We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, faultless service, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2009

My cousin and I stayed at the Kings for 3 nights, we arrived to a very warm welcome, the rooms were very comfortable, the food was heavenly. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff especially Peter who was an absolute star. We felt very at home, and very well looked after.
The 2 Sandras'

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxyNottinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
There are newer reviews for The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2008

We thought the actual hotel was very nicely finished. A real good mix of character and charm but with modern touchs (e.g. flat screen TV, great shower) and in very good condition. The restaurant and bar are both lovely with exposed beams, open fires and antique furnishings, and the quality of the food and service were very good, though we found the prices in the restaurant similar to a decent meal in London. Location is great. Right in the centre of Chipping Campden, which is a really nicely preserved little village and a good base for exploring the Cotswolds.
The negatives are that this place is not cheap. We went for a king size bed and it did cost £175/night over the weekend. Also, whilst not unfriendly, the owners were a bit formal. They were very polite but just seemed to lack that friendly 'B&B' feeling. Being called "Sir" and "Maam" ten times over breakfast is a bit strange when you've come for a relaxing friendly weekend away in the country. We did here the owner discussing the sale of the hotel with the new buyer during our stay so it appears ownership is liely to change very soon.
Overall, a very enjoyable, if slightly expensive stay, but nice as a rare treat. If you are staying in the Chpping Campden we would highly recommend a visit to the Red Lion Inn just down the high street for some nice ale in fornt of a log fire and friendly service.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rev777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

have just returned from a 2 night break at the kings in chipping campden and feel rested and refreshed.
i booked after reading several favourable reviews and was not dissappointed this once public house has been given a modern but cosy makeover there is lots to admire throughout the place an eclectic mix of art and sculptures (lots of cat features) the bar is cosy with a large wood burning stove and the formal dining room is lovely with an assortment of different tables but matching chairs and a very impressive settle dominates the center of the room also a huge inglenook fireplace it was a shame we were the only diners on the sunday night.
our room was also spacious large flat screen tv comfy king size bed leather sofa and table and chairs my only grumble was that although the hospitality tray was very well stocked i had to put the kettle on the floor to boil it as the flex was too short to reach from the chest of drawers it was on ! however the jelly beans and sherry made up for it.i also missed a good shower but it gave me a good excuse to languish in the bath (nice roomy bathroom and fabulous thick fluffy towels).we ate both nights in the kings as part of the package the food was good enough but not fantastic the second night we ate in the bar it was busier and had a cosier feel the owners are ever present and work hard to please it is obvious they take pride in there businessalong with the italian waiter who has a sense of humour!!
breakfast was good and i had perfect boiled eggs one morning not always an easy thing to get
Chipping Campden is a very pretty little village with several shops and restaurants quite central for visiting other parts of the cotswolds visited Bourton on the Water VERY DISSAPOINTING commercial with tacky shops Broadway however was lovely.I should also mention we took our dog wallace and he was made equally welcome and there are several walks from the village that he enjoyed.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkandfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2008

We decided to stay at this B&B after enjoying many memorable evenings in the bar and a lovely meal (also in the bar) in the summer of 2008.

We stayed for one night in December and was glad it was one night!

One of the staff member was particularly rude (I think she may have been the owner but not 100% sure), we were quoted one rate before we stayed and on check in told that this was not valid as apparently I had specifically mentioned that it would be single occupancy. This was not the case. We were spoken to very unprofessionally.We paid the extra £30 as we decided that £30 was not worth getting in to arguments about, as were were there to enjoy ourselves.

The way we were spoken to ruined our stay here as we felt unwelcome and like we had done something wrong.

We visit Chipping Campden approx. 5 times a year with friends/family. However in future we will be staying, drinking and dining elsewhere.

I hope the owner realises that due to the way we were spoken to, they have lost our business and that of our friends/family.


We use to love the bar at this establishment (the barman was so welcoming and nice) but now will not return, due to this rude ladies attitude problem.

We ate in the dining room one night and were quite disappointed by the food. However the breakfast was nice enough.

The room was ok, however nothing to write home about. I would probably suggest staying in a B&B instead as the facilities are the same and a B&B would be better value and probably better service.

Also, even though the temperature outside was quite cool, the room was very stuffy, I think it would be very hot in the summer!

This establishment is marketed as a hotel, however, there is no room service etc, so to me it is no different than a B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CATZ!X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at the Kings. It was just the best. We found it when we first went there for lunch in the summer. We were so taken with it all that we immediately booked for our anniversary weekend in September. It was everything we expected. We understand that the owners have been there for about 18 months and everything is just perfect. The food is delicious, the rooms comfortable with lovely extras like bottled water, sherry, teddy bear and a tin of jelly beans. Naughty Teddy ate all the sweeties! We are lucky to live within an hours drive so we will definitely go back for lunches on day visits, and stay for the odd weekend. We thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradders57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2006

We have just returned from a lovely 2 night stay with family and our 15 month old daughter. When we contacted the hotel before our stay it did not sound like they were well equipped for young children, but the staff and owners could not have been more accommodating. The rooms are very comfortable, with flat screen TV, tea and coffee facilities and a very spacious and well decorated bathroom - only minor complaint was the dribble of a shower! We ate in the private dining room on the first night with a party of about 20, and the food was first class with an excellent menu, all very well prepared and attentive service throughout. The lamb shoulder I had on the first night was as good as I have ever had. On the second night, we changed plans and ate at the hotel again, and despite the main restaurant being full the owner arranged a table in the bar, and again the food was excellent, and a minor problem with one of our diner's meals was dealt with promptly and courteously.
Breakfasts were fantastic, and filled us up for the day!
The location at the heart of the village is superb, with lots of choices for eating and drinking.
All in all Kings is a great place for a weekend break, with some of the best hosts and staff I have experienced.

Stayed: November 2006
6  Thank Cliff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2006

My parents, my husband and I checked into the Kings Arms in Chipping Campden last week, and were very pleased with the hotel. Liz, at the reception desk made made my parents feel very welcome with lots of personal attention and warmth.

The rooms are well-decorated; the beds, with their feather duvets, are dangerously comfortable. Some days we thought we could pull ourselves away from them!

Ask for a room overlooking the Square. Although it was little noisy when the pubs got out at night, the views over the golden buildings of Cotswold stone and to the meadows full of sheep beyond was lovely.

The hotel has an excellent location in the heart of the lovely village of Chipping Campden, and Liz offered us advice an a guide to explore the local pubs. It is a great place to stay and an excellent value.

2  Thank islandbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Campden
0.0 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,043 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,060 reviews
3.0 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
8 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
715 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden

Address: The Square - High Street | Gloucestershire, Chipping Campden GL55 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Chipping Campden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Chipping Campden
Price Range: £95 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Hotel is a charming 18th century town house boasting distinctive and stylish accommodation. Sympathetic and careful renovation means guests can enjoy all the modern day comforts they need yet still soak up the character and history of a Cotswold stone building. Nestled in the heart of picturesque Chipping Campden, it is the perfect location to experience the beauty of the Cotswolds. The Kings combines traditional character with contemporary style to create a relaxed and welcoming home away from home for every guest, whether for business or pleasure. The dedicated team at Kings draw on a wealth of experience to ensure your stay will be memorable and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Chipping Campden Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing