We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try The Cheesy Crumpet Platter”

Badger's Hall tea room
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: old-fashioned English tea room which also serves meals
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Try The Cheesy Crumpet Platter”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

After a good potter around the village we called in at the Badger's Hall and plumped for the cheesy crumpet platter for two. This consisted of cheesy crumpets, buttered toasted tea cake, scones with cream and jam and a nice large slice of cake. Plenty to go at with our chosen drinks.
Quality excellent and service very efficient. Lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AleksHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    96
    24
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Tea”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Lovely little tea room with the best scones and pastries. Great ambience as well. Stopped here after a day long walk and enjoyed the friendly service and fare.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MequonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cream tea delightful”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Everything from floor to ceiling, edible or not. Great atmosphere. Just the 'tea-time' menu and service that is us at our best. Faultless.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

No complaints about the food - we had cottage pie and the Yorkshire pudding and both were excellent. The service however was very disappointing, especially considering that this is a tourist town and there's no lack of competition. I echo the other reviewers' comments about the poor attitude of the waiting staff. After our main course plates were taken away, no one came to check if we wanted a dessert or coffee or anything else so we sat and waited and waited. In the end we got the bill, left and went to another cafe. Such a shame because the food is good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nerys A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“When we travel we look for a tea room.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

After two days of traveling around the countryside, we wanted to find a tea room before we left for Cornwall. We found the Badger's Tea Room down the street and decided to go have lunch there. We were very happy with the food and the service. It is an old place and does not have a lot of elbow room but then that is the charm of old places and this is exactly what we look for. I definitely would go again if we ever to get to Chipping Campden again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ko1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Badger's Hall tea room also viewed

Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
Chipping Campden, Cotswolds
 

Been to Badger's Hall tea room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing