We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband took me here for my birthday. We normally escape to bournmouth for our child free treats but Cotswold House is our new treat! We just loved it here, we had a open fire in our room which was just lovely after an hour in our private hot tub. We then got ten undisturbed hours sleep in the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. After a lovely breakfast we spent a few hours in the spa relaxing. Our only regret is that we didnt have a babysitter for another night so we could stay! We will be back! Thankyou for a lovely stay cotswold house.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebrazebrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Zabrazebrano,

WOW indeed - Thank you for your lovely review!

We are so delighted to have made your getaway such a wonderful experience. I understand how rare opportunities like these can be where children can be handed into someone else' care to allow for an escape into a different world. So it is good to know that we made your precious time count and that you were able to relax and enjoy.

Do come back and stay a little longer when the babysitter is available for at least two nights!!

Kind regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    313
    133
    66
    18
See reviews for
107
649
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Great stay at this hotel where members of staff know your name: fab old style customer service. Dining choices include The Grill and The Dining Room. Both good value. Last night's dining experience in The Dining Room was exemplary; great service and outstanding food. The sous chef, Chris Brown, ran the kitchen with Sam managing the dining space. Well done all. Go before the local folk book this treasure out every night

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Acciano,

Thank you and we are all delighted with your kind review. It is very rewarding feedback for our new team who are passionately committed to providing genuinely warm and professional service to all of our guests.

The service and ambience during your stay typifies our ethos as a boutique hotel without pretence and its acknowledgement is warmly welcomed!

Kind regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The town is fantastic, the hotel's location is great, reception was friendly (though it was a bummer to hear people checking in ahead of us receiving complimentary drinks knowing they paid much less for their stay via a groupon, whereas I booked well, well in advance). But those are all the highlights.

We entered our room to find three flies swarming around. I've stayed in many country house hotels, so I wasn't expecting perfection; but overall it just wasn't very clean. Makeup foundation was splattered along the bathroom wall; miscellaneous fluid splattered near the toilet paper; tiles missing from the shower.

But honestly the very worst part was that we had planned this as a spa getaway. Upon check-in we were told the steam room was closed for maintenance. Serious, serious bummer, as that was the purpose of our visit. We decided we'd check out the pool, at least. The hours are completely ridiculous (it closes at 6pm) so we attempted to take a refreshing mid-afternoon dip, only to discover there is no access to the spa through the hotel. So you have to physically walk outside onto the high street and around the side of the hotel past the guests in the dining room. Super mortifying in your ROBE!!!!! We walked the long path through the garden to reach the "spa" only to find the tiny pool COMPLETELY filled to the brim with people and every lounge chair taken, just as every other reviewer so far has noted. It would've physically been impossible for us to swim. So that was a waste of time and energy.

Ultimately we paid exorbitant prices for just a room. Honestly I would've been slightly less bummed about the spa situation if reception would've offered a complimentary welcome drink or tea or some sort of gesture to apologize for the inconvenience, considering we traveled a very long way to this so-called spa hotel. Do yourself a favor and skip this place. There are quite a few nice b&b's and hotels just a stone's throw up the high street at about half the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RelationshipGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Chemin,

Thank you for your review.

I am truly sorry you feel your spa experience was a let down. This is an award winning spa which features a very large hydro therapy pool and unfortunately no swimming pool. The Steam Room was not functioning due to reasons completely beyond our control and we have done our best to minimise guests inconvenience during this time. I am delighted to say theat the new steam room will be opening this week and will be much better than before for all hotel guests to enjoy. Should you wish to join us again I will ensure you gain maximum benefit from our spa with special consideration taken into account to make up for the first disappontment.

Sadly though I cannot relocate the spa closer to the hotel so our guests will continue to have to take a beatiful and tranquil short journey through our stunning gardens to get to the spa.

For those not favouring robes there are always the changerooms at the spa to use as well.

As you duly and positively noted we are located in the country and indeed are blessed with wonderful rural scenery around the village. Unfortunately (or fortunately) part of what forms country life are animals and insects so though our standards of cleanliness are immaculate we cannot control the odd swarm (?) of three flies evey now and then. In fact we rearly get extended visits from natures little creatures so my aplogies they were present when you checked in.

Kind regards,

Michael Obray - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Overall our one night spa break was very good. The room was clean and well serviced and the reception area was clean, tidy and we were seen to promptly. The restaurant good was delicious and I would recommend the onion soup it was outstanding. The steam room in the spa was closed for refurbishment but I didn't have the email informing me of this so I was disappointed. The pool was lovely, one of the nicest spa pools I've visited and I enjoyed my treatment there. The only real bugbear I have was the service charge that was added to our bill automatically. I really don't like this as good service should be earned not assumed and it is awkward to say to have the charge removed. If I want to tip I will do so but I don't like being forced into it. It's for this reason I would not return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pink_phantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Pink_Phantom,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay with us and we are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the whole experience.

We totally agree about the service charge in the Spa which is why we removed this at the beginning of November.

Our sincere apologies about the unforeseen closure of the steam room but this was something we could not avoid. However it is now very much back and running better than ever before so I do hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future for the full spa experience.

Kind regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

As an 80th birthday treat for my mother my two sisters and I took her for a night to the Cotswold House Hotel. It was extremely relaxing, the staff were very helpful and attentive, the food was good, the location was lovely, we very much enjoyed the spa and had a lovely stay overall.

Room Tip: Even the rooms at the front are quiet as the hotel is set back from the road a little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoD50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear JoD50,

It's wonderful to hear that you both had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind comments about our service team who pride themselves on making our guests feel comfortable and relaxed throughout the stay.

Your praise for the Hotel, Spa and Team really means a lot to us all so thank you again!

Kind regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Visited this lovely hotel with friends for 1 night and had a wonderful stay. Our room was furnished in quality antiques and the bed was very comfortable. Yes the TV was small and had limited channels but there are so many things to see and visit in the stunning village including the hotel's Spa we did not have much time to watch TV. Food was excellent in the restaurant and staff very friendly. We will be visiting again and stay longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear ChesterBlue,

Thank you for your wonderfully kind remarks and we are very please indeed that you and your friends enjoyed the stay with us.

We are fortunate to be located in a truly beautiful part of England and I have to agree with you that, with our surroundings, lovely grounds and a beautifully classic Cotswold House we are definitely as you succinctly put it - a great place to Chill!

Do please join us again sometime for another relaxing experience, we look forward to it.

Kind regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed over a weekend and it was our second visit. First impressions were that it needed a lick of paint, but our room, which was upgraded to a Junior Suite, was beautiful. It had a small balcony which overlooked the pretty garden at the back of the Hotel.
The staff are all very pleasant and welcoming but very young and a little lacking in sophistication. The breakfast is fine, but could be arranged more invitingly. Dinner was mediocre.
The Spa again could do with a re-vamp, but the treatments were good and reasonably priced.
I am only pointing out quite small niggles, because on the whole we really enjoyed ourselves and would definitely return.
The little town of Chipping Campden is a delight and I would not hesitate to recommend it as a wonderful place to visit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank connell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Connell66,

Thank you for your kind comments.

The program of refurbishment and improvement for the hotel has begun which involves not only a lick of paint here and there but a better feel to the spirit of the hotel too by virtue of a new and passionate team to create an even warmer, relaxing and exceptional stay for our Guests.

A very talented new Head Chef joins us in the New Year to put the Cotswold House Hotel and Spa firmly back onto the culinary map.

The spa refurbishment is also well under way with a newly refurbished steam room, an improved hydro therapy pool hall and a new team to look after our spa guests.

We can't wait for you to come back and see for yourselves!

Kind regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
10.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Property: Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Address: High Street | Upper High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning stylish hotel and spa in the heart of Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, will appeal to discerning travellers visiting the Cotswolds, looking for tranquility, sublime comfort, exceptional food and a stunning spa. The contemporary style makes Cotswold House and Spa one of the most admired boutique hotels in the Cotswolds. With an idyllic location, flexible mix of spaces and immaculate service, Cotswold House is the perfect venue for board meetings, away-day training and corporate events. Whatever your plans - whether you're wanting a longer stay to explore the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon, a romantic weekend away, a well-deserved break in the Cotswolds with family and friends, a Cotswold conference or Cotswold wedding - Cotswold House and Spa is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cotswold House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold House Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Chipping Campden
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing