We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“spa”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

we went to the spa as a birthday treat, we had a massage and facial, which was excellent. I was very disappointed with the pool area, the pool was very murky we had to feel with our feet to find any steps, the jets weren't working, the top of the water on the tiles was very dirty and needed a good scrub also the plastic walk ways were also dirty for a expensive spa I was very surprised.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Debbie H,

I am sorry you had a poor experience. This is not the norm. Our hydrotherapy pool is never ever "dirty" or cloudy so I am truly sorry you found this to be the case on your arrival at the spa. The matter of a tripped pump was soon rectified and water was back to normal within the hour.

In addition to this our spa is always exceptionally clean and standards of pool maintenance and spa hygiene very strictly controlled so again I am sorry you may have experienced a "blip" in normal service.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvsor and we hope you visit again to experience the normal and exceptionally high standards we deliver at the spa.

Your in good faith,

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    318
    136
    66
    18
See reviews for
110
663
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a superb stay in the garden apt . From the moment we made the reservation , firstly with carol and secondly with Michael we were made to feel welcome , a bottle of champagne in our room was a very generous gesture . We were shown to our cottage style room in the grounds by a very friendly receptionist .
The room was very spacious and well appointed with walk in wardrobe
And welcome tray . Lovely comfortable bed and fluffy robes . Good size bathroom overlooking the gardens .
Warmly greeted by David and his staff who gave us an Excellent breakfast .
We had dinner both nights in the sister hotel across the market square . Very informal , friendly attentive service , great bistro style food , very reasonable priced . Good buzz in the bar , mixture of locals and holidaymakers .

We met Michael , the manager , who was very pleased to make our stay as enjoyable as possible .
Most charming and always available supervising his team .

We also enjoyed the cottage style gardens , very relaxing
Unfortunately we didn t t get time to try the spa , but facilities looked excellent .
Beautiful village , great location on the town square with private parking .

We look forward to returning soon .
Many thanks to Michael , David and their staff !!!

Room Tip: We liked the garden rooms , two are cottages with hot tubs and private courtyard style garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear DavidH,

We all appreciate your wonderfully kind review. Its very rewarding to hear we made you feel so welcome, comfortable, and pampered during your stay. That is the type of service and attention to detail we truly enjoy delivering time after time and appreciate your kind feedback.

We never take our beautiful location in the Cotswold's for granted as it adds another special dimension to what we offer as a charming Cotswold Country Hotel. Sorry you did not get to experience our renowned treatments but at least now you have a very good excuse to return (if you needed one!)

With best wishes,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Chipping Campden is a stunning village and slap bang in the middle is the wonderful Cotswold House Hotel. The hotel itself has two good restaurants with helpful, friendly and attentive staff. We stayed in a cottage in the garden - amazing, so quiet and peaceful, yet just 35 metres from the very centre.
The spa is fabulous and the pool a real treat in the very warm summer. My partner had a treatment and said it was amazing, I didn't and wished I had, I think they can get quite booked - so reserve ahead. It's only a couple of hours out from London, but you really do feel on holiday and I could feel the stress fall away soon after arrival.
All in all, if you're looking for a short break (or a romantic night away) with lovely walks and stunning countryside Chipping Campden is a must, and so too is this hotel.

Room Tip: For a real treat, book a cottage room in the garden - just so great. One even has its own garden com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozboyOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear ozboyOxford,

Thank you! It is wonderful to hear that you experience the peaceful atmosphere and felt the stress melt way. The spa is very popular and treatments do get booked up in advance so please do visit us again and and pre-book, you will not be disappointed!!

We are really grateful for your positive review and hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Longborough Suite for our mini-moon in April. It was the ultimate, relaxing break and the hotel could not have been more accommodating. They really did make us feel very special. The Longborough is a beautiful cottage with a hot tub and cute garden. We were lucky to have gorgeous weather so were able to enjoy the hot tub and garden during the day and also when the nights got chilly, the amazing fire in the lounge. The hotel left us a letter and guide book to the area to welcome us which was a lovely touch. The turn down service was also very thoughtful, leaving little treats for us. We ate in the brasserie and the food was delicious. I had the tuna steak which was perfectly cooked. The Hotel also gave us a map of walks in the area starting from the hotel's front door - what a fab idea! We enjoyed he walks and also sampling the local pubs and tea houses. Overall, a relaxing, romantic break - if you want the ultimate luxury, this is the place to come.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Michelle R,

Thank you!

We are so glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay for the food, service to the comfortable bed. Its also good to hear you were able to take advantage of the local walks. We are so lucky to be situated in such wonderful countryside location which is there for guests to take full advantage of and makes for a beautiful setting for romantic getaways.

Please do come and see us again when you feel the need to escape to the country for any sort of mini celebration or simply a romantic night away!

With best wishes,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My partner and I wanted to revisit this restaurant. I live in the town anyway but hadn't been for a couple of years. We booked the main restaurant only to be told the day before that it had been double booked for a function - don't the staff communicate? Anyway, we proceeded to eat in the Cotwold Grill. Firstly, the wine we chose wasn't cold so we had to wait, then we were told they actually havn't got that wine at all! Not a good start, especially as I'm now gagging for a glass of wine and had to wait further for a different bottle. The starter was pleasant but the main course - chateaubriand, was very average and quite tough. Not how it is supposed to be at all. We declined a pud. The atmosphere is good but the young staff could do with a personality transplant. If it wasn't for Anne, we would think all the staff were wooden and faceless.
Give it a try, but there are many other decent eateries around.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear JaneFriend,

I am so sorry you found your dining experience "just OK". The staff as per many previous reviews have never been described as wooden and faceless, on the contrary many many guests had commented on how positive and attentive our staff have been so your experience was certainly an exception to the norm. Likewise with the food, many locals and hotel guests have written very positive reviews about Chefs cooking skills and the chateau briand is a firm favorite on the menu so again I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy it on the night.

I am delighted however that you have encouraged others to "give it a go" as many locals to visit us frequently for which we are most grateful.

We have a good wine list and usually have everything in stock but occasionally do run out of a wine. We also order some stock from a very local wine supplier in support of local businesses so I am pleased you have reciprocated with a visit to our restaurant and hope you will be back to give us another go, you will not be disappointed again.

With best wishes,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I treated myself to a relaxing spa day and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. Yes, the changing room and pool area are small, but they were perfectly adequate for the number of guests that were there today. The areas were all very clean and the staff couldn't have been any more helpful. I had 3 treatments, all of which were perfect. Thank you so much, I had a wonderful day and shall definitely be returning. Jane

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jek197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Jek197,

We are glad you decided to treat yourself at our spa and even more pleased we lived up to your expectations and delivered three perfect treatments.

It is nice to hear your positive comments about our facilities as we often get guests preferring to see the spa as small rather than for what it actually is i.e. a lovely airy space with simple but excellent facilities and a lovely large hydrotherapy pool. We are not a corporate gym and will never try to be a resort destination spa but we are just right for pamper days and for those wishing to have a bit of relaxation time in a lovely environment with the option of excellent treatments available.

The spa team and I are so pleased you pointed this out. I hope you will return again for another day of pampering and relaxation.

Best wishes,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We picked this hotel as, with the vagaries of the English weather, we couldn't know whether we were in for an indoor or outdoor break - the spa was our fallback for a wet stay! We were pleased to be upgraded on arrival to a Cottage Room, which was spacious, well-equipped and comfortable. The hotel is right in the middle of a picture-postcard Cotswold village and is a good centre for exploring the area. We had booked a dinner , bed and breakfast package and everything was excellent. The only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is that communication could have been better. One of the hotel's two restaurants was closed for a wedding on one of the two nights we were there - not a problem in itself, but it would have been good to have been advised of this when we booked. Similarly, there was considerable confusion over exactly what contribution to dinner was covered by our package. However, all staff were courteous, helpful and knowledgable about their particular area. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Positive-pensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerCHHotel, General Manager at Cotswold House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Positive-pensioner,

Thank you for the kind review. I must apolgise about the confusion over the wedding booking and mis-communication of this nature is rare at Cotswold House Hotel. I am very pleased to hear however that the rest of the stay was perfect for you and we hope you come back soon to give us a 5/5!

Very best wishes,

Michael and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,025 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,003 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,349 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Property: Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Address: High Street | Upper High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning stylish hotel and spa in the heart of Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, will appeal to discerning travellers visiting the Cotswolds, looking for tranquility, sublime comfort, exceptional food and a stunning spa. The contemporary style makes Cotswold House and Spa one of the most admired boutique hotels in the Cotswolds. With an idyllic location, flexible mix of spaces and immaculate service, Cotswold House is the perfect venue for board meetings, away-day training and corporate events. Whatever your plans - whether you're wanting a longer stay to explore the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon, a romantic weekend away, a well-deserved break in the Cotswolds with family and friends, a Cotswold conference or Cotswold wedding - Cotswold House and Spa is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Cotswold House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold House Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Chipping Campden
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing