We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service issues here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“service issues here”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

What should and could be a good small hotel was spoilt by poorly trained staff. The tone was set on arrival when our presence was ignored by a manager who instead of welcoming us and checking us in shoved a registration form in front of a member of the bar staff and brusquely instructed her what to do. She was clearly embarrassed and apologised to us later. What followed was bar staff who were unable to make the prominently advertised cocktails and one staff member who did not know what a shandy was. Despite going in to the dining room at the reserved time we had to ask for menus, then ask to order. We were in the restaurant over two hours without any explanation. When at last retiring to the bar we were told it was closing st 10.20!!!!! We protested and got a drink but I believe it then closed at 11. Not much of a service for residents.
Our room at the front suffered from early morning street noise on the Friday but was quieter on the Saturday.
Chipping Camden is a nice little town and the Kings is a pleasant hotel with issues that could so easily be remedied

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    158
    63
    26
    9
See reviews for
54
344
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northlew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

The hotel was beautifully appointed. We were staying in the 'cottage' and the room and bathroom were lovely. Bed was divinely comfy and lots of little extras in the room e.g. fresh apples and water. The food was gorgeous and the staff so helpful and friendly

Room Tip: Can't comment on the main hotel but the cottage was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

As locals we eat here regularly. It has always been a favourite on Sunday lunchtime for us. There has been a change of staff and chef and it works even better than before! Starters tasty and beautifully presented, mains of roast beef superb, with great twist on veg - beans with olives and onion. Staff and service excellent. Many thanks all.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlanS238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed a weekend here on a 'Great Little Breaks' deal & loved it.
This really is the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel has plenty of charm &
the Restaurant is a real pleasure. Would like to re-visit in years to come.
That, I think, says it all.

Room Tip: We had a loft room overlooking the rear garden, I would recommend that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at this hotel. On arrival we found the car park closed because of work on the gas mains. We were unable to sit in the gardens and have a drink on a beautifully sunny afternoon because of the noise of the machinery being used. We were booked in for the wrong night through an error on the hotel's part but there was a room available and the receptionist told us he would give us an upgrade. However the following morning they did try to charge us for the upgrade. On trying to boil the kettle in our cottage room the plug was nowhere near the kettle so we had to plug it in on the other side the room and stand it on the floor.
The room was lovely as was the bathroom, with plenty of toiletries and lovely big fluffy towels. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Breakfast could have been better, there was a choice of three cooked breakfasts but two of them weren't available the morning we were there. However the cooked breakfast we did have was delicious. All in all disappointing for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked this hotel through Great Little Breaks and we were not dissapointed.
The hotel was lovely, we had a cottage room in the garden with the biggest bathroom and amazing bath, Orla Kelly toiletries which were very luxurious. We had a meal on the first night in the restaurant and I have to say it has to be one of the best meals I have had in a long time, everything was cooked to perfection and the staff were very helpful and very friendly. We would deffinately stay there again.

Room Tip: Take some coat hangers as they only provide 5 hangers between 2 people, when we asked for more as I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirkles0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

stayed in the kings for one night in the cottage suite which was stunning,very expensive to all the furnishings and a very comfortable bed very quiet nights sleep .a brilliant bathroom excellent shower too.but if you wanted to make a cup of tea the kettle had to stand on the floor no plug socket conveniently .very dangerous i think the price you pay for this room it should have been thought through .wehad breakfast which was very good but noticed that the salt and pepper were in small open dishes which you took apinch with your fingers not me or my wife were having any of that .it is very poor hygine to use that not good for a 5*.we will return to this hotel probably,but they have the cheek to ask you which morning paper you would like and then add it to your bill after making it sound it is included a bit petty i know but 5* hotel?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldFlyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,016 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,022 reviews
3.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,183 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
623 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Property: The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Address: The Square - High Street | Gloucestershire, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing