dinner and breakfast was superb. Stroll around the town, too, to see the medieval market and nice little shops.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,026 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
996 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,852 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,160 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noel Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noel Arms Hotel

Property: Noel Arms Hotel
Address: High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Noel Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 14th-Century Inn situated in the center of Chipping Campden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Noel Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noel Arms Chipping Campden
Hotel Noel Arms
Noel Arms Hotel Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing