We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous quality hotel and service in quaint Cotswold village” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fabulous quality hotel and service in quaint Cotswold village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We booked this hotel using a gift voucher received for my husbands birthday - it was difficult to choose one of the 6 fabulous Eden hotels but we chose this one as it's one of the less well known Cotswold villages and we haven't been there before. The pictures don't do it justice - the Hotel is very impressive. The decor is tasteful and luxurious. The staff were wonderful - so professional yet welcoming and friendly too.
We took advantage of the Valentine meal in the hotel restaurant and was not disappointed - the food was lovely - really well presented and not over large portions so you could eat all 3 courses and still not feel uncomfortable. Yet again the service was excellent.
A huge thank you to all the staff - we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage - our room was one of 4 and upstairs (Broadway) - car parking outside and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gricey61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    155
    59
    23
    6
See reviews for
47
330
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Popped in here to get a price list with my Grandmother, staff were so welcoming and lovely we decided to stop for a pot of tea, the layout & decor was beautiful.
The lady at reception was very friendly and showed us the restaurant, function room & gardens.
We shall definitely be coming in for dinner soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNewman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Just spent two good days at the Kings. Hotel was in good location at centre of the town.
We were upgraded to cottage room which had good bathroom/shower in need of some maintenance to make it first class.Bedroom was rather small; nowhere to put suitcase; Bed was a bit hard.
Dinner and breakfast were first class; service was slightly slow but well worth waiting for.
Our weekend offer included dinner and cocktail on first night- really good value (from Secret Escapes)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustard_Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

this was the third new year we have had at this hotel. all three visits were perfect. brilliant staff and the food was exceptional. we had a room in the cottages at the rear of the hotel, the room we had was called brockley, it was one of the best rooms we have ever had. it had a walk in shower with over head spray and a flexible spray, i would recommend this room.

Room Tip: as i said the brockley is a beatiful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micklind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I ate here with my partner and friends for dinner and was pleasantly surprised by how great the food was. The ambience of the restaurant is lovely and the food could not be faulted other than to say it was not big enough as I wanted more!
After dinner, we sat in the bar which is a lovely atmosphere to enjoy a drink.
Our friends were staying at the hotel and their room was spacious and overlooked the high street. I am a local, but if I wasn't, I would stay here for definite.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: 103 o9r maybe it was 105 - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

There's a mismatch here. The Kings Hotel is welcoming, well managed, offers better-than-average food, and is perfectly located at the centre of a delightful Cotswold village. The problem is that it promotes itself as if it were a grand and luxurious former coaching hotel in a county town. In fact it consists of two conjoined Georgian town houses, and so lacks the space and plenitude one would expect. The seating in the bar is not sufficient to accommodate all the guests, the car park is not quite large enough, and crucially there is no separate lounge room for relaxing and reading. The open fireplaces remain unlit, even in midwinter, and the carpets are past their prime and the bedrooms tend to the austere. It's a shame, because if initial expectations were not so inflated then it might well seem rather good.

Room Tip: In bygone days when there was a sheep market in the square outside you would not have wanted a front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colour-Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We had a lovely Christmas at Kings.Mulled wine and chestnuts after Midnight mass. All the meals were fantastic and the staff are all charming. The rooms are nicely decorated . We hope to return next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3prince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
3.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
5.4 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Property: The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Address: The Square, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing