We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Greeted by friendly staff at reception and was informed we had been upgraded to a suite, nice surprise, awesome room! Hotel is spotless , standard of rooms superb , staff friendly and efficient , breakfast in the morning was very nice. Centrally located and a very nice base in a lovely part of the world!!

Room Tip: Room 19, garden suite, very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell2228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we do appreciate it, we are delighted you had a great stay with us, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we very much appreciate your comments and will pass them to the team, we do look forward to welcoming you back please do call us direct for the best possible rate.
NOTE TO OTHER TRIP ADVISOR READERS/ POTENTIAL FUTURE GUESTS, should you require Spa Treatments the spa does get booked up well in advance so to make the most of your stay do ask about the spa when calling to book your room.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

We visited the Cotswold House Hotel for my birthday at the beginning of January 2013 and really enjoyed our stay there. We stayed for two nights (Saturday and Sunday) and were impressed by the quality of the service and food at the hotel. During our stay only the Grill was open so we couldn't comment on the other restaurant and the food there was good and averagely priced for the Cotswolds. The location of the hotel is excellent (right in the middle of the village) and there are some lovely walks you can take in the surrounding countryside. There were only two negatives during our stay - wifi is only available in the bar and restaurant (although there was internet access via ethernet cable in the room) and we had a slightly unusual bed (made of odd plastic pallets that looked like large lego bricks). The hotel management explained it had been installed by the previous owners and described it as the 'marmite bed' - you either love it or hate it. We were offered the opportunity to move rooms by the hotel but we liked the room so much we decided the stay there. The only reason i have not given the hotel full marks is purely on the fact that wifi wasn't available in our room which i would expect for a hotel of this quality. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshwaspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are delighted you had a wonderful time, the bed you mention is Amique bed, they do look a bit strange, (have a Google and check them out) they do give an amazing night’s sleep, mind you at around 15k per bed!! That should be expected, the WIFI is being looked at over the next few days , it is great in some part of the hotels but does need a little boost in others and we will be taking care of this, we very much appreciate your comments and will pass them to the team, we do look forward to welcoming you back please do call us direct for the best possible rate.
NOTE TO OTHER TRIP ADVISOR READERS/ POTENTIAL FUTURE GUESTS, should you require Spa Treatments the spa does get booked up well in advance so to make the most of your stay do ask about the spa when calling to book your room.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Friendly staff and our room was fabulous. Restaurant we had both lunch and dinner and could not fault either. Food was the high point of the stay and although not cheap we thought it was wonderful. Spa treatments were among the best I have tried, agree not many facilities but we were happy to relax by the pool. Cannot wait to go back again in May...

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Integrity21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Wonderful, we are delighted you had a great stay with and “loved it”, please do contact me personally to arrange your booking in May and I will look to offer a little return guest added value, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we very much appreciate your comments and will pass them to the team, we do look forward to welcoming you back please do call us direct for the best possible rate.
NOTE TO OTHER TRIP ADVISOR READERS/ POTENTIAL FUTURE GUESTS, should you require Spa Treatments the spa does get booked up well in advance so to make the most of your stay do ask about the spa when calling to book your room.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed for the Easter weekend. The hotel rooms are a little worn in places but the staff are very helpful. We stayed in two rooms as they upgraded us the first night. They managed the move for us so it worked out quiet well. Food in the restaurant was very good but the breakfasts are a little disorganised. I had scrabbled eggs for breakfast the second morning and they were very bland and a little under done. The location is superb for the village as it is slap bang in the middle of the village.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsgntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

• Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we do appreciate it, we are delighted you had a great stay with us, and will look urgently at the couple of negatives you highlighted, we very much appreciate your comments and will pass them to the team, we do look forward to welcoming you back please do call us direct for the best possible rate.
NOTE TO OTHER TRIP ADVISOR READERS/ POTENTIAL FUTURE GUESTS, should you require Spa Treatments the spa does get booked up well in advance so to make the most of your stay do ask about the spa when calling to book your room.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed for one night on a midweek luxury break booked online for just over £200 including deluxe room, dinner bed and breakfast and a bottle of champagne.

Beautiful elegant hotel set in Chipping Camden High St, a mix of traditional decor and furnishings with some very modern art and lighting features.

Our room overlooked the gardens at the back, was very elegant and had king-size bed with lovely crisp white linen. There was a mini fridge with bottled water and fresh milk, a nice touch was the proper coffee and cafetiere. The bathroom was fairly ordinary and I would have expected more than just one tiny tube of shower gel and one of shampoo in a hotel of this quality. (We have stayed in 3 of a chain of Cotswold hotels which provide full sized bottles of Molton Brown toiletries and are considerably cheaper than the Cotswold House.)

We had a 3 course dinner in the Grill restaurant included in our package, the restaurant had a pleasant ambiance and the meal was very good especially the steak. There was a small buffet breakfast with freshly squeezed ornge juice, cereals, fruit, yoghurt and croissants and a choice of hot dishes. My husbands full English was excellent but unfortunately mu eggs bendict was covered in a very unpleasant hollandaise sauce which resembled oily mayonnaise tasting strongly of vinegar! A disappointing choice.

Generally all the staff were very polite and helpful and whilst I think this is a very good quality hotel, I do think they are at risk of resting on their laurels and not providing value for their rather high prices.

Room Tip: No lifts so ask for ground floor if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyskyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review we are delighted at your positive comments, and will look closely at the negatives (I would cheekily add that the bathroom products we use being REN are significantly more expensive than Moulton Brown) it would appear that the small negatives did not prevent you from having a good stay and I thank you for taking the time to highlight areas that were not perfect, I can assure you wherever possible we will make changes and improve. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we do appreciate it, we are delighted you had a great stay with us, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we very much appreciate your comments and will pass them to the team, we do look forward to welcoming you back please do call us direct for the best possible rate.
NOTE TO OTHER TRIP ADVISOR READERS/ POTENTIAL FUTURE GUESTS, should you require Spa Treatments the spa does get booked up well in advance so to make the most of your stay do ask about the spa when calling to book your room.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We booked a spa and treatment here through groupon. From the minute we arrived we struggled to even find where to go, the spa is set down a long path out the very back of the building. Usually on a spa day you have an introduction to show you where to find everything , but in all honestly there is nothing there..not even a hot tub!!! The massage however was really good so cannot fault the girl doing that. Basically there is just a small pool and steam room but the steam room wasn't working!!!! To be fair we only paid £100 but still I would expect more than a massage and sit by the pool .We were supposed to given two glasses of bucks fizz each but wern`t even given that. Also the salad was we were given was nice but the restaurant was back in the other building so we had get changed and effectively ended our spa day. All in all pretty poor

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANNYBOI83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review it is obviously a shame that you did not enjoy the whole experience, but how odd that almost all the negatives such as the spa not having a restaurant but having to visit the main hotel for lunch and the spa being in the garden are all part of the offer, your right we don’t have a hot tub in the spa we have hot tubs in private gardens for hotel guests, the steam room has not been out of order so I am unsure as to why you mention this, it does close for a few moments every couple of hours for cleaning and this might have been the case, thank you for your rather strange review, I am delighted that the aspects of the offer you booked on were good (The Massage and the Lunch) but do feel all other areas highlighted were clear, I would add to other trip advisor uses the reason we won UK Spa Of The Year is because we offer a simple ethos of no flashy gadgets just great therapists and a great lunch please see below the reason we won UK spa Of The Year.

While at some Spas, you find yourself elbowed out from your peaceful swim by a noisy aqua aerobics class, or jolted out of some quiet contemplation by children in armbands, at Cotswold House Spa we believe small (and exclusive) is beautiful. We don't promise mud baths, fancy gadgets and false promises - our speciality is peace and quiet, in the idyllic surroundings of our Cotswold garden; hydrotherapy pool, steam room and restorative and reviving treatments given to you by our expert, caring team , and the space to unwind and really let the rest of the world slip away. Which is why we've just won the Late Rooms Best Kept Secrets Award 2013 for Best Spa - because the people that know about us, would rather everyone else didn't.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Booked 2 nights b&b as special treat for my partner's 60th. At a cost of £600 I did expect something special. Staff were friendly and helpful and although the room was nice and quiet and had a gas fire, it was freezing cold and the carpet was past its best and ready to be replaced. The bathroom had mood lighting and other features but it was so cold that we did not take advantage of them. Upon reporting this at check out we were informed it had underfloor heating, but it was obviously not working, why did cleaning staff not report this, they must have noticed how cold it was? All in all it was not the standard we expected for the price we paid. We wouldn't return.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Trish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for taking time to leave a review, obviously it appears the under floor heating stopped working after the Housekeeping team had serviced the room, I am delighted that Staff were friendly and helpful and although the room was nice and you found many positive aspects of your stay, obviously we are disappointed everything was not quite perfect but do look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. please do call us direct for the best possible rate.
NOTE TO OTHER TRIP ADVISOR READERS/ POTENTIAL FUTURE GUESTS, should you require Spa Treatments the spa does get booked up well in advance so to make the most of your stay do ask about the spa when calling to book your room.

Kind Regards
Paul Dixon
General Manager
The Cotswold House & Noel Arms Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,063 reviews
0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,075 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
14 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
2 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Address: High Street | Upper High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £130 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning stylish hotel and spa in the heart of Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, will appeal to discerning travellers visiting the Cotswolds, looking for tranquility, sublime comfort, exceptional food and a stunning spa. The contemporary style makes Cotswold House and Spa one of the most admired boutique hotels in the Cotswolds. With an idyllic location, flexible mix of spaces and immaculate service, Cotswold House is the perfect venue for board meetings, away-day training and corporate events. Whatever your plans - whether you're wanting a longer stay to explore the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon, a romantic weekend away, a well-deserved break in the Cotswolds with family and friends, a Cotswold conference or Cotswold wedding - Cotswold House and Spa is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Cotswold House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold House Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Chipping Campden
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing