We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Desperately in need of some R&R, my husband and I booked a last-minute break here. The attraction was the spa, and we phoned the day before we wanted to arrive to see if they could accommodate us. They could, but only in three different rooms over the three day stay, which they did warn us about. We didn't have a problem with this, and as we were given a reduced rate, and all the moving was done for us, it worked out fine. It also meant that we got to experience more of the hotel than most, I suspect.
Room 23 was ok, spacious and clean, but drab and nothing special. My husband described it as 'faded glory'. The bathroom again was ok, with a tiny bath and an average shower.
Room 18 was full of character, in a county cottage meets 'Austin Powers' sort of way. Exposed beams, feature bath in the bedroom (no shower), orange leather swivel chairs, huge faceted mirror and changing coloured light panel in the cupboard of a toilet. Charming, but a bit surreal.
Room 32, otherwise known as the Hidcote, was the pièce de résistance. Our very own little cottage in the grounds, with private garden and outdoor hot tub - a proper wooden one. Apart from the fact that there were no outside lights working (we had a torch in the car), we still revelled in the luxury of bathing and sitting outside after dark, enjoying the warm end of summer temperatures.
The food was very good from the bar and grill, as eat in and room service. The food in the dining room however, was outstanding. 6 courses, plus Chef's treats, quality ingredients, cleverly and beautifully cooked and presented. The Chef was talented, charming and thoughtful. We also had outstanding service from Michael.
The spa was ok, a nice-enough pool and relaxation area. We did enjoy some treatments and pampering, and I had a particularly good massage from Becky.
Chipping Campden, and this hotel, was just what we needed (although pricey) - a break away from it all, somewhere welcoming, with a bit of character and charm - and we really didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Depends on your budget, but if you can afford it, it has to be the Hidcote.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spottysuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Spottysuitcase,

Staying in three rooms in three days surely makes you one of the most eligible reviewers we have ever had so we are all extremely delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much you did not want to leave. Now if you could just arrange another 23 days away with us we would love for you to experience every room we have! However joking aside, for now we will settle for you returning for just a few more nights and as soon as possible too.

You have accurately ascertained that every room in our charming hotel is unique and has its own character. There are a few rooms which are now benefiting from a lick of paint here and there and a little more TLC like room 23 so that very soon there will be no evidence of faded glory no matter which room you stay in.

Chef offers a range of menus at Cotswold House Hotel which means no matter how long you stay you will not get bored but I am pleased you experienced chefs Taster as it does showcase his skills and imagination on the plate. The Grill menus offers good value and comfy home cooked style food with chefs professional touch throughout so something else to consider for your next soiree down our way.

There is always plenty to see and do in the Cotswolds and Chipping Campden so when you do wish to visit us again we will have yet another of our charming rooms waiting for you and a warm welcome from all!

Kind regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    314
    135
    66
    18
See reviews for
108
655
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here overnight and we only wished we were there for a longer stay, what a gorgeous hotel, a real find, great helpful staff, and what can we say about the room, contemporary and classic all at the same time, very spacious and comfortable, we had an excellent afternoon tea, evening meal and breakfast all top class and served by very obliging and helpful staff, we would highly recommend this place to our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Rebecca W,

The staff and I are truly grateful for your kind and glowing comments. It always means a lot to the team when we know we have provided guests with an experience to remember and I am pleased you felt this was the case regarding all aspects of your stay.

When you visit us again we hope you will indeed be able to stay longer!

Kind regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We only used the spa here. We booked in for the two hour use of facilities and a massage. The spa was lovely. The staff were warm and helpful, I especially loved the member of staff who dressed like Matt Smith's Doctor Who (bow ties are cool!) My massage therapist, whose name I can not remember at the moment, was fantastic. I loved the choice of fragrances and she had a wonderful manner to her.
The hydro pool was lovely and warm and although the place was popular it never felt busy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Extremely accommodating when booking out rooms for our family over our wedding weekend. They organised an adjoining room for teenage children which was much appreciated. Our families had a wonderful stay - thankyou!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris3llis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed for two nights at the Cotswold House. I can say i was not disappointed. Room was better than i expected, certainly worth every penny. Service in the grill was excellent, staff were very attentive. Had a walk down to the spa, which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. The staff were very friendly and made you feel very welcome. They had a small hydrotherapy pool and a steam room, just enough for you to feel relaxed. A great stay overall - Will be returning when next in area!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Got transferred here as original booking at Wood Norton cancelled. We were certainly not disappointed. Room excellent. Staff great and meal in Cotswold Grill superb. Great position overlooking main street and lovely gardens at rear. A great stay - thank you Wood Norton!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clandja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The spa was adequate with a steam room and pool, that had a jacuzzi feature. The treatments were good but the time allocated included the preparation time.

The food was very good as was the service in the bar/restaurant.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight so unable to comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,017 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,182 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
996 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
10.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Property: Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Address: High Street | Upper High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning stylish hotel and spa in the heart of Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, will appeal to discerning travellers visiting the Cotswolds, looking for tranquility, sublime comfort, exceptional food and a stunning spa. The contemporary style makes Cotswold House and Spa one of the most admired boutique hotels in the Cotswolds. With an idyllic location, flexible mix of spaces and immaculate service, Cotswold House is the perfect venue for board meetings, away-day training and corporate events. Whatever your plans - whether you're wanting a longer stay to explore the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon, a romantic weekend away, a well-deserved break in the Cotswolds with family and friends, a Cotswold conference or Cotswold wedding - Cotswold House and Spa is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cotswold House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold House Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Chipping Campden
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing