We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with character.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here in April as part of a Backroads Tour.
Lovely old stone building.
There are floors that aren't level and door jams not square......afterall this is a old building and it all adds to the charm.
Bar area and dining room with old beams are very nice and service was friendly and good.
No lift , so luggage has to be taken up a few flights if you are on a higher floor.But no problem as the reception staff were quick to assist.
Food in the restaurant and bar was good,and there are other restaurants and pubs/food very closeby.
The toilet in our bathroom wouldn't work for me but when reception staff checked it out it worked perfectly.Just needed the right touch which we worked out, and didn't have any more problems.
We would like to stay here again,the hotel and town is in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was housed in the top floor of the main building, room 203. This was a big room with absolutely no charm. It was plain drab. The wi fi didn't work and I had some mails I needed to write so I asked at the reception if I could have a room with functioning wifi. They changed me to room 204,a smaller room equally charmless. The door hits the bed when you open it, the carpet was dingy, everything was ordinary. It wasn't bad just ordinary. Nothing that you would expect from an 18th century hotel in the Cotswolds and not at all the quality that I saw on their website.Needless to say, It was only about 20°C or 70°F ouside but in the room it was really hot (they provided a fan).
back to the wifi- I had between 0 and 2 bars of wifi during my 2 night stay. When I suggested at the front desk that they get a wifi extender because some people still need to do some work and send emails while on vacation, he said that they haven't adopted this solution because it is too expensive !!!! For £170 (€214 and $290) a night , that was a terrible response. This was incredibly expensive mediocre hotel..The worste and most expensive hotel of my Cotswolds vacation.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front of the hotel are very loud from the town square. Top floor rooms are hot. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Thea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just back from a one-night stay in the Kings Hotel. We opted for the Sublime Sunday special which I would highly recommend. We have done a number of thse Sundays at various places & this was the best one yet.
The hotel is beautiful both inside & out. The peaceful gardens are immaculate & even on a Sunday underused, we enjoyed a drink in the sunshine admiring the plants. There is plenty of parking to the rear & no problem finding a place. We were able to continue to use the parking after we had checked out, this is not always the case at some hotels in parking *hot spots* like Chipping Camden.
We had a King room to the front of the hotel, very spacious with sitting area, lovely view, little noise & none at night. We had a perfect night's sleep. Yes the sash windows are a problem to keep open, this is a standard problem with period properties such as this, we have the same at home. We simply propped ours open & the rooms stayed cool & airy. Spacious bathroom with user-friendly hand-shower, which I prefer. The toiletries provided were excellent quality, as were the towels.
Decor & furnishings are a perfectly blended mix of traditional, antiques & contemporary, both in the public areas & rooms. The bar charming & candle-lit at night.
Our deal included dinner in the restaurant. This included 2 courses from the main A La Carte menu, not a *set* menu as is so often the case with these deals. The restaurant is I believe 2 rosette winner & I can see why. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner. Everything was cooked to perfection. The lamb entree was exceptionally delicious. Service matched the food & we opted for an excellent & well priced (I thought) Chilean Merlot.
The breakfast the next day lived up to the standard set by dinner & we both chose the full Kings' English Breakfast which was freshly cooked to order & served immediately. Good tea & coffee.
The charming staff made us feel very welcome here & every request was immediately attended to, nothing was too much trouble. We arrived early & made welcome so were able to store our luggage & go off & enjoy our day. We had brought a bottle of bubbly with us & the was placed in our room in an ice-bucket & flutes provided, when we returned. I want to stress that the service at the Kings is second to none. We were sorry to leave & will definately be staying again. I can't think of anywhere nicer to stay in the Cotswolds. A great choice.

Room Tip: The King Room was spacious & had great views of the Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TabbyWabby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A friend booked 7 double rooms for a get together. The rooms varied. Some in the old hotel and some in a newer extension at the back. Overall all the rooms (en suite) were satisfactory. Minor complaints were that some sash windows would not stay open and that there were not enough fans available.
We had use of a function room for three evenings. The food and value for money was excellent.
The service was also excellent and the staff could not have been more accommodating.
The car park at the rear of the hotel was a real bonus. Parking in Chipping Campden is at a premium.
Our package included breakfast which was excellent....wonderful kippers...all variations on the "full English" breakfast were cooked to order.
Considering where this hotel is located it represented excellent value for money.
To be recommended.

Room Tip: Take an electric fan in summer just in case that window wont stay open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJS582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were traveling through with a tour company and we stayed 2 nights here at the Kings hotel, so i can't comment on value for money as it was all part of our tour price. Our room was beautiful and had a charming country home feel to it. We found it spacious and very comfortable to our needs. The staff were delightful and very friendly and the morning breakfast was delicious and well prepared, we also had one evening meals here which was included for us, so again i can't comment on value for money but i can say it was delicious. Over all we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We liked the hotel but found it was a bit pricey -no breakfast was included for that price as well-good location though-cute patio on the back and offers parking -a plus-liked walking the town trail -thatched roofed homes nearby

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancyk2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Kings Hotel for two nights in a king room. The staff were all very pleasant and the young man on duty when we arrived was particularly helpful throughout our stay. We dined in one evening and the three course dinner was very good. We parked our car in the car park on arrival and walked everywhere we wanted to see including Broadway. In all a very good break in a delightful part of the world.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,077 reviews
0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,085 reviews
3 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
785 reviews
5.4 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,023 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Address: The Square High Street | Gloucestershire, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £95 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing