We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage with a wonderful garden”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Croftsbrook

 Croftsbrook holiday  cottage with its front door to left in central  U shaped courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 Croftsbrook holiday  cottage with its front door to left in central  U shaped courtyard
The dining table in the red living room, Croftsbrook Croftsbrook red living room, sitting dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Croftsbrook holiday  cottage with its front door to left in central  U shaped courtyard
The dining table in the red living room, Croftsbrook
Croftsbrook red living room, sitting dining room
A 3rd bedrm available for +2 guests at extra charge, please enquire.
Bedroom No.2 Twin beds
Bedroom No.1. The king double in small bedroom, bdrm. No.1
Upstair bathroom and shower over the bath
The downstairs shower room
Croftsbrook garden dining & relaxing for six
Driveway & wisteria clad central entrance  Courtyard at Croftsbrook
Snow at Croftsbrook, north wing to left  and south wing to right of central courtyard
The garden has a variety of quiet spaces to sit
Croftsbrook from the field and brookside footpath, summer.
Hay making time at Croftsbrook.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
kczek
Offenbach
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Lovely cottage with a wonderful garden”
Reviewed 12 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Croftsbrook is situated at the end of the highstreet of Chipping Campden, which makes it an ideal place for either walking in the lovely surroundigs or going by car all around the area and visiting the well known cotswolds locations. The cottage itself ist very well equipped; David W. Birch, the owner of the cottage is very helpful and friendly. Being himself an artist, the house shows beautiful pictures in every room. As the cottage is located in a quiet surrounding (the main and highly enjoyable sounds one hears are made by sheep), it is a marvellous opportunity to take the meals in the secluded garden as often as the weather allows for it. We were two persons and stayed at Croftsbrook for 2 weeks; it was an awful mistake not planning on making it three.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2018
Thank you for making such an appreciative review of Croftsbrook. So pleased you liked the cottage so much. Hoping you may come again sometime. Best regards, David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
809angie
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A lovely Christmas in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 9 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Croftsbrook enabled us to enjoy a lovely family Christmas in beautiful Chipping Campden. The property was very well equipped with everything we needed and also prettily decorated for Christmas - thank you very much indeed David and Annabel

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review your Christmas stay. It was a pleasure having you and your party staying at Croftsbrook and we very much hope we may see you all again. Thanks and best wishes for 2018,
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Croftsbrook Week”
Reviewed 24 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Our second visit to Croftsbrook was as pleasant as our first. The house is clean and very well equipped. There are lovely gardens, interesting birds and many sights to see in the area. We enjoyed the time the owner took to tell about things of local interest. We are looking forward to a return visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2017
Thank you for your friendliness and for taking the time to write such a pleasant review. Also thank you for leaving the cottage in such perfect condition and being such good guests. It would be a great pleasure to have you stay at Croftsbrook again which we too look forward to.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Len K
1 review
“Two great months in Chipping Campden”
Reviewed 18 November 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed the months of September and October at Croftsbrook. It was our second stay. We previously had visited for one month in the Spring of 2016 and loved the contrast with Fall. For its size and comfort, Croftsbrook cannot be beat in Chipping Campden. While one may find trendier or more recently renovated holiday cottages, for a long-term stay, Croftsbrook provides everything in comfort and accommodation that you need at a reasonable cost. The parking was a necessity for us as we wanted to wander by car. Croftsbrook was our base and because of its reasonable price, we could spend a number of nights away in South Wales, Devon and London. But we always looked forward to our return to Croftsbrook. David, it was lovely to see you again and we enjoyed viewing your four panel watercoulor of Warwick Castle. As a sometimes watercolor artist myself, I really can admire your skill. All the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2017
It was a pleasure having you stay at Croftsbrook again and we are pleased you found it so convenient and comfortable. We enjoyed your 4 week stay last year 2016 and were delighted you chose Croftsbrook to accommodate you for an 8 week stay this year, really the best recommendation possible . It was so good to see you again and hopefully you may choose us again.
Thank you, we greatly enjoyed the wine and spirits and other goodies you kindly left for us. Very best wishes and thanks again,
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillGrego...
Casteau, Belgium
2 reviews
“A great holiday at the Croftsbrook”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We, my wife, her 2 sisters and I, stayed at Croftsbrook from 28 July until the 4th of August 2017. From arrival until departure we had a great time and most importantly “we felt at home”. The cottage was as advertised. All we needed was available, beds were made, it was clean, excellent Wifi connection, private parking, quiet area and only a few minutes walk from the centre of the beautiful ancient little town of Chipping Campden. Apparently ‘Chipping’ means ‘market town’ and is most probably a derivation of the word, ‘cheaping’.
I was very pleased to have met Dennis, better known as Dennis the builder, when the girls were shopping. Dennis maintains the WW1 and WW2 monuments. He saw me looking at the poppies and messages on the wreaths and we had a chat about Ypres and Waterloo in Belgium. Places and surroundings he had visited, and where I have been too. What I found also interesting is that he invited me to see his museum and especially his American museum. So proud that he had been able to visit 41 of all the American states. Regret the fact that I have not been able to meet up with him in the Volunteers bar that Saturday evening.
We also had dinner at the Red Lion Inn and Lygon Arms Hotel. Both restaurants serve good food at a reasonable price.
During our stay we visited: Bourton on the water, Sudeley Castle, Winchcombe, Broadway, Burford, Bibury, Cirencester, Witney and Oxford.
On Wednesday evening we met David, the owner of Croftsbrook. We had already admired his paintings in the cottage but now we got a first insight in his latest project, a five panel watercolour painting, overall size 1m. x 3.3m., almost ready for framing. Wow David, you are a true artist and we hope to see a picture or link to your final product. So impressive. Even my wife who is an artist too was impressed about all the details such as your family, the Bentley, and so it goes on. Unfortunately, due to other commitments, the meet and greet was short but could have lasted for hours.
To conclude, our visit to Croftsbrook was a success, although too short. I should have stayed at least a week longer, because there is so much to see and discover in this area.
And last but not least I wish to thank David for his hospitality and wish him all the best and continued success in the future of Croftsbook holiday cottage.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Very many thanks for all the time and thought taken in making such a comprehensive and nice review of Croftsbrook and Chipping Campden. I'm so pleased you all had a great holiday and I hope we may see you all at Croftsbrook again sometime. I enjoyed our brief meeting greatly too.
Best wishes and thanks,
David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charley_r...
Naperville, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Offers the perfect balance - Cotswolds charm with comfortable amenities”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

First, Chipping Campden turned out to be the perfect place for us to spend our month in the Cotswolds. As all travel articles state, it's the quintessential Cotswolds village - quaint architecture with 6 pubs, all offering excellent pub food, as well as 2 convenience marts proving all essential grocery and home supplies. However, Chipping Camden isn't overrun with tour buses and other tourists like other nearby towns of equal or larger size. This was the perfect place for us to base our daily journeys throughout this region of England.

Next, we feel very fortunate to have chosen Croftsbrook as our rental cottage. During our 4 week stay it comfortably housed 2 of us, then 4 of us, and finally 5 total people for our final week. Ample space for eating, sleeping or just relaxing.

Location was ideal, as well. While on the very edge of town, we were able to experience the feel of the Cotswolds countryside, particularly with the herd of sheep grazing nearby. But, no need to drive to town. Of the 5 pubs we regularly frequented, the closest was a 7 minute walk, while the furthest was 12 minutes away by foot. The two convenience marts sit between these 2 pubs.

Last and equally important is the host/landlord. David was most accommodating, continually reaching out to assure that all our needs were being met. Seldom did we need anything additional, however, as this cottage was fully stocked with linens, towels, kitchen and cleaning supplies.

While it's always nice to get home, we will definitely reflect back on our time here, both inside the cottage, as well as outside in the garden with cocktails.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Thank you CR and KR for your excellent and comprehensive review of Croftsbrook.We are delighted you enjoyed you stay so much. Thank you also for taking the time to write a review and for being such pleasant guests and for some very kind and good feed back which is always welcome to improve further our guests experience. We very much hope we may see you again. Best wishes, David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 May 2017
It was a pleasure to see you for your second stay at Croftsbrook. Thank you for taking the time to make a review which is much appreciated. We hope we may see you at Croftsbrook yet again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing