We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - loved it!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent - loved it!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed for a weekend break. Loved the peace of the Cotswolds, Room was lovely, food was excellent. Staff very friendly. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w191063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    155
    59
    23
    6
See reviews for
47
330
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Restaurant review: good choice of daily specials - we particularly enjoyed salmon on beetroot risotto. Very helpful waiter.
Definitely worth a look. Best to book as it fills very early at weekends

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterman2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

superb location for touring the Cotswolds. Clean comfortable rooms, excellent food,friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Enjoyed a 2 night stay here 27th Sept - pleasant hotel on the High Street, a lovely Queen Room with plenty of space and character BUT overlooking the High Street with no blinds or net curtains!! You did feel a bit exposed especially in the early evening when it was too light to draw any curtains and felt as if people opposite could see right in your room especially when you were getting ready to go out.

Another problem was the noise - both mornings around 6.30am the deliveries and refuse collection for the neighbouring hotel and small businesses begin. Because the Kings Hotel is an historic building there are restrictions to any modernisation and one of these is no double-glazed soundproofed windows - which in a village as historic and charming as Chipping Campden is quite correct.
The noise was a problem though, it is a very busy high street night and day and I asked if other rooms had this problem too - apparently rooms at the rear of the Hotel are smaller but have no street noise and the best one to go for is the Cottage rooms in the courtyard garden.
The restaurant was quiet, a good menu and choice of wines but on the second evening the menu was still the same so I ate in the Bistro which has a nice atmosphere and is a bit busier.
All in all a lovely stay in a charming hotel - the staff are very attentive and welcoming.
Would definitely return but would book the Garden rooms first!

Room Tip: Before booking - find out about rooms away from the front of the Hotel. There is a lot going on outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExeterArchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

A lovely hotel in the middle of this historic street. A good hub to travel around the Cotswolds. We enjoyed a half price offer through www.hotelshopuk.com which made the stay excellent value. Otherwise its pretty expensive. Food was also very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Liverpool_No1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I was looking forward to staying at Kings as the photos looked lovely and on arrival; the exterior and gardens, bar and dining areas didnt dissapoint.

We were put in room 109 and on entering immediately noticed the many marks on both the carpet and walls. The bathroom tiles were badly cracked and dirty. We also noticed a thick layer of dust on the lampshades and felt the room looked tired and a bit grubby. I noticed a huge industrial size fan and later realised why this was in the room - being directly above the kitchen it became unbearably hot but when we tried to open the window, the noise and smells from the kitchen would keep us awake.

Hugely dissapointed, I complaine to reception. They said they may be able to move us and would know within the hour. We didn't hear a thing apart from two phone calls two and a half hours later, however, the phone didn't work so we didn't receive any message. As we were about to leave for a wedding we were told we could move rooms, however, we didn't then have time to pack. We were told they had tried to call but it certainly wasn't within an hour of complaining and I explained the phone did not work either.

Our friends were also staying at the hotel and had a much nicer room for only £10 more a night. We had gone for a standard room and sone other friends had a compact double which was bigger and much nicer than ours. I feel they must review their pricing as this is certainly not value for money - £165 a night suggests a high quality hotel and our room was on a parr with a pub b and b.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sianeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Nothing to say other than that I absolutely loved it and wished I had stayed longer.
Everything was perfect: very friendly staff, beautiful room, comfy bed, wonderful breakfast, delicious evening meal, stunning location in the Cotswolds... Ticked all the boxes and then some.
Only thing I'll change next time is that I'll book a half-board package as it works out even better value.

Room Tip: Same tip as always: be nice to the receptionist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Lady_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
3.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
5.4 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Property: The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Address: The Square, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing