We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cotswold break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Kings Hotel for two nights in a king room. The staff were all very pleasant and the young man on duty when we arrived was particularly helpful throughout our stay. We dined in one evening and the three course dinner was very good. We parked our car in the car park on arrival and walked everywhere we wanted to see including Broadway. In all a very good break in a delightful part of the world.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
There are newer reviews for The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just had a lovely break at the Kings Hotel, a special deal of £99 per room for BBEM. We arrived on the Sunday morning could not get into our rooms until 2pm but we were allowed to leave our car in the car park which enabled us to have a stroll around the beautiful village, lots of little quaint gift shops. And then we had some lunch in one of the many little tea shops. When we went back to the hotel we were shown to our rooms which were lovely perhaps could have done with a little bit of redecoration but very clean, kettle with ample tea, coffee, milk, sugar,biscuits, and fruit. Also they had put a free standing fan in the room which was a blessing as it was very hot that weekend. At 8pm we went down for our evening meal which was absolutely delicious could not fault the meal or the service excellent. Had a great nights sleep bed very comfy. Breakfast was delicious lots of choice cereal, fruit, pastries, and full English something for everyone beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A sweet little hotel in a beautiful Cotswold village. It was a little bit quirky because the same people seemed to serve us in every part of the hotel! The room was lovely - under the eaves with wooden beams and a beautiful window. The food was wonderful and the atmosphere was great.

Room Tip: The 2 rooms on the second floor are in the eaves and have character.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful double birthday weekend using the Kings Hotel as our base and having the good fortune to stay in Broadway, one of the Hotel's cottage rooms which was lovely; roomy, modern, well resourced and quiet. Breakfasts were excellent and dinner in the main restaurant on the first night was very good indeed. Good food, well balanced and with a convivial atmosphere. The staff, to a man and woman were charming, hospitable, good natured and could not have helped us more, a very big thank you to you all. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend one of the cottage rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I had the most marvellous birthday celebration with a group of very close friends here on the 29 March, I would just like to thank all the staff for making my birthday so wonderful. The food was great the wine flowed and the staff were very tolerant and couldn't have been more charming to some rather exhuberant older members of the community - I see that someone else from the group has already posted feedback! Just one slight fault the bathroom/loo was a little smelly, which is why i marked cleanliness average!! - otherwise brilliant, thank you to the Kings Staff and for the birthday card:-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had previously been here for dinner in the restaurant two years ago and were very impressed. This time, with relatives renting in Chipping Campden, we had a less formal supper in the brasserie. The room offers a very pleasant and comfortable environment and the staff were friendly, attentive and very professional. The whole place gave the impression of being very well run and managed.
All four of us were suitably impressed with the food. My wife chose a Stilton and Parmesan ravioli which she said was cooked perfectly. We both had the terrine for starters which was very good, well seasoned and came with an excellent onion marmalade. I had the pork belly and whilst this is a particular favourite of mine, I can't remember when I have had this dish cooked better. It clearly started with an excellent piece of pork and was not let down at all in the kitchen.
Two off us shared a well presented cheese board with cheeses in perfect condition.
Overall, I would say all four of us were very impressed.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Spent just one night at this understated hotel in the centre of chipping campden to celebrate a dear friends 60th. Nothing seemed too much trouble. As well as the amazing food the attention and attitude of the staff was superb and really made the evening for us all. Will return for a little longer to explore the beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemaryC0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,043 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,057 reviews
3.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
2.5 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
712 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Address: The Square - High Street | Gloucestershire, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £95 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing