We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as it was” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We've stayed at this hotel on three occasions in the last 10 years but next time we will choose somewhere else. That's because we got the distinct impression this time that they are cutting back on staff and maintenance and its beginning to show. The gardens are still lovely but a couple of the beds needed urgent weeding. Some of the bedroom furniture is in need of upgrading or replacing. The staff are just not "on the ball" so it takes two phone calls rather than one to get any action. A dead spider in the bathroom on our arrival and a welcome letter to a previous guest are sloppy we think. That said the building and location are great and the place has a nice relaxed atmosphere. The Spa was pretty good and the food in both the grill and the main restaurant was of a very good standard although the main restaurant was only half full on a Friday night and lacked atmosphere.

Room Tip: We stayed in Grevel suite at £400 a night and the actual bedroom part was very small which was disap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ollie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Ollie1952,

I am sorry you did not enjoy your whole experience at Cotswold House. I am not sure why we may have been short staffed during your stay as this is very exceptional and is not, as you can see from other recent TripAdvisor reports, the norm. Sadly it also contradicts the general feedback we usually receive. You may have caught us on a bad day and if so I truly apologize that we seem to have let you and ourselves down here.

Further to your other helpful comments you will be delighted to know that we are in the process of refurbishment where required and the new maintenance team have made significant improvements to the overall aesthetics of the hotel over the past 6 months. The hotel generally has a charming and relaxed stately country house atmosphere to it. Similarly the grounds and gardens are now looking exceptionally beautiful and are enjoyed by many local town folk, day visitors and our Hotel Guests.

Thank again for taking the time to write your valuable feedback.

Best regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    309
    134
    67
    19
See reviews for
103
632
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I enjoyed two lovely nights at this hotel very recently. I was staying for business reasons. The room was lovely, full of character, warm (in fact too warm, as I slept with the window open), cosy and clean. It was a petite double so enough room for one. As the hotel is right in the centre of Chipping Campden it's within easy reach of the pubs, and tea rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupal937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Rupal937,

it is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your recent conference and stay with us as a Corporate Delegate. We are a relaxing leisure hotel with an award winning Spa that happens to do Corporate Events, Conferences and Delegate stay exceptionally well so you get the best of both worlds!

It is also a big advantage that we are lucky enough to be situated in one of the prettiest villages in Britain and yet remain very accessible.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Kindest regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewyas Harold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Small pool, small spa. Not quite what we expected size wise. Booking confusion on entrance. Bubbles in pool not working. Changing rooms beyond ridiculous on the size. Cannot accomodate the amout of people they deem suitable to let in. Treatment good but facilities a let down. Would have been ok if limited to our group of 7. Shame as lovely atmosphere, beautiful location, relaxing treatment rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kathrc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Cathrc4,

The Spa has won numerous awards both for design and operations and I fear perhaps we were a victim of our success in this case.

As you can see from numerous and recent spa reviews your experience was an exception and not the norm and the team in the spa and I are sincerely sorry you did not enjoy it.

Kind regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for one night and it was a lovely hotel, the only negative was that the night we stayed was when they had their festival on and it was very noisy. All credit to the hotel the upgraded our room to a little cottage at the back so we would not be disturbed to much with noise. It was absolutely beautiful and we really enjoyed staying in there my 10 year old daughter was blown away with the fact that the was a TV in the wall in the bathroom. We stayed B&B and the breakfast was very nice and plenty to chose from. I would have liked to have seen a little more of Chipping Campden, and if we get chance to go there again I would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJ13121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear EJ13121,

It was really good to hear that you enjoyed your night stay at Cotswold House Hotel.

I understand you stayed over on the night of the Dover's Games which, being a 600 year old tradition of the Cotswolds is partly celebrated in the old Town Square and which happens but once a year.

I am very pleased we managed to get you into a comfortable room away from any disturbance especially seeing as the room we moved you to had a TV in the bathroom to impress your daughter (phew!).

Please do join us again and we will ensure you get an equally lovely room on the next occasion. After all, we have to keep impressing the important people in the family!!

Kindest regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I booked through Mr and Mrs Smith, received free bottle of Louis Dornier champagne, which was already floating in tepid water. On arrival we had been upgraded to the Loughborough garden suite, I had booked a hot tub cottage anyway, only difference is an open fire, which on entering was clear from the "bonfire smell" and whilst may have provided some ambience if you could tolerate the smoke, when I asked if it would be lit for us, we were advised it could be done however it does have a tendency to smoke the cottage out. The bed was very comfortable, however the room was impossibly warm, and if you are happy to sit on the floor or stand in the bathroom to make-up then there shouldn't be a problem. I booked expecting the "sharing" bath and was most disappointed with the "standard" bathroom considering it is on the same level as the bathroom I think this is seriously missing the point. The hot tub, again still not good enough for the premium price, the outside area was slimy from weather and leaves, and a few tin foil tea lights is not really adequate lighting, leaving it impossible to see the controls, this together with the glass ashtray found in the bottom did detract from this overall experience. Their Bang and Olufsen boast, again disappointing it is outdated and not connected room to room, nor with any ability to play music (CD on the lounge room tv, but who brings CD's these days?) and only bare essentials for channels. A few homemade cookies in the room and tea and cafetiere still for me not going the distance. Whilst the old world charm of the furniture and beams is not lost on me, the standard of cleanliness could be better too. The meal in the informal restaurant was good and the impromptu Mojito was great. Sorry overall good but just not good enough, half the price and this may be hitting its weight.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear lisaabb,

I am truly sorry we did not live up to any of your expectations on this occasion. As you can see by the vast majority of feedback left on TripAdvisor (and other public media) we are not in the habit of frequently disappointing our guests.

The team and I are sincerely sorry you did not enjoy any part of your stay. Though we naturally find this extremely disappointing we remain committed to providing our guests with consistently good, relaxing and high quality stays at Cotswold House Hotel and I am again sorry this was not the case with your stay.

With kindest regards,

Michael Obray, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Spent today at Cotswold House Spa with my mum and sister, it was excellent. The pool area is small but has everything you need, there are plenty of loungers around the pool and ample magazines to ensure you can totally relax. I had an extended back, neck and should massage, I have had many massages in the past and I think this was one of the best! The therapist was thoroughly professional and worked on all the areas I asked her to! It was then finished with a sorbet and a glass of water in their relaxation room, an excellent bonus! I would recommend this spa and am already looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahY87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear SarahY87,

The Spa Team are "over the moon" at your glowing review.

The spa team (and hotel team for that matter) are very professional, attentive and their approach to customer care is second to none and it makes it all worthwhile when we receive feedback like yours. Thank you, your Mum to to and your sister and we are so pleased you all had such a lovely experience.

Best regards,

Michael, Grace and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We liked our room on the front, up the stairs, and around the corner. It was comfortable and quiet at night and we had a view of the main street. Wooden shutters worked perfectly for sound and light, a/c worked fine. Fantastic breakfast was included and staff were helpful at all times.

Room Tip: Room on first floor, street side, was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward34231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Edward24231,

Thank you for your positive review and we appreciate your kind comments.

It is very pleasing to know we made your stay a memorable one and that you had a great nights sleep!

Best regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
3.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
10.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Property: Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Address: High Street | High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning stylish hotel and spa in the heart of Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, will appeal to discerning travellers visiting the Cotswolds, looking for tranquility, sublime comfort, exceptional food and a stunning spa. The contemporary style makes Cotswold House and Spa one of the most admired boutique hotels in the Cotswolds. With an idyllic location, flexible mix of spaces and immaculate service, Cotswold House is the perfect venue for board meetings, away-day training and corporate events. Whatever your plans - whether you're wanting a longer stay to explore the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon, a romantic weekend away, a well-deserved break in the Cotswolds with family and friends, a Cotswold conference or Cotswold wedding - Cotswold House and Spa is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cotswold House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold House Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Chipping Campden
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing