We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Could have been better”
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Had very high expectations of this hotel and felt rather let down by some of the attention to detail. Room was very noisy and either boiling hot or too cold

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fastwater76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    313
    134
    66
    18
See reviews for
107
650
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Stayed at Cotswold House for 2 nights for my in-laws' 40th wedding anniversary. I thought the whole hotel was really nice. Chipping Campden is a lovely little town surrounded by gorgeous countryside. The hotel itself is extremely well maintained, the decor is fresh but in keeping with the character of the building (lots of lovely antique furniture) but modern where it matters - eg: Bang and Olufsson televisions and phones in the rooms.

Service was really stand-out great. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, everyone was proactive and friendly. A free afternoon tea was thrown in for us because of the special occasion and was delicious - I'm aware these things don't cost huge amounts for the hotel to lay on, but go a long way to making customers feel special and valued.

We ate at Hicks, where the food was great - although some dim lighting and table cloths would probably go a long way to making the place a bit more atmospheric and a little less like a motorway service station (forgiven as the food really was nice). Breakfasts at Huliana's restaurant were really crumptious. Another nice addition was that breakfast in bed was included if you wanted it - where most places it's an extra charge.

Spa was OK - we didn't have any treatments but I'm sure they'd be nice. The pool is heated and the sauna was off but also seemed nice. Was nice to have a pool in the first place as most boutique hotels of this size wouldn't have one at all.

I will definately be back - the place is expensive, but given how good it is I feel we got value for money, as opposed to many other places in the UK where you really walk out feeling robbed having spent good money on a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

My partner treated me to a weekend in this hotel for my birthday. Chipping Campden is a stunning part of English countryside and the hotel itself is a fitting match.

The building is in keeping with the heritage of the area, and the grounds and in great condition. The room itself has all the mod-cons, and a great mix of modern and classic. The room we stayed in boasted a spacious bathroom, with great shower and bath. The bath itself looked over the high street of the village which was interesting if nothing else!

We also made use of the spa area which again was excellent.

The only criticism of the place I had was the bedding really, my partner thought it would be good to try out a different bed that was offered to her. The bed (called Ammique, check out their website) is a strange contraption; the mattress is made of individually sprung plastic bulbs. Apparently its meant to offer superior support, it was just down right uncomfortable and made hell of a noise when any one moved about, which you both do a lot if you are uncomfortable.

My advice would be not to miss the hotel because of it, but definitely just ask for a normal mattress. I would also advise the hotel to throw the thing in a skip, it’s not really suited to a hotel.

Top marks all round for everything else though, and I can't mark the value as I didn’t pay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Just came back from a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Cotwolds House Hotel in Chipping Campden. The hotel location is great in the middle of the village. Just behind the hotel near the car park is the Temple Spa which is fantastic and we had a great massage treatment then spent about an extra hour in the spa pool where we had a class of champagne each in the pool. Very laid back and very enjoyable. The only thing I would say is the carpets look a little dated but everything else was great. We especially liked the Breakfast in our room without extra charge which seemed like a real luxury to me. Also the eight Bells pub and Noel Arms hotel restaurant would be well worth checking out. We prefered these to the Hicks Brassiere which is part of the Cotswolds house hotel.

We are already looking forward to going back there next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonpope2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I had read a lot about the Cotswold House before booking and had high expectations - which I can happily say were exceeded. It's a lovely space - full of light and a unique combination of antiques and modern furniture and amenities, with a fantastic garden, restaurant and spa. We stayed in a deluxe king room (room 7) where we had a huge bathroom, and lots of space to sit and enjoy the view out the window - of the characterful high street and the rolling hills beyond.

Food wise, the breakfast is very good - you can have two 'courses' , freshly made. No dried-up buffets here. We ate one night in the main restaurant, Juliana's, and the food was excellent: creative combinations and canapés, an amuse-bouche and a pre-dessert were thrown in. Plus, there was a separate menu for vegetarians, featuring imaginative and tasty options as well.

Wandering through the gorgeous gardens to the spa and hydrotherapy rooms was a treat too - the spa is very professionally run with high quality treatments, and the hydrotherapy pool ia dream for tired walkers or people just wanting to have a bit of a relax - be sure to press the silver buttons to get a bubble massage!

The hotel is right on the high street in Chipping Campden and close to anything you may want - restaurants, pubs, walks, grocery etc. It's a perfect location for people wanting to get away from it all - while still having amenities and dining options nearby.

Highly recommended - we'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Izabel_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We had their Dinner ,B&B deal which gave us a standard room at the back of the hotel, but because of a bathroom extractor fan which wouldn't switch off we were upgraded to a room at the front of the hotel which was grander and nicer. We ate in the bistro area and the food was good but not outstanding and the pace of breakfast was dictated by a visiting Ameican coach party...we felt a little bit second fiddle. The garden and patio area is lovely and a relaxing evening glass of wine before dinner went down very well. We didn't use the spa, but it looked very relaxing etc. We used the hotel and it's location to visit National Trust and private gardens in the Cotswold area and found it a very comfortable base, with very good service and excelnt value if you are on a deal; otherwise I would say it is a little pricey.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sennokians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmal0uise87
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Stayed in room 17 jounior suite amazing room with views,great bed and bathroom,received lovely wine in the chiller. Didnt think much to the service very slow and staf seemed stressed when not even busy, the pricing was bad very expensive for the speed of service but staff helpful. spa great treatments very good, do recommend micheals med restaurant was fantasic which was down the road. overall had a fab time and will go back...soon i hope

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmal0uise87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
2.9 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
10.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold House Hotel & Spa

Property: Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Address: High Street | Upper High Street, Chipping Campden GL55 6AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This award-winning stylish hotel and spa in the heart of Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire, will appeal to discerning travellers visiting the Cotswolds, looking for tranquility, sublime comfort, exceptional food and a stunning spa. The contemporary style makes Cotswold House and Spa one of the most admired boutique hotels in the Cotswolds. With an idyllic location, flexible mix of spaces and immaculate service, Cotswold House is the perfect venue for board meetings, away-day training and corporate events. Whatever your plans - whether you're wanting a longer stay to explore the Cotswolds and Stratford-upon-Avon, a romantic weekend away, a well-deserved break in the Cotswolds with family and friends, a Cotswold conference or Cotswold wedding - Cotswold House and Spa is the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Cotswold House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold House Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Hotel Chipping Campden
Cotswold Chipping Campden
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa Chipping Campden, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing