We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favourite places to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We love Chipping Campden and have visited several times over the last few years.We havent always stayed at the Kings hotel but if we have been nearby we always go for a meal there. The hotel has so much character and an excellent restaurant,the staff are always friendly.The beds are comfy and the rooms are always clean and tidy. We like the room in the eaves as you can see over the town from the windows and look over the lovely garden at the back,the patio area is nice in the summer.The food is simple but always excellent quality whether its in the restaurant or the brasserie side,they do very nice cappucinos too!!!We look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jandjegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and the staff could nat have been more helpful. We ate in both the restaurant and the Brasserie and the food was excellent. The building is old and parts of the room was a little shabby but we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jon294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with 4 friends. The staff could not have been more accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The room we had was on the second floor and was beautifully decorated and immaculate. It had a sofa and two chairs, so was great to have friends in for celebratory drinks before dinner. The food was excellent and was enhanced by the complementary bread and oils and soup tasters. We stayed a Secret Escapes deal and agreed it was excellent value for the level of luxury we received. I would recommend this hotel, in a pretty town, as an excellent base from which to tour the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Best room look out over the square so some traffic noise is inevitable but not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheilaNewark_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My wife and I accompanied by four friends took advantage of a secret escapes deal at this hotel. The deal had the usual free evening meal on the first night and unlike some previous hotel deals where your free meal comes from an inferior menu this was the real deal.
The young staff could not have been more friendly, helpful, polite and cheerful. They held over our free champagne until the following evening as we had brought our own for the first night. They even brought up some champagne flutes to our room so we didn't have to use our tooth mugs!
The food was excellent, easily as good as a first class restaurant in London. The rooms were clean if a little on the dark side - all the ladies said a make up light would have been useful.
Chipping Campden itself is a typical Cotswold town with lots of tea rooms, eateries and boutique shops. A most enjoyable two days. I could not recommend the Hotel more highly.

Room Tip: Bed sizes do vary so be specific when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We have just come back from two nights at this lovely hotel. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. The staff can not do enough for you. We had a light snack in the bar and then the most magnificant meal in the evening. The chef is exceptional, everything we ate was perfection.
We ate on the two nights we stayed in the restaurant and could not recommend it highly enough.
Every member of staff from the young people behind the bar, the front of house and housekeeping made you feel at home.
There is so much to do in the surrounding areas, or just chill out and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenJudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Despite a few minor issues with heating that were dealt with shortly after our arrival, we had a very pleasant stay here. The hotel looks out over the main square and is ideally located for exploring the Cotswold towns and villages.
Dinner was very good and reasonably priced wines available.
The breakfast is plentiful, and based on local produce.
The staff were always on hand and very helpful.
Happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyLeMasurier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

On arrival we asked whether there were the past Champagne Happy Hour offers and were told not. We later (too late) discovered from a neighbouring table that all Champagne bottles were half price; a pity for us and for the establishment. I asked for a pint of the only hand pump ale 'available' and was informed that it was unavailable (rather poor stock management and why not keep a barrel in reserve). The glass of Tempranillo that was ordered resulted in a glass of white wine! (irritating for us and wasteful for the restaurant). The de-caf espressos took fifteen minutes to arrive and were effectively small dilute filter coffees (we were informed this to be the norm when ordering such coffees). The glass of Champagne that had been earlier requested was at room temperature due, it transpired, to the cooler having been left without ice for seemingly many hours prior (despite bar staff having time to chat to one another at leisure) the response to which, rather than acquire a cold bottle from the refrigerator, was to offer to transfer the Champagne to alternating glasses with ice; - one way of ensuring an £8 glass of dilute, sparkle free but indeed chilled fluid!! Food was otherwise OK. A pity as it is otherwise a nice place and nice staff.

Room Tip: From our experience, visit the restaurant on a night you don't plan to drink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jayesandveetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,069 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,076 reviews
3.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
773 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
62 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Address: The Square High Street | Gloucestershire, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £83 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing