We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We have just come back from two nights at this lovely hotel. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. The staff can not do enough for you. We had a light snack in the bar and then the most magnificant meal in the evening. The chef is exceptional, everything we ate was perfection.
We ate on the two nights we stayed in the restaurant and could not recommend it highly enough.
Every member of staff from the young people behind the bar, the front of house and housekeeping made you feel at home.
There is so much to do in the surrounding areas, or just chill out and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    160
    65
    27
    10
See reviews for
56
350
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Despite a few minor issues with heating that were dealt with shortly after our arrival, we had a very pleasant stay here. The hotel looks out over the main square and is ideally located for exploring the Cotswold towns and villages.
Dinner was very good and reasonably priced wines available.
The breakfast is plentiful, and based on local produce.
The staff were always on hand and very helpful.
Happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyLeMasurier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

On arrival we asked whether there were the past Champagne Happy Hour offers and were told not. We later (too late) discovered from a neighbouring table that all Champagne bottles were half price; a pity for us and for the establishment. I asked for a pint of the only hand pump ale 'available' and was informed that it was unavailable (rather poor stock management and why not keep a barrel in reserve). The glass of Tempranillo that was ordered resulted in a glass of white wine! (irritating for us and wasteful for the restaurant). The de-caf espressos took fifteen minutes to arrive and were effectively small dilute filter coffees (we were informed this to be the norm when ordering such coffees). The glass of Champagne that had been earlier requested was at room temperature due, it transpired, to the cooler having been left without ice for seemingly many hours prior (despite bar staff having time to chat to one another at leisure) the response to which, rather than acquire a cold bottle from the refrigerator, was to offer to transfer the Champagne to alternating glasses with ice; - one way of ensuring an £8 glass of dilute, sparkle free but indeed chilled fluid!! Food was otherwise OK. A pity as it is otherwise a nice place and nice staff.

Room Tip: From our experience, visit the restaurant on a night you don't plan to drink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayesandveetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed here over the weekend of 16/17 Feb 2012. We found the hotel online as I'd previously had some very enjoyable stays at one of its sister hotels, Buckland Tout Saints in South Devon. All in all, our stay at The King's Hotel was very pleasant. The building has a lovely atmosphere, with a real blend of historic and boutique. The staff are courteous and professional and the location is ideal for Cotswold tourists, helped by the private car park. A few details were less ideal - our room was right up in the eaves and, whilst spacious and full of period character, wouldn't have been much fun for anyone taller than my relatively average 5'10. Lots of potential for bumping one's head on the rafters. The lack of a 'proper' stand-up shower might also have annoyed some people, although allowances have to be made for such an old building. Ditto for the bed, which whilst on the slightly small/creaky side (ours was a Queen Room), turned out to be very comfortable in practice. A double-booking error was also made with our dinner reservation, with the result that we had to eat in the brasserie instead of the formal restaurant. I was a bit annoyed by this oversight at the time but the food and service were great so not the end of the world. All in all, I would recommend The King's Hotel to anyone planning to visit this particularly beautiful Cotswold village. Just make sure if you're any taller than me that you don't specify a bedroom up in the eaves!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the top floor if you're above average height!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed for one night and chose to dine in the hotel restaurant. The whole experience was delightful. The room was well appointed, an extremely comfortable bed, tea and fresh coffee making facilities, lashings of hot water and a luxurious bathroom. The meal was good value, £50 a head for three courses, coffee, two g and t's and a decent bottle of wine (oh and two glasses of pudding wine and fudge!). The village is very pretty and not as busy as Stow or Broadway, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed here on 16th Feb in one of the Cottage Feature suites (Clifford). Huge room with deep, long bath on a pedestal in the room and a great wet room. Staff were good and friendly, nice decor in Brasserie and Restaurant. Very expensive (but it is one of the best in the Cotswolds) and overall a good experience. So why not 5 stars? Well, for what came to £410 for 1 night with dinner and breakfast, I look for attention to detail. Our room was nice but a few stains in the carpet, a bit if ripped carpet around the in room bath, and a dirty flannel left on the head of Neptunes statue in the wet room are not rally acceptable. Yes, there was a massive statue of Neptune in the wet room which on closer inspection was plastic and to be honest, a little tacky. Restaurant food was good but not outstanding. A starter of scallops was a little tasteless and the amuse bouche was evidently leftover soup from the lunchtime brasserie menu (I know, because I had it at lunch). Main course was excellent but pudding was stodgy (the accompanying ice cream was served on a flat slate and when it started to melt, left the slate quickly! Style over substance). One final negative was the car park, jam packed and very tight taking an 8 or 9 point turn to carefully get out.
All in all, pleasant but not superb, which for cost, was expected. Can do better very easily and quickly but I suspect there are better value, equivalent places to stay and eat in such a lovely place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marky_Mark1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We visited the Kings Hotel last night and enjoyed a meal in the brasserie.
The staff were extremely attentive and the food excellent.
Extremely good vaue for money.
Lovely surroundings and I can thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,038 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,044 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,209 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,372 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Property: The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Address: The Square - High Street | Gloucestershire, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing