We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Within the Cotswolds there are numerous good hotels, but this superbly run townhouse hotel stands out as a jewel in the Cotswold crown. The occasion of my daughters wedding brought us to the Cotswold House last Saturday and we received superb service from a very slick,professional team throughout the day.
On arrival we were greeted by the lovely wedding planner Carol and she ushered us over the road to the sister hotel the Noël Arms so that the bride could not be seen by arriving guests. Here we met the General manager of both hotels Michael who supplied us with a refreshing G&T each, a perfect pre-wedding nerves settler!
Within a few minutes we were taken back across the road to the Cotswold House where the ceremony took place and following this we had canapés and champagne on the croquet lawn in perfect sunshine and surrounded by the most beautiful well kept mature gardens.
We then retreated back indoors for a magnificent wedding breakfast that was delivered flawlessly by David and his very able team.
We had the most perfect of weddings for my daughter, just as she wanted it.
Absolutely fabulous day! Fabulous venue and fabulous service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77AMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear 77AMW,

I can only say in response to your very kind review.....It was an absolute pleasure!

David, Carol and his team pay personal attention to weddings (as with all events) and when we get feedback like this it makes it all the more rewarding to know how much we made the day special.

The most important thing, apart from the fact your whole party thoroughly enjoyed the wedding is that the Bride and Groom had a wonderful day. I am also pleased it was such a lovely day so that the Wedding Party could fully enjoy the gardens and the many all important photograph opportunities.

On behalf of the whole team we wish you, your daughter and her now husband all the best for the future, (until we see you back at Cotswold House Hotel)

With Best Wishes,

Michael, Carol, David and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    313
    134
    66
    18
See reviews for
107
650
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harare Province, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

What great service,the staff were very welcoming and helpful. Thank you Gareth and Lee you 2 are happy helpful and polite young men.
The rooms can do with a little upgrading but still was nice
The breakfast was good and again very friendly staff.




Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sharon19612015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your short but very sweet review. Your kind comments about Gareth and Lee epitomise the service ethos at Cotswold House Hotel.

So see you again soon we hope!

Kind regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I can't praise the hotel and all the staff at Cotswold House Hotel enough. Having read some of the reviews I as a little wary but all that disappeared once I'd stepped in to the hotel and was greeted by the receptionist. We stayed for 2 nights and dined in both the grill and dining room. The food and service was amazing. The bedroom was very comfortable and we had everything we needed.

Spent a couple of hours in the spa on our 2nd day and felt truly relaxed after my treatments. The hotel was also a great base for exploring the surrounding villages and nearby Stratford upon Avon. Will definitely be visiting again.

Would definately stay again and I will be recommending the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliceRoberts49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear AliceRoberts49,

We really appreciate you kind review and its very pleasing for all of us at Cotswold House Hotel to know we have made your stay so special. That's what we love doing best and getting it right no matter how many times is always very rewarding for the team.

I am pleased you ate in both restaurants and experienced Head Chef's exceptional food on two different levels too.

Pleased to hear you loved the spa, it is a wonderful facility we are able to offer our guests and the Spa Team are well trained and deliver exceptional treatments .

Please do come back soon to revisit us and we will ensure you have another wonderful experience.

Best regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

..relaxing stay at the Cotswold House Hotel. It's a real gem in Chipping Camden. It looks like a small townhouse hotel from the front but has lovely cottages and fantastic hidden gardens at the rear that go back to the Spa and off road parking. The weather was kind so we chilled in the gardens early evening and then had dinner in the Dining Room, all very Modern British and beautifully cooked and presented. We had to leave earlier than we would have liked to in the morning but had an early swim in the Spa and a great light breakfast..nothing not to like really, we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGSBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear NGSBath,

It is really good to hear that yu enjoyed the full extent of what Cotswold House Hotel has to offer, lovely rooms, peace and tranquility, an exceptional location, and wonderful grounds and gardens (even better when the sun is out!).

We certainly do hope you will be back soon and if it's winter time there's always the welcoming atmosphere of the hotel and cosy fire places to warm you!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just right . A hotel that met the moment . My wife and I enjoyed a great few days in the Cotswolds What a great location and venue to stay. Super little Cottage rooms and great resturant.
We treated ourselves to the Spa . Another great day relaxing
Will be back next year

Room Tip: cottage rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear IanH,

Thanks for writing this kind review.

We are delighted to have made your stay a memorable one and glad you both enjoyed every moment of it!

With kind regards,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I visited the spa with my mum as a treat for her birthday and was rather disappointed. On arrival the small spa area was so busy that there wasn't a lounger for us by the pool. The relaxation room is nothing but a room with nothing particularly relaxing about it (especially not the bright white flashing Christmas tree style lights in the corner). The changing rooms needed a good clean - grubby doors, fluff, dust and hair. The two shower cubicles were not draining properly and so you end up standing in dirty water from both your shower and your neighbours. I was quite glad it was my mum showering next door and not a stranger but it was not pleasant. My mum and I both booked in for massages. The massage itself was fantastic and my therapist was very professional and friendly, however the music system in the room had broken so instead of enjoying a massage listening to relaxing music I got the sound of cars driving past, people talking and walking around in the carpark outside. A couple of times I popped to reception to enquire about things but there was only one receptionist working at a time who was either busy on the phone or not even there. The spa isn't really set up for spa days, more as just an add on to the hotel for guests. I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RK2418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear RK2418,

Looking at your past reviews I see you set very high standards for yourself and I am truly sorry we were not able to meet these standards on your recent visit. It appears we were the victims of our own success on the day you visited as being such a popular and well regarded spa we do get busy and on occasion you may find the pool loungers all taken which is why we put additional loungers on the terace in summer.

You are right though, the spa is a magnificent added facility for bothHotel Guests and Day Visitors alike.

Our chagerooms sometimes experience high volumes on busy days but are always monitored and kept in good order. I am sorry you felt they were grubby but not wishing to contradict you, I personally do frequent inspections and I always find them clean to a high standard that we usually expect of ourselves so again I am sorry you feel this was not the case during your visit.

However as we take all feedback very seriously I have passed this onto the Head Housekeeper who will ensure if there was a blip it is very quickly rectifiersd so that as usual, normal high standards are resumed.

Best wishes,

Michael Obray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Chipping Campden is a very pretty town so we were hoping for a lovely authentic Cotswold hotel - and the fact that this establishment incorporates "Cotswold House" in its name somehow made us think that it would be special - and it wasn't !!

Ideally positioned in the centre of town And housed in beautiful buildings, our initial impressions were good but once we got to our room we started to see an older, worn out interior.

The positives are that the hotel is set in lovely gardens and has a spa (which we didn't use)

The negatives are that despite comments from the manager on many posts below that there is renovation work going on, we didn't see any. The plumbing system is a disaster. During a shower the water will just stop - completely - so you stand there, all soaped up and after 30 or 40 seconds the water will start again. Also, every now and then there is a blast of cold water.

If this occurred at a run done B & B you would, put up with it but when we are paying a lot, we expected better.

I think establishments make a big mistake in advertising "luxury" and "award winning" because they set expectations that really disappoint when they cannot deliver. The promotion of their restaurant as "the very best in modern British cooking" - in our view the Cotswold Grill fell well below this mark. Pretty plain pub type food - inexperienced waiters and just middle of the road decor. Certainly not chic or contemporary.

Overall, it is comfortable and well located. But the pricing and the expectation built up by their advertising will generally disappoint and on that basis they are certainly over-promising and under-delivering

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank PeterR931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Peter R,

Our refurbishment company is called Simply Drapes and they are starting the first 5 bedrooms in July. They are based in London and are listed on the internet. So I assure you the refurbishment is taking place. In addition to this we have had the grounds and gardens completely revamped this year as well as the hot tubs and some [public areas. Being a small business we have to do things gradually and in stages so I assure you we have been doing a lot of work to get the hotel back to the highest levels. The grill food is designed to be brasserie style so your critique on this is correct. Fine dining menu is served in the Dining Room which opens Thursday/Friday and Saturdays.

I am however more concerned that your shower just stopped! I am not aware of such issues and this is certainly not a normal or regular occurrence and has not ever been reported before. I am looking into this and your feedback in this matter has been very helpful.

Regards,

Michael Obray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
10.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Property: Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Address: High Street | Upper High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning stylish hotel and spa in the heart of Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, will appeal to discerning travellers visiting the Cotswolds, looking for tranquility, sublime comfort, exceptional food and a stunning spa. The contemporary style makes Cotswold House and Spa one of the most admired boutique hotels in the Cotswolds. With an idyllic location, flexible mix of spaces and immaculate service, Cotswold House is the perfect venue for board meetings, away-day training and corporate events. Whatever your plans - whether you're wanting a longer stay to explore the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon, a romantic weekend away, a well-deserved break in the Cotswolds with family and friends, a Cotswold conference or Cotswold wedding - Cotswold House and Spa is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cotswold House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold House Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Chipping Campden
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing