We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great style of it's own”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“a great style of it's own”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed a weekend here on a 'Great Little Breaks' deal & loved it.
This really is the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel has plenty of charm &
the Restaurant is a real pleasure. Would like to re-visit in years to come.
That, I think, says it all.

Room Tip: We had a loft room overlooking the rear garden, I would recommend that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    159
    63
    27
    9
See reviews for
55
349
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at this hotel. On arrival we found the car park closed because of work on the gas mains. We were unable to sit in the gardens and have a drink on a beautifully sunny afternoon because of the noise of the machinery being used. We were booked in for the wrong night through an error on the hotel's part but there was a room available and the receptionist told us he would give us an upgrade. However the following morning they did try to charge us for the upgrade. On trying to boil the kettle in our cottage room the plug was nowhere near the kettle so we had to plug it in on the other side the room and stand it on the floor.
The room was lovely as was the bathroom, with plenty of toiletries and lovely big fluffy towels. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast could have been better, there was a choice of three cooked breakfasts but two of them weren't available the morning we were there. However the cooked breakfast we did have was delicious. All in all disappointing for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked this hotel through Great Little Breaks and we were not dissapointed.
The hotel was lovely, we had a cottage room in the garden with the biggest bathroom and amazing bath, Orla Kelly toiletries which were very luxurious. We had a meal on the first night in the restaurant and I have to say it has to be one of the best meals I have had in a long time, everything was cooked to perfection and the staff were very helpful and very friendly. We would deffinately stay there again.

Room Tip: Take some coat hangers as they only provide 5 hangers between 2 people, when we asked for more as I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirkles0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

stayed in the kings for one night in the cottage suite which was stunning,very expensive to all the furnishings and a very comfortable bed very quiet nights sleep .a brilliant bathroom excellent shower too.but if you wanted to make a cup of tea the kettle had to stand on the floor no plug socket conveniently .very dangerous i think the price you pay for this room it should have been thought through .wehad breakfast which was very good but noticed that the salt and pepper were in small open dishes which you took apinch with your fingers not me or my wife were having any of that .it is very poor hygine to use that not good for a 5*.we will return to this hotel probably,but they have the cheek to ask you which morning paper you would like and then add it to your bill after making it sound it is included a bit petty i know but 5* hotel?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldFlyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here in April as part of a Backroads Tour.
Lovely old stone building.
There are floors that aren't level and door jams not square......afterall this is a old building and it all adds to the charm.
Bar area and dining room with old beams are very nice and service was friendly and good.
No lift , so luggage has to be taken up a few flights if you are on a higher floor.But no problem as the reception staff were quick to assist.
Food in the restaurant and bar was good,and there are other restaurants and pubs/food very closeby.
The toilet in our bathroom wouldn't work for me but when reception staff checked it out it worked perfectly.Just needed the right touch which we worked out, and didn't have any more problems.
We would like to stay here again,the hotel and town is in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dardilly, France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was housed in the top floor of the main building, room 203. This was a big room with absolutely no charm. It was plain drab. The wi fi didn't work and I had some mails I needed to write so I asked at the reception if I could have a room with functioning wifi. They changed me to room 204,a smaller room equally charmless. The door hits the bed when you open it, the carpet was dingy, everything was ordinary. It wasn't bad just ordinary. Nothing that you would expect from an 18th century hotel in the Cotswolds and not at all the quality that I saw on their website.Needless to say, It was only about 20°C or 70°F ouside but in the room it was really hot (they provided a fan).
back to the wifi- I had between 0 and 2 bars of wifi during my 2 night stay. When I suggested at the front desk that they get a wifi extender because some people still need to do some work and send emails while on vacation, he said that they haven't adopted this solution because it is too expensive !!!! For £170 (€214 and $290) a night , that was a terrible response. This was incredibly expensive mediocre hotel..The worste and most expensive hotel of my Cotswolds vacation.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front of the hotel are very loud from the town square. Top floor rooms are hot. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just back from a one-night stay in the Kings Hotel. We opted for the Sublime Sunday special which I would highly recommend. We have done a number of thse Sundays at various places & this was the best one yet.
The hotel is beautiful both inside & out. The peaceful gardens are immaculate & even on a Sunday underused, we enjoyed a drink in the sunshine admiring the plants. There is plenty of parking to the rear & no problem finding a place. We were able to continue to use the parking after we had checked out, this is not always the case at some hotels in parking *hot spots* like Chipping Camden.
We had a King room to the front of the hotel, very spacious with sitting area, lovely view, little noise & none at night. We had a perfect night's sleep. Yes the sash windows are a problem to keep open, this is a standard problem with period properties such as this, we have the same at home. We simply propped ours open & the rooms stayed cool & airy. Spacious bathroom with user-friendly hand-shower, which I prefer. The toiletries provided were excellent quality, as were the towels.
Decor & furnishings are a perfectly blended mix of traditional, antiques & contemporary, both in the public areas & rooms. The bar charming & candle-lit at night.
Our deal included dinner in the restaurant. This included 2 courses from the main A La Carte menu, not a *set* menu as is so often the case with these deals. The restaurant is I believe 2 rosette winner & I can see why. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner. Everything was cooked to perfection. The lamb entree was exceptionally delicious. Service matched the food & we opted for an excellent & well priced (I thought) Chilean Merlot.
The breakfast the next day lived up to the standard set by dinner & we both chose the full Kings' English Breakfast which was freshly cooked to order & served immediately. Good tea & coffee.
The charming staff made us feel very welcome here & every request was immediately attended to, nothing was too much trouble. We arrived early & made welcome so were able to store our luggage & go off & enjoy our day. We had brought a bottle of bubbly with us & the was placed in our room in an ice-bucket & flutes provided, when we returned. I want to stress that the service at the Kings is second to none. We were sorry to leave & will definately be staying again. I can't think of anywhere nicer to stay in the Cotswolds. A great choice.

Room Tip: The King Room was spacious & had great views of the Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TabbyWabby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,025 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
3.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
644 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Property: The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Address: The Square - High Street | Gloucestershire, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing