We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice for a night....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really nice for a night....”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night - kind of a quiet getaway after a frantic month of running around England and catching up with friends and rellies. We loved it - the hotel itself was impeccably clean and had a lovely feel to it, the bed was HUGE and I could have easily slept in there for days....! I had a spa treatment at Temple Spa, which was enjoyable - not cheap, but no decent spa is. We had a light room service meal for dinner and again - couldn't fault it. Breakfast the next morning was included and there was plenty of it (dare I say too much but we forced it down) and all enjoyable. I loved the cute English cottage gardens there as well. The town itself was cute, one day/night was enough though I think for us!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    314
    135
    66
    18
See reviews for
108
655
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I planned a romantic getaway for my boyfriend's birthday and thought this would be ideal. I had read great reviews in the Lonely Planet and the website made the hotel look fantastic! The hotel itself was lovely, if a little bit like a rabbit warren with rooms and passages everywhere. The room was of high standard and the beds/pillows were amazingly comfortable, and the bathroom was well kitted out. My only complaint on the rooms would be that they are slightly small for my 6ft 6 boyfriend, who needed to duck everywhere and had to go into the doorway to get changed as he couldnt lift his arms above his head!!

I found the staff to be not particularly welcoming, friendly and didnt really know their stuff. There is absolutely no atmosphere in the bar /lounge area of the hotel and we resorted to the hotel bar across the road to read the papers and have a drink, as this was more relaxed. Breakfast was nothing to write home about, and the portions were certainly not great sized, and given that you have to order everything individually off the menu, I found this to be a little stingy, as we had to ask for more than one piece of toast each, and we found the half a grilled mushroom and the smallest half tomato you have ever seen pretty poor. We had problems with our tv in the room (great tv, Bang and Olufsen!) as we only had 3 channels, with some radio and sky sports. When we enquired as to whether we could possibly have someone to look at the tv, as we wanted to watch ITV at least, the response was that it was broken and wouldnt be fixed.

Whilst the hotel is meant to be relaxing, I was disappointed that there is no wifi in the hotel - these days, this is becoming a must!

The spa and the gardens were lovely - not the best spa resort with lots of facilities and area to relax in, but the spa staff were friendly and helpful. The quality of the treatments however was brilliant, however the sales pitch at the end to get you to buy the products used was a little awkward when you have gone to relax.

Overall, I thought £220 a night (including breakfast) was too pricey for what the hotel offered. I would have been happier paying more like £160 a night for this particular hotel.

Great stay in Chipping Campden however - would recommend hiring bikes and riding around to the nearby villages...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieNat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Had a 3 night stay booked through SLH and loved it.Been here many times over the past and have always be very satisfied.Breakfast is terrific and on the night we had dinner is was wonderful.we had 2 rooms.23 and 25 which were extremely comfortable with great bathroom's.One small glitch,my bathrobe was very small and I would recommend they invest in some new ones.This is a great place to base yourself for a tour of the Wold's.
You also get a proper coffee maker in your room with lovely filter coffee.
A bit more attention to dusting wouldn't go amiss.

Room Tip: Become a member of Small Luxury Hotels of The Word
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beefy10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We checked into the hotel last Friday evening at around 6.45pm upon a recommendation.
The reception staff were surly and ambivolent. We asked for a deal as it was so late booking in only to be told we don't really do deals as people will expect the same price in the future..... The dutch lady on reception was cold and unhelpful although the porter tried to help but was way out of his depth. We were shown to a room that was just okay. Good point: it had ADSL internet connection.
The telephone didn't work in the room nor did the bathroom mirror light, the bathroom was grubby and the bedroom had stains on the celing from a water leak but apart from that....
The bar man was very good and the breakfast staff were very good and good food in the breakfast dining room.
The Spa area was excellent although we were never told about it on check in, we had to find it ourselves and only did so as we were leaving.
The whole event was not too good and we would not return to this hotel. We reported our findings to the morning reception staff and she said she would pass on our comments to the GM and he would call us as he was busy when we checked out at 11.30am . She didn't and we are still awaiting a call or an apology from him some 3 days later.
They show all the signs of going through the motions but actually don't care and at £280 for a basic room or £210 after a hard fought deal I would have expected much better greeting and hotel quality.
My advice: don't go until their room standards improve, they must be living, in my opinion, on past glories.

Room Tip: Book elswhere..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicardoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I am writing to say how very disappointed we were in the service we received when we stayed with Cotswold House recently. My partner and I spent the night there on Sunday 8th May as a birthday treat for me. To say the staff were unfriendly on check in ,is an understatement, they were offhand and disinterested .We decided to overlook this cold reception and before dinner ordered some cocktails in the bar where the staff were somewhat more cheery . However the cocktails we ordered BOTH arrived with bits of silver foil in them, and then when I tasted it, I realized that my caipirhinia had NO sugar in it with a couple of segments of limeand an overpowering taste of spirit- nothing like a normal caipirhinia ..When I brought this to the attentionof the barman he took it away and added A SINGLE SUGARCUBE !! which was left WHOLE sitting in the bottom of my glass..!!! I am agrieved that they have these cocktails on their bar menu when the staff clearly do not know how to make them, and yet are happy to charge premium prices ! After this error was brought to their attention one would have thought that the staff would at least offer to deduct this drink from our bill, BUT no, the lady manager pursued us out of the hotel asking us to sign for the drinks..I can only say this left a very bad taste in our mouths.
The following day we were once again subjected to surly behaviour from the member of staff who checked us out with- NOT A SMILE OR NICE COMMENT !!
We travel frequently and to say that the treatment we received at this hotel was a big disappointment , is an understatement. The room , view and gardens are lovely but Im afraid some of the members of staff leave a lot to be desired!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the back garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank evieb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport pagnell
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I feel a little awkward in criticising the hotel because one of the under managers was very helpful in upgrading us, but reviews should be objective and this is mine.
The location is great, right on the high st, and with ample parking to the rear. First impressions count, and our was not a good one. We were seen by a member of staff and a manager and were not ackowledged, just left standing in the lobby feeling ignored. The receptionist was however very personable when we finally got to check in. We were shown to our room (11) and on entering the room my mood nosedived. The room is apparently one of the most popular but we thought it dark, small and the much vaunted bathroom was a huge disappointment. The website images definately flattered to deceive. The french windows leading to the gardens were not very secure and my wife felt she would feel vunerable at night. There were also some bulbs which weren't working, and considering that the hotel blurb emphasises the mood lighting this was not good enough. The steam shower which looks great on the website emitted a constant hum which would be a problem for a light sleeper. Instead of the shower being "built in" and upmarket it was in fact a huge white metal box which my wife said looks like a shower for the disabled. As mentioned, we went to ask for a different room and were told there were none of the same category (j. suite) available.However, the young chap went away and returned with a key to a suite (grevel) which was offered with no increase in cost. This was very much appreciated and rescued our stay. Consider though that room 11 costs £360 per night. The room and hotel do not warrant the cost.

Breakfast is taken in the pleasant restaurant, with friendly staff serving made to order choices. The full english was tasty and hot, but why, considering the rates, do they serve half a mushroom and half a piece of black pudding. Little penny pinching things like this are very annoying. On the 2nd morning I asked the waitress if I could possibly have a whole slice of pudding, and the look I received spoke volumes.

We had a drink in the lounge bar a couple of times before going out. The lounge is a good size and very comfortable but is devoid of any atmosphere, and there is only Peroni on draught. In contrast, the Kings Hotel next door had a nice vibe and plenty of choice on draught. On the final evening we returned at about 11.30pm and found the lounge in darkness. Again, little things that rancour.

The hotel has a recently opened spa. The pool and relaxation area are superb, and there are a wide range of treatments on offer. I decided to have a 60 min aromatherepy massage. The masseuse was very nice, but if treatments I've had elsewhere could be likened to a ginger snap or coconut cream, the one at the spa would be a rich tea. Far from not wanting it to finish I couldn't wait to leave.

If all the above seems to indicate that we didn't enjoy our stay it would be untrue. The hotel has a nice feel and it is well kept,and the staff were friendly and helpful. Its just that at £360 I would expect more than we got. Chipping Campden is ideal as a base, and in fact we plan to return in June to experience the carinival weekend but unfortunately will not return to the Cotswold House. We would have to have the Grevel or similar and just can't justify the £400+ cost.

Room Tip: Don't pay full rates, book a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jewelleryjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on honeymoon in February and we loved it. We started our stay with an intimate wedding breakfast with our immediate family following our wedding ceremony in Stratford. The hotel pulled together a special menu for us for the day, we had a small private room just off the main restaurant and a dedicated waiter. The service and the food quality for all of us (including two children) was fantastic, we could not have asked for anything better.

Our room (number 11) had been changed at the last minute after the room (Hitcote suite) we had booked was unavailable due to a gas leak. As we were staying at the sister hotel (The Noel) the night before our wedding, we were contacted and asked to pop along and chose another suite which we did do.

Our room was fantastic, beautifully decorated, the bed very comfortable and a wonderful bathroom. We also received a complimentary bottle of champagne on our second night after learning they were unable to move us back into the Hitcote as they had hoped for. We were diappointed about the Hitcote Suite, mainly because that room offered a private garden with hot tub, however the large bath and steam room shower was very welcome at the end of a long day horse riding.

The spa facilities were fantastic and the spa staff very attentive. The spa is well worth a visit.

The hotel grounds are also lovely, with some fabulous art works scattered throughout the gardens and paths.

Overall we found the hotel service to be of a very high calibre, the staff were very friendly helpful and attentive. The only downside was the breakfast service, one morning we waited 45 minutes for any food to arrive at all, (there were 3 couples in the restaurant this particular morning and who appeared to be the manager of the spa and the waitress got every single breakfast order incorrect at least twice) and by the time it did we were so short of time I only managed a couple of mouthfulls before we had to leave as we had activities booked which had specific start times. This was hugely frustrating as there was no reason for it at all.

Upon check out there was also some confusion about what had been included in our room rate (we had a dinner, bed and breakfast rate) and what was still to pay, which was a little frustrasting.

Overall though, we would recommend this hotel. If your going for a special occasion, do get in touch with the events co-ordinator Charlotte who was very good and very competent.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sargent0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,017 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,182 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
996 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
10.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Property: Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Address: High Street | Upper High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning stylish hotel and spa in the heart of Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, will appeal to discerning travellers visiting the Cotswolds, looking for tranquility, sublime comfort, exceptional food and a stunning spa. The contemporary style makes Cotswold House and Spa one of the most admired boutique hotels in the Cotswolds. With an idyllic location, flexible mix of spaces and immaculate service, Cotswold House is the perfect venue for board meetings, away-day training and corporate events. Whatever your plans - whether you're wanting a longer stay to explore the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon, a romantic weekend away, a well-deserved break in the Cotswolds with family and friends, a Cotswold conference or Cotswold wedding - Cotswold House and Spa is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Cotswold House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold House Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Chipping Campden
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing