We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Noel Arms Hotel(Chipping Campden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foxhill Manor(Broadway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fish Hotel(Broadway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charingworth Manor(Chipping Campden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lygon Arms(Broadway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Buckland Manor(Broadway)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redesdale Arms Hotel(Moreton-in-Marsh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,143)
Filter reviews
1,143 results
Traveller rating
573
346
142
63
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
573
346
142
63
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitefig restauranthot tubturn down servicesteam roommood lightingsorbetspiral staircasesmall poolhomemade cookiescottage roomeggs benedictprivate gardenthe cottagesspecial occasionsister hotelmain restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
598 - 603 of 1,143 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I treated myself to a relaxing spa day and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. Yes, the changing room and pool area are small, but they were perfectly adequate for the number of guests that were there today. The areas were all very clean and the staff couldn't have been any more helpful. I had 3 treatments, all of which were perfect. Thank you so much, I had a wonderful day and shall definitely be returning. Jane

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jek197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Jek197,

We are glad you decided to treat yourself at our spa and even more pleased we lived up to your expectations and delivered three perfect treatments.

It is nice to hear your positive comments about our facilities as we often get guests preferring to see the spa as small rather than for what it actually is i.e. a lovely airy space with simple but excellent facilities and a lovely large hydrotherapy pool. We are not a corporate gym and will never try to be a resort destination spa but we are just right for pamper days and for those wishing to have a bit of relaxation time in a lovely environment with the option of excellent treatments available.

The spa team and I are so pleased you pointed this out. I hope you will return again for another day of pampering and relaxation.

Best wishes,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We picked this hotel as, with the vagaries of the English weather, we couldn't know whether we were in for an indoor or outdoor break - the spa was our fallback for a wet stay! We were pleased to be upgraded on arrival to a Cottage Room, which was spacious, well-equipped and comfortable. The hotel is right in the middle of a picture-postcard Cotswold village and is a good centre for exploring the area. We had booked a dinner , bed and breakfast package and everything was excellent. The only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is that communication could have been better. One of the hotel's two restaurants was closed for a wedding on one of the two nights we were there - not a problem in itself, but it would have been good to have been advised of this when we booked. Similarly, there was considerable confusion over exactly what contribution to dinner was covered by our package. However, all staff were courteous, helpful and knowledgable about their particular area. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Positive-pensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Positive-pensioner,

Thank you for the kind review. I must apolgise about the confusion over the wedding booking and mis-communication of this nature is rare at Cotswold House Hotel. I am very pleased to hear however that the rest of the stay was perfect for you and we hope you come back soon to give us a 5/5!

Very best wishes,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a great time at the Cotswold House despite the stomach churning thought that the smug Mr and Mrs Smith reviewers were busy at it in the bedroom for the duration of their stay. Not very appealing when you're visiting (as I was) with your mother-in-law.

On arrival the staff were very friendly and our room was ready early which is a massive bonus. The room was at the front of the hotel and the sun coming through the old fashioned open windows was delightful (so much so that when the room was turned down on our return in the evening we felt the urge to reopen the curtains to make the most of the light!). The welcome/bedtime homemade cookies were quickly and happily sampled. The bathroom was my favourite part of the room - again with the loveliest natural light - and Ren products a quality touch. The bedroom was charming and quirky but would have benefited from the loss of the black metal eighties style floor light and massive TV wall bracket. Very amused by the sky paintings which were reminiscent of the Simpsons title credits. Bed extremely comfy and I had a fantastic nights sleep. Breakfast was good although slightly weird to have Spa style music playing (maybe its a PRS thing?)- would have much rather had a bit of morning jazz, classical or nothing (just enjoyed the waking country town sounds). Half size croissants never a good idea in my opinion but the hot food saved the day. The upper section of the restaurant felt airy but the whole ambience of the hotel had a slight corporate contemporary feel when it came to the furnishings. Little things - the collection of mirrors, window shutters, the dressmakers mannequins, some nice (and cool) applique art hidden down a side corridor - make a huge difference and maybe more of these and less of the blander gift style decorations would be nice. At the back of the hotel restaurant (the grill?) is a huge plate glass window with a slightly garden centre style sphere water feature behind it which seemed a bit out of context to the country house style title of the hotel.

The little croquet garden was sweet to sit in (though a quick check for cigarette ends round the benches every morning would be good) and I had the good fortune to see some rabbits nibbling on the grass. We booked Spa appointments and they were heavenly - the staff great and extremely good. As is the practice nowadays there seems to be a "sell" on products used at the end which I could always do without (it brings you out of your relaxed state) and I would also do away with the sparkling lights in the relaxation room but overall would love to go back. Had a lovely swim with the pool to myself which was amazing.

You can park easily (and you dont need to pay in the centre just park in the streets or behind the hotel) , there's no need to leave the town - great walks, cute shops, cream teas galore. The restaurant wasn't open the night we were there but there's plenty of other options - we ate in the sister hotel opposite in the bar area and although they mistakenly gave me (a non-meat eater) a chicken dish they were very apologetic and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to other travellers. There's an amazing little outdoor corridor at a Mediterranean restaurant down the road that I would have loved to have tried but that was closed on a Monday too. We had a lunch and a full on tea at Badgers which has kept its old school style while serving great grub - fantastic.

Theres a great circular staircase and the staff are very happy to tell you the history of the original features.

Pluses - staff lovely, exterior stunning, great bathroom, cookies
Minuses - a little bit too much corporate plum coloured decor, silly tiny croissants

Room Tip: Loooved our 1st floor front facing room but didn't get to see any others
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank bureaudechange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear DP7657,

We are really delighted to hear you had such a lovely stay with us. I am pleased you found the staff charming (with that all important sense of humor where required too!)

Thank you for your kind review.

Best wishes,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Welcoming, friendly and helpful staff with a sense of humour.

Lovely rooms, very modern and clean but also with rustic period charm.

Small double is not small (it's pretty large).

Very good breakfast spread.

Lovely gardens and perfect location.

What's not to like?

Room Tip: Small double is great value, it really isn't small unless you live in a Royal Palace.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DP7657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear DP7657,

Thank you for your very kind and positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and indeed the service (with a touch of humor where appropriate too!).

With best wishes,

Michael and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Within the Cotswolds there are numerous good hotels, but this superbly run townhouse hotel stands out as a jewel in the Cotswold crown. The occasion of my daughters wedding brought us to the Cotswold House last Saturday and we received superb service from a very slick,professional team throughout the day.
On arrival we were greeted by the lovely wedding planner Carol and she ushered us over the road to the sister hotel the Noël Arms so that the bride could not be seen by arriving guests. Here we met the General manager of both hotels Michael who supplied us with a refreshing G&T each, a perfect pre-wedding nerves settler!
Within a few minutes we were taken back across the road to the Cotswold House where the ceremony took place and following this we had canapés and champagne on the croquet lawn in perfect sunshine and surrounded by the most beautiful well kept mature gardens.
We then retreated back indoors for a magnificent wedding breakfast that was delivered flawlessly by David and his very able team.
We had the most perfect of weddings for my daughter, just as she wanted it.
Absolutely fabulous day! Fabulous venue and fabulous service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 77AMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear 77AMW,

I can only say in response to your very kind review.....It was an absolute pleasure!

David, Carol and his team pay personal attention to weddings (as with all events) and when we get feedback like this it makes it all the more rewarding to know how much we made the day special.

The most important thing, apart from the fact your whole party thoroughly enjoyed the wedding is that the Bride and Groom had a wonderful day. I am also pleased it was such a lovely day so that the Wedding Party could fully enjoy the gardens and the many all important photograph opportunities.

On behalf of the whole team we wish you, your daughter and her now husband all the best for the future, (until we see you back at Cotswold House Hotel)

With Best Wishes,

Michael, Carol, David and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews